We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Cairns Colonial Club Resort

18-26 Cannon St Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (429)
360
Panoramas (81)
Room & Suite (106)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 8 resorts in Cairns
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Cairns Colonial Club Resort is a self-rated four-star low-rise Resort property situated on 11 acres of award-winning tropical gardens. It features 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon-style pools, enjoy a cocktail or a variety of dining options at "Thirsty Flamingo Poolside Bar & Dining." Squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man-made beach. Please note - our "CLUB" Swim-up Bar operates seasonally until further notice. Other facilities include a fully equipped Conference Centre with a beautiful Garden Gazebo, perfect for any wedding or celebration. With a Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, and high-speed WI-FI, Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. It is easy to see why the Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure resort in the region.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Mini golf
Table tennis
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Street parking
Free wifi in the business centre
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Waterslide
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Czech, Filipino and 4 more
1042Reviews16Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 216
  • 368
  • 243
  • 129
  • 86
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
cindy648 wrote a review 16 Feb
Surrey, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We had a four night stay here in February from a Thurs to a Mon. On arrival the hotel looks amazing, very pretty. Our room was on the top floor and was one of the rooms not updated yet but it was fine, comfortable bed, clean and in a quiet location. Was nice to have 3 pools on site, we tried 2 of them. The cafe gave out swim towels whenever you wanted them. The swim up bar was closed for renovations. It was actually quiet in the hotel Thursday and Friday and then it picked up with lots of families over the weekend. The cafe was the highlight, fabulous food there, the pork belly asian salad was 10/10. Nearby we walked to the botanical gardens. My only suggestion would be to make the smaller pool an adults only pool as it gets very busy here with families.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Weekends are very busy with families so lots of kids
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ajj-76 wrote a review 8 Feb
Greater Perth, Australia16 contributions6 helpful votes
I travel through Cairns for work on a regular basis and until friends recommended this place, I would vary my choice of hotel for the overnight transit stay. This resort is conveniently located for the airport with spotlessly clean rooms and pleasant, professional staff. Nice food with efficient bar service and the city is only a short taxi ride away. Not sure I would stay during school holidays, as the large kid-focused pool is central to the bar and restaurant area, but I otherwise can't fault this resort and highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Samantha K wrote a review 6 Feb
4 contributions
I upgraded my room prior to arrival for a garden view and the room allocated overlooked a car park . I complained and was given another room , which I then had to carry my heavy suitcase and other luggage up and down staircases ( no lifts or porter to help ) to the next room quite a distance away . The next room did have a view but the patio doors don’t work . There are several pools with loungers but ZERO shade anywhere to be seen . Considering the weather is a burning 33 degrees it’s no wonder the pools are empty ! Where are the umbrellas they should be standard in this heat ?? The restaurant and pool bars are closed for some reason and I wasn’t aware prior to booking . So no I wouldn’t recommend this hotel !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Find a better hotel !!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mike B wrote a review Dec 2023
Melbourne, Australia7 contributions3 helpful votes
A cautionary tale: I can only speak to the business practices of this property not the resort itself. I made a booking via the Virgin (Rocket) platform in May (for a stay mid July) but cancelled on June 19. I was then charged in July ca.$140 for a "no-show". When I enquired as to why they said it wasn't cancelled, despite me having screenshots to prove it. They said the booking was "supported" by booking.com, nothing to do with them - i had zero correspondence with booking.com. At no stage did Rocket, booking.com or Colonial Club ever send me a booking/reservation reminder. Why not? What hotel does not send a reservation reminder? When I asked them to reconsider, I received a response which equated to "too bad, so sad". As neither Rocket, nor Booking.com, nor the hotel claims to be responsible for the booking, I have now lodged a complaint with the ACCC
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Responded 2 Jan 2024
Dear Mike When booking through a third party they sometimes on sell your booking, in this case they have on sold to booking.com, this is why we recommend booking direct. The booking was not cancelled by your agent, which resulted in a one-night charge for not showing up on the 16th July. When you contacted our reservations team on the 3rd August after not showing up we have offered a full refund as long as we receive a cancellation from your agent. To date we have not received a cancellation.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
holidays1111 wrote a review Dec 2023
Bundaberg, Australia75 contributions49 helpful votes
