We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

956 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 859: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

I stayed at Gilligan's for 2 weeks while waiting for work & would highly recommend it. It's very much a party hostel with an excellent bar & club. Wifi is cheap ($2 for 24hrs) & rooms clean with en suite bathroom/shower. Location is central & within walking distance of the shopping centre & 5mins from the lagoon. Price also good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2015

The staff aren't great but it's a hostel/hotel full of party people so it's a tough environment to be in. In our mid 20s, we felt a little old here so opted for a twin hotel room. It was fine, very basic but clean. Warm shower and a tv. It's up on the 4th floor, a quieter floor so sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
Beaufort, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2015

You're young and you wanted fun, yes Gilligan is the place to stay, an amazing place where you can enjoy the multiple combinations of a pool, music stage, restaurant,bar in patio, hotel rooms, dormitories, self kitchen in each floor, a gym, a first floor club with bar and music, every night entertainment . If I have to tell you everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gheefrenchie
SarahDSDD, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

What a great review and you’re not wrong Gilligan's is the place to be in Cairns! We have a lot to offer and by the sounds of it you enjoyed of our facilities. Enjoy your travels and please be sure to tell all of your friends about us.

Robina, Australia
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

Rooms ok, though the smell is a bit weird and there are dead flies on the shower floor. Real downside though was the continuous partying on the corridors. I did not sleep for 3 nights because people were yelling right behind our door and banging the room door. Furthermore, some members of the staff especially at the club side are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmijasmin
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

This is the best hostel I stayed in in Australia! Rooms - I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and it was a decent size. Really nice shower and bathroom area, and the room had a fridge and a balcony which was an absolute result. Bar/club - the hostel is attached the busiest bar/club in Cairns......so it's not necessarily the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

By far the best hostel I've stayed in while travelling this year. Very clean room with own bathroom and balcony. Pool area is also very clean and has a lively atmosphere. Good location and cheap and nice meals at the bar. Definitely would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chelseainsch
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

I knew this was a party hostel before I arrived but had chose it for its location. I had lower expectations because of the party vibe but the hostel was actually really clean! Its cleaned daily and the rooms being ensuite were ok in size. Down side is what you would expect people come here to party so you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2015

- Great location in city / also close to reef and rainforest - Clean and tidy - Good price / doors to hotel rooms - Helpful staff - Restaurant is ok, lucky cheap pricing - People from all over the world - Hostel, beer garden, pool and 2 nightclubs - Can be noisey on weekends due to nightclub - Nightclub...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JrollJoel
SarahDSDD, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for an awesome informative review! If anybody is a light sleeper, at the time of booking we do reccomend booking a higher room to stay in, alternatively earplugs are avaiable from rececption. We are glad to hear you had a great time and enjoyed your stay, hoping to see you again soon!

Oxford
Reviewed 16 October 2015

No doubt about it, the best, most fun hostel i have ever stayed in (and i have stayed in my fair share). ITS HUGE, theres like a gazillion rooms. Front staff are friendly-sucks that you cant take alcohol into your rooms though! but it has a brilliant night club/bar downstairs, right next to the pool area. unfortunately it rained on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloe O
SarahDSDD, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we agree, there is quality and quantity here at Gilligan’s with a huge night club and hostel you will never get bored! Due to licencing laws we aren’t allowed to permit alcohol being taken into dorms and rooms but with the nightclub and bar deck just down stairs from the hostel you won’t need to...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Best place to party in Cairns. I tired to book here but it was full so I just came here to party and I was not disappointed! It is huge with a few different rooms. The night we went had a DJ with an awesome setup and live dancers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Australianotraveller
SarahDSDD, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we are pleased to hear you partied hard with Gilligan’s nightclub, there are also lots of great things happening there during the week such as live bands and themed game nights! However it is unfortunate that you weren’t able to book a room as staying with us is a great...

282 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Deluxe Quad Room (21)
Viewed
Double Private Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Dorm Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.8 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.0 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
554 reviews
1.5 km away
Tropic Days Backpackers
1.7 km away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gilligan's is the ultimate experience in accommodation and entertainment set in the heart of Cairns. Offering guests stylish backpacker accommodation, nightly entertainment and a relaxed atmosphere whilst soaking up the sun, why choose to stay anywhere else?All room types are fully equipped with full en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and four floors of communal areas. Or perhaps try our deluxe dormitories; designed to offer that little bit extra. Available in 4 and 6 bed configurations, these rooms offer TVs, refrigerators and some have a private balcony to kick back and relax after a long day at the reef, rainforest or even a lazy day by our pool.Free linen, Free car parking, Free crockery use in kitchens, VIP prices for in house guests, Half price to our international DJ eventsand so much more ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Address: 57-89 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $27 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel And Resort
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel Cairns
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room that doesn't face the club”
asher14, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“request for rooms on the higher floors if you think music from the bar would bother you.”
240jeremiahd, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask the reception staff about special offers for the different roomtypes.”
879estelled, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a 4 bed dorm on the higher floors if you don't want to hear the club music till 3am.”
Cristie2202, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the road are quieter than those facing the pool. Head up to higher floor kitchens, they have less people and better equipment.”
TravellingTeacher22, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5