Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Lakes Cairns

2 Greenslopes St, Cairns, Queensland 4870 Australia
Traveller (338)
Room & Suite (82)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#4 of 8 resorts in Cairns
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Lakes Cairns Resort is a fully integrated 4½ star resort, set on 11 acres of tropical gardens. Located just minutes away from the CBD and adjacent to the Botanical Gardens. Choose from one, two and three bedroom apartments equipped with modern appliances, quality furnishings and separate dining and living areas. Holiday at your own pace, stroll along the Boardwalk or relax at one of the four luxurious swimming pools. Spacious living and dining areas open onto private balconies, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments feature the magic of a lanai.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Car hire
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Car park
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
On-demand films
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
659Reviews4Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 268
  • 207
  • 93
  • 45
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nom nom Nom Z wrote a review Mar 2022
Melbourne, Australia7 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
Fantastic place, amazing pools, delicious Thai restaurant. Gardens are spectacular highly recommend bringing the family for a stay, we had stayed here for 4 nights then went to Fitzroy Island for 2 nights we were supposed to be going and staying at a place in the daintree which was such a disappointment we cancelled our week there and happily came back to the lakes the staff were amazing accommodating our needs will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management Scott, General Manager at The Lakes Cairns
Responded 13 Mar 2022
Hi guys! Thank you for the lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Lakes Cairns and that we were able to accommodate your last minute itinerary change. We look forward to seeing you and your family here again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
funkyhughes23 wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia314 contributions83 helpful votes
Great location not far from city centre. Botanic Gardens a few minutes' walk away, the airport is close by, restaurants etc. nearby (in fact there's even a decent Thai place in the resort itself). The rooms are spacious and well equipped and the pools (there are four) at the place are perfect for cooling down after a day of exploring the region. There are also barbecues near the pool so you can cook dinner there as well. Car parking is a bit tricky to navigate at first but easy once you've done it once. There are often geckos, brush turkeys, bats and many birds able to be seen at the resort. It's pretty quiet there (except the noise from the airport occasionally). The gardens are well kept and generally the resort seems to be kept very well. I found the staff quite friendly but the big issue I had was that there is no recycling service in the resort, only landfill collection. We got around this by disposing of our recycling in other local bins but this is not ideal. Other than this is was a great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: There are no lifts so look for a bottom floor apartment
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LakesCairnsResort, Receptionist at The Lakes Cairns
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us here at The Lakes Resort. We hope to see you again soon. Ayla The Lakes Cairns Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rita B wrote a review Mar 2020
10 contributions4 helpful votes
Loved the resort. Showing its age a little but still a pleasant place to stay and very close to Cairns CBD. There are 4 pools and an on-site restaurant and bar which serves really good food. Fit is situated right next door to centennial lakes and transport is not a problem
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LakesCairnsResort, Manager at The Lakes Cairns
Responded 31 Mar 2020
Thank you for your feed back. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the beautiful Centennial Lakes.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate K wrote a review July 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I booked The Lakes for our long awaited family holiday as the photos looked beautiful. Our room was in fact very dark and VERY dated. We were told on arrival that "there are only enough essentials (like toilet paper and dish liquid etc) to get you through the first night, after that you must replenish them yourself". I discovered why the dishes and glasses in the cupboards where all grotty when I realised there was not a single tea towel in the place (in a self contained 3 bedroom apartment -go figure)! The beds were made up with sheets only and it was unseasonably cold so we searched for blankets which we found (1 light blanket per bed) in the cupboards. There is no room service at all so you need to wash your own towels. On departure, we found reception closed and locked (apparently its not open on weekends, or after 5pm on weekdays!). We were given no instructions at all about where to return our keys and the after hours number was ringing out. There were other disgruntled families waiting with kids and luggage -some trying to check in and some trying to check out in time to catch flights. This is NOT a resort, it's a complex of mostly owner occupied apartments so there's minimal service. And to top it all off, we spent $400 in Ubers just to get in and out of town each day as it's not ideally located.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
laura l wrote a review Jan 2020
Ickenham, United Kingdom27 contributions17 helpful votes
Booked 1 bed apartment via. airbnb - both my husband and myself were very impressed with the apartment and the hosting skills.

The apartment was spotless clean with all the facilities you need for a home from home break. The complex was lovely and clean and you felt very safe no issues with parking or finding a sunbed at the pool. Getting to town was around a 40 minute walk or about 15 Australian dollars. Airport was about 10 minutes away and there was minimal aircraft noise.

An added bonus was the lovely Thai restaurant/take away - we popped in for a drink when waiting for a taxi and the food looked so nice we had a take away the following night :-)

If i was visiting Cairns again would be pleased to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LakesCairnsResort, Front Office Manager at The Lakes Cairns
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Thank you for your feedback - We are delighted to hear that you & your husband enjoyed your stay & enjoyed the food offered from the Thai Restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again at the resort.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carrie F wrote a review July 2021
Brisbane, Australia25 contributions16 helpful votes
Spacious 2 bedroom apartment with amazing pools, close to airport and city (via Uber). Great Thai restaurant on site, iga 8 minute walk away and fish and chips and coffee store close by.

Cons: apartments need a deep clean (general areas are clean but air con vents are nasty), huge complex of apartments so can be noisy, reception aren’t open on weekends or after 5, didn’t really want us to leave our bags with them when we checked out, sauna and gym were closed for maintenance, furniture in apartment needs replacing (tables were being stabilised by ripped up napkins and cardboard.) reception shop doesn’t stock essentials like bread.

