We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Global Backpackers Central

Booking.comUSD 27*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 50*
USD 27*
Great Deal
USD 44*
USD 44*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Global Backpackers Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Global Backpackers Central
See the most recent reviews
Showing 139: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Hostel is standard, but you get a decent bed, showers and kitchen for the price. Location is perfect, close to the marina, restaurants, bars and clubs so you never have to travel far. Also close to the Bus station and they have a shuttle to the airport which is really reliable. Sure, it gets pretty noisy and seems to attract...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Razzie87
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2015 via mobile

The hostel it's self is nice, the kitchen and communal areas were good. The room was spacious with good air-con. The staff didn't really know how to run the place. Most of them looked extremely unhappy to be there. There was always a big queue at reception. Our booking had been made for 2016 instead or 2015. Luckily there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
Nogent-sur-Marne, France
Reviewed 8 May 2015

DO NOT STAY HERE! This is the worst hostel I've been in Australia because of a few problems: - There is no lockers on the doors in the showers, so anyone can enter when you're showering! - they close the balcony at 9pm so if you're enjoying a drink or something with your friends you have to come back inside!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toma C
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on our hostel. In regards to the issues you have raised we will certainly look into the issues in the showers, we have not had the issue raised before so this will be dealt with immediately. The balcony is closed at 9pm due to issues we have had with...

Reviewed 19 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed not so long ago. Ideal location and clean kitchen and bathroom. The room was a little on the small side and had no windows which was disappointing and slightly claustrophobic but was clean and comfortable and manageable for the 6 nights we stayed. The main problem is to do with the cutlery, as each time you wanted to cook...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie T
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

Travel agency booked me here because it was close to restaurants and the marina. And it's a well known spot so getting picked up and dropped off for tours isn't a problem. And that is true, it's 10 minutes to the Marina to head out for reef tours, which is nice. But that's about it. The hostel smells like BO...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bayjb
Reviewed 15 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed in a private room, with only one pillow... Room smelled horribly damp, aircon was hilariously pathetic, and the mattress was soaked. Girl at reception was trying her hardest but seemed to have a real lack of training in the running of the place. Ridiculously cheap, but ridiculously bad.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cmckain
NY
Reviewed 22 February 2015

this place is cool, great facilities, great pool, aiconditioned room, clean, close to everything you want, the bars, cafes, restaurants, couple minutes to the lagoon on the esplanade, hooked up with some great bars, meal and drink coupon for PJ O'Briens, the Irish pubs, we went in Melbourne, and Sydney too, great spots, and Cairns, is a bit different, much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BuddhistNYC
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to leave feedback on your time with us in Global. We are really excited that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially taking advantage of the great meal deal at PJ's. Cairns is a great spot to come to and socialise as well as visit the reef and other tours nearby, so we...

Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2015 via mobile

I check in to central at 13/01, and I found out my sleeping bag was missing at 20/01 when I go back at evening, I am the last person go out that day and none of my roommates have seen my sleeping bag. I go to ask for help at reception, but the staff just being unhelpful and do nothing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevinChuang
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review

Hi Kevin, Thanks for providing feedback. We have been in contact with you regarding your sleeping bag and I understand that this has been posted out to you and is back in your possession. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. We do not allow sleeping bags in the hostels as they can carry insects that we don't...

Reviewed 21 January 2015 via mobile

Firstly we check in on time we are booked for a double room. We get the key walk into a room with three single beds.. So back down stairs.. Simple mistake. We are handed another key for a double room but someone is in this room..back down stairs again.. No apology just a "it's a really busy time of year...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doyleamanda
Reviewed 20 January 2015 via mobile

This hostel has it's pros and cons and for $18 a night I didn't expect much.. Reception staff were lovely and really helpful, $7 meal deal thing is good. Pricey wifi but that's in most places in Aus. The rooms are okay. Not very big but we had aircon and trust me, you NEED this!!! There is NO air con...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 93412bjj

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#53 of 85 in Cairns
45 reviews
0.3 km away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.1 km away
The Abbott Hotel
The Abbott Hotel
#2 of 14 in Cairns
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Global Backpackers Waterfront
0.3 km away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.3 km away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Central

Address: 9b Shields St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $17 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Central 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Global Backpackers Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Backpackers Central Hotel Cairns
Global Backpackers Central Cairns, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Global Backpackers Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with a window”
newi94, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“avoid the roo next to the main aisle, too noisy.”
sc0326, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Pay a little extra for a 3/4 bed dorm, all single beds”
Razzie87, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't take a room here”
tomac68, 8 May 2015 | Read review
“female only dorms available, they also have mixed, and you can pay a bit more to have a private room, double or twin. $7 meal deal with drink at PJ's is great value, top spot too”
BuddhistNYC, 21 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 27* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 44
Orbitz.comUSD 44
CancelonUSD 50
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates