We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns

60 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (313)
Room & Suite (162)
Pool & Beach (14)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 8 resorts in Cairns
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
With a great waterfront location overlooking Trinity Bay and the spectacular Cairns Lagoon, BreakFree Royal Harbour is perfectly positioned for guests to enjoy the best of this vibrant tropical city. The resort is within walking distance of Cairns CBD and the bustling hub of the Esplanade's restaurants and cafes. The famous Cairns Night Markets are on the hotel's doorstep and the Reef Casino is just a short stroll away. BreakFree Royal Harbour offers self-contained one bedroom garden spas with a private courtyard and one bedroom ocean view spa apartments with a private balcony all including kitchenettes, laundry facilities, spa, air conditioning, internet access, ironing facilities, hair dryer and digital TV. Guests can enjoy recreational facilities including a swimming pool with sun deck and shade, gymnasium and BBQ facilities. From the level two pool deck, guests can enjoy views of the ocean and Cairns Lagoon. **Please note: NO CANCELLATIONS OR AMENDMENTS. This hotel does not accept cash as a payment method. Credit, debit and prepaid cards are accepted to buy goods and services.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Diving
Snorkelling
Taxi service
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Separate dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1122Reviews18Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 513
  • 412
  • 125
  • 48
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Linda B wrote a review 3 Mar
Townsville, Australia40 contributions12 helpful votes
Lovely clean room, friendly staff. Fantastic location for dining out or bringing take-away back to the unit - so many choices within just one block, and many more within a short walk. Close to Aquarium, Esplanade pool and city centre. Good view over pretty tropical garden to the Esplanade and ocean, and somehow you don't get any intrusive noise from the street below.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LiveLoveDream81 wrote a review Feb 2024
Port Douglas, Australia26 contributions8 helpful votes
Centrally located to the Esplanade, lagoon, CPAC this beautifully renovated three bedroom apartment was perfect for our family to stay at - 3 adults and 2 young children. The apartment had sweeping ocean views and was big enough to comfortably stay in long term - huge living/dining/kitchen area with butlers pantry. Massive master bedroom and good sized 2nd and 3rd bedrooms. Had a separate laundry and modern bathrooms. Very friendly service
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review! I have pinned your sentiments on a notice board for the team to celebrate - your praise for the property is deeply appreciated and your very kind words relating to the team and the service we delivered, even more so. Thanks you again and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
stevestr0ng wrote a review Feb 2024
Carlisle, United Kingdom12 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Idyllic location, beautiful property and exceptionally helpful staff. This is certainly the place to stay in Cairns, close to everything that’s going on including the marina, bars and restaurants. Beautiful views from the upper floors
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for the glowing review! We really appreciate your comments and 5 stars and we are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back again one day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BeanBag8a wrote a review Feb 2024
Worcestershire, United Kingdom11 contributions
+1
We’ve just completed a 4 night stay in these beautiful apartments. Centrally located opposite the Lagoon on the seafront right in the centre of Cairns. We had a living room with kitchen, separate bedroom & balcony with table & 4 chairs & a sea view. Very quiet considering the location. Reception staff were very friendly & helpful in providing an unexpected free overnight parking space (if you hire a car at weekends we found that most places close at 1pm) Would definitely recommend a stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns
Responded 2 days ago
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Breakfree Royal Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laura B wrote a review Feb 2024
Mount Isa, Australia17 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
I had a wonderful weekend at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns. Valter at reception was a real standout. Very thorough in the check in procedure ensuring he had told you everything you needed to know, friendly and extremely helpful. He is a credit to your business. Lovely facilities and prime location in Cairns. I’d definitely stay again. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a such a lovely review. I have pinned your sentiments on a notice board for the team to celebrate - your praise for the property is deeply appreciated and your very kind words relating to the team and the service we delivered, even more so. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lilykms wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions
Great location near the lagoon and nice garden room. So impressed to finally stay in a hotel that offers recycling, composting of food waste and minimal individual packed toiletries. Well done! Great assistance from Walter on the front desk and after hours help with the Cooktop.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for the review of your stay at Breakfree Royal Harbour, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to know we hit the mark for you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kevin R wrote a review Jan 2024
