We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Getaway On Grafton

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Getaway On Grafton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 288: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in a deluxe 2 bedroom apartment. For the price I definitely will not be back. Apartment was clean. However, appliances were all in poor condition, kettle was disgusting, dishwasher did not work anywhere near properly. Washing machine temperamental etc. Furniture in unit was very dated and average looking. Unit needs lots of small fixture repairs which make it look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bandoftravellers1
Linda M, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review

We are sorry for your experience, however you were advised we were available to tend to any maintenance issues, we had no communication from you during your stay to rectify your concerns. Dishwasher, washing machine etc was all checked and no problems with them. Sometimes using different appliances can be confusing. Instructions are provided in the apartment.

Port Willunga, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in early January as a family group of 3 adults. The 2 bedroom townhouse apartment was excellent for us. The beds were very comfortable and the apartment had plenty of space. The swimming pool was really nice on those hot humid days. It was situated close to the city centre and within walking distance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cpdunn
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, well presented 2 bedroom apartment. Staff were excellent especially with booking day trips and advise as to what was good. Room was very generous in size and beds sensational, better than my bed at home. Air conditioner in every room made a summer vacation comfortable. Lovely pool and spa for your relaxation. Highly recommended. Peter from Melbourne

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter V
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Just arrived and checked in at the Gataway on Grafton.... great first impression, lovely clean pool area, friendly staff and amazingly spacious apartments. Would highly recommend this property for your stay in Cairns. Thanks Gataway On Grafton! Jennifer singleton

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Stay for 4 nights in early December and the apartment was perfect for what we needed. Stayed in a two bedroom apartment and the place had everything we needed. Staff were very helpful in recommending tours and sight seeing ideas. Hotel grounds were also very clean and well maintained Apartment was clean and modern and the beds were comfortable, Showers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andre K
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 5 December 2016

The air-cons are pre-set and noisey - it was HOT! The cleaner left muck in the laundry sink from the mop bucket, the fridge wasn't cold, the beds were hard as rocks - our backs are aching. Won't stay there again unfortunately :(

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janefinlay02
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 22 November 2016

I had a great time staying at the Getaway. My friends and I stayed in an apartment that had room for 5, two and a half bathrooms, two patios, a living room and a fully functioning kitchen. It's located a 10min walk from the Esplanade and a 7min walk from Woolworths, the grocery store. They have a pool and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Foodislife11
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We stayed 3 nights in a 2-bedroom apartment. I can highly recommend this apartment. The apartment was large, clean, 2 bathrooms and all the kitchen and cleaning facilities you would require during the stay. Location-wise .... it is 10-15mins walk from the main area, which wasn't a problem at all. We arrived after 8pm, and check-in was simple (via a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DL-30
Perth Hills, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We stayed 7 nights in an apartment and found it to be clean,tidy and well appointed. Everything we needed was provided including a little carton of milk for our cuppas :) The pool was light and sunny from 9am til 3pm then was shaded and very comfortable. The pool area has barbecue facilities but we mostly used the kitchen or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer P
Perth Hills, Australia
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We stayed for 7 days in Nov 2016 and enjoyed it immensely. The apartments are close enough to the centre of Cairns to walk to and from but far enough away not to have the noise. The apartments are big. 2 storey and very well equipped. Aircon all over and big beds. The kitchen is very usable and I did...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve P

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 66 in Cairns
1,007 reviews
1.2 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 66 in Cairns
535 reviews
0.1 km away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 km away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#23 of 66 in Cairns
167 reviews
0.9 km away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Address: 157 - 159 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $149 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Getaway On Grafton Cairns, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Getaway On Grafton staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Getaway On Grafton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Views over the pool probably better than views over the street.”
 of 5 bubbles petervM113QP, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Old noisey air cons that hardly cool the room. Great location close to the beach though”
 of 5 bubbles janefinlay02, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Good location”
 of 5 bubbles Foodislife11, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“South end rooms are noisier due to proximity to backpackers next door and the carpark.”
 of 5 bubbles jenniwren2001, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get an end apartment. But noise isn't really an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles O1227ZNstevep, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5