We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hides Hotel Cairns

87 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (111)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#52 of 68 hotels in Cairns
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hides Hotel is the only accommodation in Cairns that combines unbeatable location and value pricing, in a building that plays a pivotal part in the Cairns' local history. Situated in the vibrant heart of Cairns, Hide’s amazing location is a stone's throw from public transport, restaurants, shopping, bars, the Reef Fleet Terminal and The Esplanade & Lagoon. Stay in style in our contemporary, refurbished Premium rooms, which are equipped with all the modern essentials. Alternatively, enjoy a Budget room to get the most of your stay in Cairns without breaking the bank. All are fully air conditioned and serviced daily. Guests can enjoy onsite facilities including a grand wrap-around balcony, swimming pool, 24 hour reception, guest laundry, and free WIFI. The friendly Hides team are available 24 hours for anything you might need assistance with, including booking tours to bucket-list destinations such as the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and Kuranda Village.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Boating
Diving
Taxi service
24-hour security
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Hiking
Snorkelling
Aerobics offsite
Bicycle tours
Bowling offsite
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
434Reviews6Q+A92Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 147
  • 137
  • 62
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Julie&Jon wrote a review Nov 2023
Brisbane, Australia8 contributions
Well positioned in the centre of Cairns. Room was clean, aircon worked well and the bed was large and very comfortable. Can get a little noisy as close to a club but walking distance to everything you want to a great short stay
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
gavinross wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Great location. Close to shops and facilities.Close to the lagoon pool. The only negative thing I have is be careful which website you book through.I thought I was booking to the hotel direct but it was a 3rd party US website. I couldnt understand what the $300.00 fees and taxes were. I cancelled this booking and went through booking.com and saved $300.00. Check your invoices. Cairns is a great city with plenty to see and do. I would stay at Hides again when I come back to Cairns on a future visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Thedenmans wrote a review June 2023
Townsville121 contributions45 helpful votes
Easy to find and access from their car park attached near the hotel - room clean and tidy - great to access for a person with a wheelie walker - from car park only - lots of rooms - tiny problem with front access from Lake Street - hard to get wheelie walker up the two steps - staff great - on her own n going strong
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Front steps not accessible for a wheelchair
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Travis P wrote a review Jan 2023
Brisbane, Australia108 contributions66 helpful votes
Easily one of the worst hotel experiences I've had in a while without any big event to make bad. (just an accumulation of very average to poor experiences). The value ratio of this hotel is way off, I think at the time we booked we paid $180.00 per night per room. This was about $180.00 too much. This is not a reflection of the staffs performance, this is a reflection of everything else. - Dirty hallways and amenities (particularly the laundry room, which was required as "my level of booking did not allow for an in room iron") -Lack of parking avilability -Dirty (and smelly) rooms -Loud aircon (obviously not working properly) - Thin walls and noise penetration into room. Please avoid
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
WorldTravla7 wrote a review Jan 2023
Cairns, Australia6042 contributions558 helpful votes
+1
This was the first time ever I have had a verbal altercation at a hotel with a staff member at a hotel due to service issues. The front clerk would not allow my bags (one suitcase and a laptop) to be left after check out without paying for lockers, despite a $175 a night room charge and an empty storage area. He said this was common hotel practice. I challenged him & explained most hotels allow bags to be kept for a few hours after checking out – after this the desk man changed his tune and said this was just their hotel’s policy. I felt like I was staying at a backpackers and was very disappointed at the policy, and at the service. The experience I had on check out alone (especially the attitude of the staff member) made this easily the worst experience I have had at a hotel in the last 10 years. It was a shame because the gentleman on check in was lovely and allowed bags to be stored prior to check in, when I arrived on an early flight. The room itself was at the opposite end of the hotel and was a 5 minute walk down a long hall to get to the room. It was also noisy at night time as I was given a room adjacent to the main street (Grafton Street). The positives – the location is excellent (right in the centre of town) and the quality of the rooms and room size is ok. Honestly though, my recommendation is to steer clear of this hotel - there are lots of great hotels in Cairns that are far better for the same price (or less). And I know many locals who feel the same way about this place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Neil T wrote a review Nov 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
stayed in this beautiful motel, September 2022. All the staff i met i was greeted with a smile, first impressions count and that made my stay enjoyable. Room was very clean but the balcony, that was my go to place of an afternoon, loved sitting out there. As for people complaining about the homeless near the motel, if they were not bothering you...why comment, they are humans after all and life deals out some not to good of a card, some beyond their control, be brave enough to show empathy instead of being judgmental!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sunlover Reef Cruises, Sales at Hides Hotel Cairns
Responded 29 Dec 2022
Thank you for your positive review of your stay at the motel. It sounds like you had a pleasant experience and that the staff were friendly and welcoming. It's great that you were able to make use of the balcony and enjoy the outdoors during your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Liza52 wrote a review Sept 2022
Australia7 contributions7 helpful votes
We booked 2 rooms this week, each for 3 days. On arrival, we were given the keys to the above rooms which were both spacious and very clean. All went well until 10pm when the noise from the street below began and continued with loud shouting, cars screeching, and fighting until 4.30am - there is also a hotel across the road from these rooms.We had no sleep, and the following morning requested a change of room for the next 2 nights. On returning that afternoon we were handed keys to rooms 120 and 122 with no discussion about room type or additional cost.That night at 9pm I received 4 phone calls advising of an additional cost of $30/room/night or we could again move rooms - finally I was able to negotiate a "win,win: with each of us paying an additional $15/night and we had 2 peaceful nights.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms along the corridor including 229 are terrible for noise each night - unable to sleep at all.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MissionChris wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution
Female staff were lovely. Male manager was rude and officious. Where told that the doors would be locked at 11.00 P.M. and needed code for entry after that came back at 9.00 P.M. and were berated as tried entry without code, whilst reception was still being maned. He needs to go back to Delhi to do a course in customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sandraj wrote a review Sept 2022
Mackay, Australia26 contributions7 helpful votes
My first week the room was not cleaned, each day it was entered rubbish taken nothing done, I asked them to please spray for cockroaches and i had to go to Woolies buy my own spray, it was a disgrace the amount of cockroaches i killed on the first day, filthy dirty place and lazy staff
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: do not use the old hotels, only go with the large hotel groups
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rebecca C wrote a review June 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We paid for a room with a king bed and got 2 single beds pushed together. Underneath the bed was filthy, bottle tops etc, it is obviously never cleaned. The kettle was burnt out and we went to reception 3 times to get a new one, and never did. Was sent to the breakfast area, which wasn’t even functional. Told to shower with the door closed or it sets off the smoke alarm, but there is no fan in bathroom so it fogs the whole room up. Shower was filthy. Pool unusable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cairns area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$79 - AU$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel crocodile hides
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HIDES HOTEL CAIRNS (AU$79): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hides Hotel Cairns
Which popular attractions are close to Hides Hotel Cairns?
Nearby attractions include Esplanade Boardwalk (0.4 km), Cairns Museum (0.08 km), and Cairns Esplanade Lagoon (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hides Hotel Cairns?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Hides Hotel Cairns?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hides Hotel Cairns?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hides Hotel Cairns?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hides Hotel Cairns?
Conveniently located restaurants include Snoogies, Cruze Coffee, and Falafellicious.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hides Hotel Cairns?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Hides Hotel Cairns located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Cairns.
Does Hides Hotel Cairns have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.