We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mad Monkey Village

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (66)
Room & Suite (10)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct with Mad Monkey Australia!
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 33 hostels in Cairns
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
At Mad Monkey Village we offer an affordable, Flashpacker style accommodation in a newly renovated hostel in Cairns. Treat yourselves to a daily Free Hot Breakfast in the mornings & budget priced drinks at our outdoor bar in the evenings! Our fully equipped designer’s kitchen allows you to cook whatever you fancy. Relax and sunbath by our swimming pool oasis after a great day out, exploring all-natural wonders that Cairns and its surroundings have to offer. Meet new travel buddies or just chill at our TV room with Netflix and Playstation! Thanks to our ultra-fast Free Wi-Fi throughout the property, you won’t miss out on anything. And if you still have some energy left, you can enjoy a Daily Free access to a local gym! Become a part of our Mad Monkey Family & enjoy your stay! Location Mad Monkey Village is located on Sheridan Street, about 10 minute walk to the City centre. The central shopping centre is only 5 minute walk and the Cairns Esplanade with its beautiful Lagoon, views and restaurants is just a 15 minute walk away. Plane: Our FREE airport shuttle is currently unavailable. We highly recommend you book a taxi or and Uber. We’re only a fifteen-minute drive away from the airport. Bus/Train: If you arriving by Bus or Train, just make your way to the Night Market Entrance on Abbott St and wait for our hostel shuttle leaving every half past. Don’t forget to tell the driver to drop you off at Mad Monkey Village! Car: Limited parking spots are available in front of the hostel. Rooms We offer all types of accommodation, from mixed dorms to female dorms and private double rooms as well as private twin rooms. We have high-quality mattresses, pillows and linen which is included for a comfortable night’s sleep. You can choose between a standard room with a shared bathroom or ensuite. All our private double rooms come with personal towels, otherwise our reception team is more than happy to assist you with a towel hire in case you forgot one. All our rooms are Air-Conditioned with a sink and a mirror. All our bunk beds are equipped with personal USB ports & power sockets to make sure you can comfortably scroll through your new travel pictures from your bed. Oh, and don’t forget to bring a padlock for our security lockers in the dorms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Happy hour
Bicycle rental
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Adults only
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Vending machine
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Book Direct with Mad Monkey Australia!
448Reviews4Q+A33Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 235
  • 123
  • 57
  • 18
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
charles wrote a review Nov 2023
Las Vegas, Nevada1 contribution
The personal at the reception is awful Jen is so incompetent and rude , they charged one more night for a check out at 10:30 instead of 10 after being there for 2 months The water is often out in room The free barbecue is way too busy and the reception let everyone come and have the barbecue
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The personal at the reception
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Expedition584310 wrote a review Feb 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Property's Favourite Review
This place was perfect. It was very spotless, I seen a staff member cleaning the bathrooms into the evening every night I was very happy with this place. The kitchen is fully stocked with enough room for people to move about. I rented a room for my self that was large clean and very comfortable. LOcation is great and the breakfast was the cherry on top. There was a few Mad monkeys in the area make sure you book Mad Monkey Village you will not be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Be sure you book the Mad Monkey Village location
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 26 Feb 2023
Hey thank you for this kind review, we will be sure to pass on the praise to our housekeeping team. We're glad you enjoyed our free breakfast and our kitchen. Good luck on your future travels !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marissa L wrote a review Aug 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand4 contributions
+1
Great place to stay…nice & clean room, plus, pleasant & wonderful staffs that looked after their guests well. The icing on the cake is the sumptuous “FREE” breakfast that’s provided for everyone every morning….it’s sumptuously delectable 👌. Highly recommend to everyone that’s it’s the awesome place to stay in Cairns….highly affordable accomodation !!! 👌😊
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 20 Aug 2023
Hey Marissa Thanks so much for leaving us such a lovely review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us :) Our Free breakfast is a big hit with our guests! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and that we see you again next time you visit Cairns :D Thanks, Mad Monkey Village Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anna W wrote a review Aug 2023
6 contributions6 helpful votes
I heard good stories about this hostel but I didn’t enjoy my stay at all. Main reason was that the girl at the reception was not helpful or friendly at all. There was no space left in the kitchen to place my food but on the other side the hostel has the rule to not take food into the hostel room. The kitchen area small and especially not a lot cooking panel available. My room was normal, had balcony. The community area is nice and I also enjoyed the vibe there. I think everything starts with the first contact , and if it’s with someone unfriendly at the reception I already get pissed. I wouldn’t say it’s a terrible hostel but I left to bounce after one night cause it’s same price and much better service and facilities
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 20 Aug 2023