Perth, Australia18 contributions10 helpful votes
We had a comfortable 6-night stay. Our apartment had a sea view and was conveniently located to the Esplanade and Cairns waterfront. Reception staff were friendly, professional and customer focused. The accommodation good, and represented value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns
Responded 2 days ago
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Breakfree Royal Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
louise o wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
I had an extremely disappointing experience at Hotel BreakFree at Royal Harbor in Cairns. Despite the imminent danger posed by Cyclone Jasper during our stay, the hotel refused any refund or offered alternatives. Their lack of concern for guest safety, considering the proximity to a beach prone to 7-8 meter tall waves and flooding, is unacceptable. They didn't even suggest providing credits for a future stay at another BreakFree hotel, leaving us with no choice but to cancel our trip to Cairns without any compensation. A complete disregard for customer well-being. I would not recommend staying at BreakFree Royal Harbour in Cairns due to their lack of flexibility and concern for guests’ safety.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophie Owen, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns
Responded 1 Jan 2024
Dear Louise, Guest safety is first and foremost for us. Bookings effected by the recent cyclone were offered refunds and date changes for those that had booked on a no cancellation rate. I would be happy to look into your booking further to see if there is something that can be done. Please send me through your reservation details to royalharbour.gm@breakfree.com.au. Also I would just like to mention that Cairns CBD was mostly unaffected by the recent weather event and we did not have any issues here at the property. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Sophie Owen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Debbie C wrote a review Dec 2023
Stanthorpe, Australia29 contributions7 helpful votes
Fantastic location. Everything was walking distance and tours generally picked up from here or within close proximity. Room was good, used king size bed and pull out sofa. Pull out was pretty good comfort wise. and the king was great. Staff were very friendly Unfortunately our air con in the lounge area was not working that well. Was serviced day we arrived but I don't think the technician put gauges on it to test for a gas leak guessing they just cleaned the filters). The a/c only just cooled the room (sort of) compared to the other group we were with whose a/c was working really well in the lounge area (but not in the bedroom). Ceiling fan above king bed barely worked, was the same speed on all settings and that was barely moving. Also there was no spare toilet roll so had to go buy our own and we were also short a towel. One satchet of dishwashing detergent doesn't go far. We could have asked for more of the missing items but we either didn't see anyone or the office was closed by the time we got back from our day out. Would stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophie Owen, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns
Responded 2 Jan 2024
Thank you for the review of your stay at Breakfree Royal Harbour, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We always strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Thank you again and we hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Sincerely, Sophie Owen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joelle M wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
I came here as I work in Cairns every 1-2 weeks. The gym, the staff, and the room were all amazing. I usually find hotel gyms underwhelming, and the balcony spaces exaggerated in photos. I was so pleasantly surprised with the big and clean balcony (has undercover roof as well for rain) and the gym has a leg press machine and cable weight machine. I would go as far to say the best hotel gym i have found in Cairns (and been staying in cairns hotels every fortnight for 2 years). Wish I discovered Breakfree sooner! Please thank all the staff who worked on Nov 29th / 30th.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophie Owen, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns
Responded 2 Jan 2024
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us, we very much appreciate the 5 stars! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Sophie Owen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cairns area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$193 - AU$265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
breakfree royal harbour hotel cairns, breakfree royal harbour cairns
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BREAKFREE ROYAL HARBOUR CAIRNS (AU$193): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns
Which popular attractions are close to BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns?
Nearby attractions include Cairns Aquarium (0.4 km), Esplanade Boardwalk (0.03 km), and Cairns Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a fitness centre, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns?
Conveniently located restaurants include Snoogies, Cruze Coffee, and Gelocchio.
Are there opportunities to exercise at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Cairns.
Are any cleaning services offered at BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.