The resort consists of about 8 apartment buildings which are mainly owner occupied with a few holiday lets. Most days we had the pool to ourselves. This apartment was great value for money in Cairns. Some new furniture and a full clean and sorting out facility issues (likely a body corporate problem) and it would be great.

Note: Uber will drop you at the access gate. If you haven’t checked in yet you need to go to reception which is just a bit further along. Lock box to self check in is just to the left of reception.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management Scott, General Manager at The Lakes Cairns
Responded 4 July 2021
Thankyou for your feedback, we appreciate your time in reviewing us. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tasboys wrote a review Jan 2020
Launceston, Australia10 contributions2 helpful votes
Spent 5 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment 1304. Apartment had modern appliances and kitchen complete with everything required to utilise whilst there. It was quite a roomy apartment, Huge en-suite, however 2nd bedroom is quite small however not really an issue for us. Ground floor apartment which overlooks large swimming pool.
Resort has three swimming pools which my boys ( aged 11& 14) loved. Undercover parking. Close to airport and 5 min drive to cairns.city. 3 min drive to super IGA which was also useful.
All staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. Loved the stay! Hope to return
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LakesCairnsResort, Receptionist at The Lakes Cairns
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Hi, It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at The Lakes Resort and we are glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Ayla The Lakes Cairns Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kingnomore wrote a review Jan 2024
Sydney49 contributions18 helpful votes
This resort has a lot of potential to be great. However what we experienced was mediocre in accommodation and service. Firstly the reception is closed the entire weekend. We arrived on the weekend and "for pool towels contact reception" didn't quite work. The apartment was OK but the second bedroom was so small it only just fit two single beds (no room for luggage). The teenagers were glad it was just a short stay. The exhaust fan and hair dryer didn't work but the main bedroom was lovely. Gate access to the pool was nice. I think the main problem is each apartment is individually owned so it is a bit of a lottery the quality you get. One person was checking out early as their apartment was full of mould and flooding. Another commented on how gorgeous their apartment was. Inconsistent! The pools are surrounds are lovely. Cannot comment on the cafe as it was shut while we were there. Access to the beam scooters was great as it is perfect scooting distance to town/pier. I would stay again if I negotiate the right apartment. The grounds are picturesque.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dominique B wrote a review June 2023
1 contribution
We arrived on a weekend but easy to follow instructions about where to find the safe were emailed in advance (reception isn't staffed on weekends).
Parking was easy and the apartment was clean and tidy.
Kitchen was stocked with basics, towels and linen were clean and fresh.
Furniture is clean and relatively new.
Pools and gardens are stunning and everything is well maintained.
Taste of Thai at the front and the Cafe at the back were excellent, friendly staff and delicious food!
Really convenient location too.
Highly recommend booking directly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dheeraj A wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia11 contributions24 helpful votes
No wifi, no movies, no housekeeping, receptionist is rude, keep reminding about checkout, about rubbish and dishwash, every time we ask for help. We felt like living in a hostel or jail. Never coming back, I am here to relax but this place is stressful. Away from city which we didn't check and trusted worldmark. Everything is costing us even a tea bag.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LakesCairnsResort, Front Office Manager at The Lakes Cairns
Responded 4 Jan 2020
Hi 667dheeraja, Our apologies that you felt trapped. We are always here to help, we will have a speak to our receptionist however we always have multiple staff on site to help with every need. Our apartments all include Free Wifi (pass-code given to you on check-in), they are also self catering apartments and are serviced once a week if you stay past 7 days, Tea bags are one of our complimentary items in your stay along with various other things. Our Check in and check out times are very strict while we do not want to interfere with your holiday we are also wanting to make sure the room is ready for the next person to enjoy which is why our staff would have called to check in on your departure. All of this information was given to you on check in via our receptionist staff. If there is any further issues you would like to discuss please contact us directly. Kind regards, The Lakes Resort Cairns
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Curious45532606441 wrote a tip Jan 2024
3 contributions
"Beautiful place, people very friendly, try down by the wharf great food. Only drawback watch out for Uber drivers they try to scam you "
Read full review
Mike P wrote a tip Sept 2023
Sydney, Australia270 contributions69 helpful votes
"Remember your sunscreen and bug repellent"
Read full review
Shona wrote a tip Aug 2023
Auckland Central, New Zealand29 contributions3 helpful votes
"Out of town but that give you the peace and quiet. Planes go over, but not during the night. "
Read full review
GBR_Helic0pters wrote a tip May 2021
Cairns, Queensland, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
"Go to another hotel"
Read full review
Danny S wrote a tip Mar 2020
1 contribution
"Ground floor are usually reserved for people with mobility but would be really nice becuase some open out with a deck to the pool"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cairns area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$240 - AU$286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the lakes cairns resort and spa, the lakes cairns hotel cairns, lakes resort cairns, lakes hotel cairns
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
220
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LAKES CAIRNS (AU$240): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lakes Cairns
Which popular attractions are close to The Lakes Cairns?
Nearby attractions include Cairns Botanic Gardens (0.5 km), Red Arrow Walk (0.9 km), and Cairns Botanical Gardens (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lakes Cairns?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Lakes Cairns?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Lakes Cairns?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lakes Cairns?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lakes Cairns?
Conveniently located restaurants include NOA, Poemphun Thai Takeaway, and Guyala Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Lakes Cairns?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Lakes Cairns?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Lakes Cairns?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Is The Lakes Cairns accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.