Hello Anna, Thank you for taking the time to wrote your review. We're sorry to hear about your experience and will look into the points you have highlighted to improve our hostel. We have since put in more food boxes to accomodate more of our guests due to a large influx of long term guests staying with us. We have the rule of not bringing food into guest rooms as we are in a tropical climate, any food attracts bugs such as ants which create a difficult situation for us to solve. Had you raised this concern while staying with us, I believe any issues could have been rectified with our management. We apologise that your stay wasn't the best it could have been. We wish you all the best. Kind Regards, Mad Monkey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shannon S wrote a review July 2023
4 contributions3 helpful votes
All I can say is wow the hostel is like a home away from home. The second I walked in the door to the moment I left 3 Months later I was treated amazingly staff are always willing to go above and beyond to help and no task is ever too much to ask of them. The place is always spotless and the amenities the hostel have to offer are top notch. I would be only delighted to recommend this hostel to anyone and would love to revisit myself someday.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 16 July 2023
Hey Shannon, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. So nice to hear you found your home from home with Mad Monkey! Enjoy the rest of your travels and hopefully we do see you again next time you visit Cairns :) Thanks Mad Monkey Village Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Will D wrote a review July 2023
1 contribution
Such great value for money! The place was so looked after and staff were always on top of the rooms making sure they were always tidy. Great perks such as free breakfast, free gym access. Can’t recommend enough
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 8 July 2023
Thank you for your lovely review, we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the free gym, as well as breakfast. We wish you all the best on your travels and hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Mad Monkey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Katie C wrote a review July 2023
1 contribution
This is by far my favorite hostel in Cairns. As soon as I entered I was made to feel welcome by the manager who gave me a detailed tour round the different areas and the room I would be staying in. Everyone staying at the hostel and the staff are all lovely which made it easy to settle in and feel part of the family. Good vibes !!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 7 July 2023
Thank you for your lovely review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and had the chance to meet our amazing staff during your time here. We wish you all the best on your travels and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Mad Monkey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jen T wrote a review July 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Really enjoyed my stay at Mad Monkey the Village. Everyone is really lovely, and it’s a great social hostel. They have a free BBQ event and they also provide free breakfast everyday, as well as having a free gym! Will definitely be back to this hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 5 July 2023
Thank you for your kind review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the free breakfast as well as gym while you were here. We wish you all the best on your travels, kind regards, Mad Monkey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jamie W wrote a review July 2023
1 contribution
Best hostel around . I Stayed here long term and could not recommend it more . From the minute I checked in all staff were so welcoming and made me feel at home . Common areas and my room were as clean as they come . The pool here is perfect for a dip in the warm weather and the seated area around it was perfect . Any questions I had staff were eager to help and did so in a timely manger, there is always someone around to lend a hand and they are extremely accommodating. I Would happily recommend MadMonkey Village for anyone planning a trip to Cairns.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 5 July 2023
Thank you for your kind review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations. We wish you all the best on your travels and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Mad Monkey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amy B wrote a review June 2023
1 contribution
Such a good hostel to stay in Cairns, great kitchen and social areas that are cleaned everyday, staff are always super helpful and friendly, free pancakes in the morning are great value for money!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mad Monkey Village, General Manager at Mad Monkey Village
Responded 29 June 2023
Thank you for your lovely review, we're delight to hear you enjoyed your stay and the free pancakes. We wish you all the best on your travels and hope to welcome you back soon. kind Regards, Mad Monkey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cairns area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$60 - AU$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Njoy Travellers Resort
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAD MONKEY VILLAGE (AU$60): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Cairns) - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mad Monkey Village
Which popular attractions are close to Mad Monkey Village?
Nearby attractions include St Monica's Cathedral (0.4 km), Munro Martin Parklands (0.3 km), and Cairns Performing Arts Centre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mad Monkey Village?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and airport transportation.
What food & drink options are available at Mad Monkey Village?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mad Monkey Village?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mad Monkey Village?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mi Piace Espresso Bar, Yum Sing, and Providore Amore.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mad Monkey Village?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mad Monkey Village have airport transportation?
Yes, Mad Monkey Village offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Mad Monkey Village located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Cairns.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mad Monkey Village?
Yes, self serve laundry and a washing machine are offered to guests.