We found this resort to be a bit dated, it would have been fantastic in its heyday in the 80s though. Our room which was on the second floor was one of the 'better' or the upgraded rooms as we were informed by the staff member booking us in. As there are no lifts, I had to lug the heavy bags up the stairs as my husband was unable to help having had surgery 5 weeks earlier. We were not offered any assistance with the bags even after I explained this to the staff at the check in desk who seemed very uninterested. The Thirsty Flamingo poolside bar/dining restaurant and pizza cafe on site were the main attractions for us along with the 'quiet' pool area which was near our room. This resort is more geared up for families so that the kids can spend their time in the large pool while their parents can sit back and enjoy their drinks and still be able to keep an eye on their kids. I don't recommend this resort for couples but do recommend it for large groups travelling together or families. We had a hire car which was needed due to the resort not being close to Cairns main town centre. There are Uber drivers and taxi's readily available though. The plus for me was the daily room cleaning with nice fluffy white towels and tidy room when we returned from a days outing. Unfortunately, the bed wasn't comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you are a couple looking for a romantic getaway, this may not be the place for you.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Derek B wrote a review Nov 2023
New Zealand2 contributions
Excellent value. We are seniors, and this is basically a family resort, but we found it to be a very pleasant place to stay. Nice rooms, good staff, good facilities. So even if you are as old as us (late 70s), don’t assume it is unsuitable for you: it isn’t. A most enjoyable stay. If we are ever back in Cairns, we will stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We were here in November. Perhaps high season for kids is a bit different.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Simone A wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
A beautiful place immersed in a beautiful park that reminds the rain forest. Nice rooms well kept, daily maked up, smiling staff, great customer service! Highly recommended. Super family friendly too. The restaurant has good quality food and the pools are clean and child friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Davepick wrote a review Oct 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Noisy! This isn't the (self-proclaimed) 4 star hotel it claims to be. It's more of a Butlins without the funfair... Pontins? But the overall impression is, noise. Throughout the day there are hundreds of children running wild (literally hundreds, there were school trips booked in.) In the evening holidaymakers, seemingly feeling the effects of all day drinking, were shouting, singing and in one case fighting. But on the plus side, the room was clean and the bed comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Elias M wrote a review Sept 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed 6 nights at the superior room which is newly renovated and has a luxurious feel. The resort has 3 pools which are really nice. The food at the restaurant is very good and really affordable. Great service and special thanks to Matthew from the reception who made sure we had everything we needed. This hotel has a great value and will definitely be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Responded 13 Sept 2023
Dear Guest, It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a conscientious team who constantly strive to provide guests with a clean, comfortable and relaxing environment. While it’s true we are an older resort, we are widely known for offering excellent value for money. Thanks again for your comments and I wish you safe travels :-)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elaine C wrote a review Sept 2023
14 contributions2 helpful votes
We are a retired couple. Value for money. Friendly staff available all the time. Resort Room though small was quite comfortable and served it's purpose. Comfortable bed and room serviced daily made life so easy. Even though not near the main business district booking the Cairns Taxis was easy and they always turned up on time. Booked 3 tours with resort pick up for all. Added cost to the tours but far outweighed by the convenience of arriving at the tour start on time. Pink Flamingo food really good at pub prices. Poolside Pizzas were basic toppings so didn't go there much. A few families with kids but did not impact on our stay. Downside is that being out of town and with no hire car there are almost no options to dine out. Very few Cafes nearby within walking distance. Brothers Club within walking distance is expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Have heard school groups book in resulting in lots of kids around but that was not our experience
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Sales at Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Responded 13 Sept 2023
Dear Elaine, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are lucky enough to be not so far of the action of Cairns Esplanade but still 'tucked away' enough to make it feel like the hidden gem that it is. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cairns area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$110 - AU$136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cairns colonial club hotel cairns, cairns colonial hotel, cairns colonial resort
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
315
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CAIRNS COLONIAL CLUB RESORT (AU$110): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cairns Colonial Club Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Cairns Colonial Club Resort?
Nearby attractions include Cairns Botanic Gardens (0.8 km), Cairns Botanical Gardens (0.8 km), and Centenary Lakes - Cairns Botanic Gardens (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cairns Colonial Club Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Cairns Colonial Club Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cairns Colonial Club Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Cairns Colonial Club Resort?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cairns Colonial Club Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Samgasat Thai Cuisine, Cafe Matteo, and Brothers Leagues Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cairns Colonial Club Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cairns Colonial Club Resort?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Cairns Colonial Club Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cairns Colonial Club Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, Chinese, Japanese, Turkish, Czech, and Filipino.
Does Cairns Colonial Club Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.