We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

181 The Esplanade

181 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (68)
Room & Suite (36)
Pool & Beach (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#40 of 68 hotels in Cairns
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

181 The Esplanade is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Cairns, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Rooms at 181 The Esplanade offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a kitchenette providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

24 hour check-in, a concierge, and shops are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. A pool and barbeque facilities will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to 181 The Esplanade, free parking is available.

Nearby landmarks such as McLeod Street Pioneer Cemetery (0.3 mi) and St Monica's Cathedral (0.6 mi) make 181 The Esplanade a great place to stay when visiting Cairns.

Cairns has plenty of French restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like C'est Bon Restaurant Francais, Petit Cafe Cairns, and M Yogo, which are serving up some great dishes.

During your visit, be sure to check out Green Island (1.1 mi), which is a popular attraction within walking distance of the hotel.

Enjoy your stay in Cairns!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Beach
Airport transportation
Spa
BBQ facilities
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Car hire
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
180Reviews2Q+A60Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 60
  • 64
  • 32
  • 16
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Juliecotterill wrote a review Dec 2023
Polesworth, United Kingdom6 contributions4 helpful votes
Very disappointed.On arrival no reception so had to let ourselves in.Numerous things in apartment needed attention such as broken lampshade and numerous handle’s including front door handle.Misleading distance from main town and in order to walk back at night had to walk through unlit areas. Not worth the money ,but have to say it does have a great view from the apartment.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
neobyrth wrote a review July 2023
Holden, Massachusetts52 contributions16 helpful votes
Stay as long as you can in this delightful spot. The building itself was clean and secure. The apartment, specifically, was roomy, well maintained, and easily felt like home as soon as you walk in. Fantastic views of the ocean and mountains (and bats at sunrise!). This is on the north end of the esplanade, so it was a bit quieter but within a few minutes walk you are in the heart of the hustle and bustle of it all. I would recommend this spot highly to my friends.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The closest grocery store isn’t very big. Go to the one about a mile off for a big shop.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Peter T wrote a review June 2023
1 contribution
Awful. Plumbing issues, aircon malfunction, stained sheets, electrical issues, wifi issues. Drier fell off wall. Entrance hallway from carpark swarming with bugs at night. Intercom didn't work. We absolutely did not get what we paid for and the manager's response to our request for a partial refund was odd, claiming we were ungrateful and exaggerating. They seemed to think that the numerous problems were just opportunities to flex how well they can respond to problems and that we should be grateful and pay full price. But that's not what they advertised when we bought their product. Basically we got ripped off. They took out money and did not give the advertised product. An all-round unpleasant experience. Do not donate your hard earned cash to this place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eresort Cairns Team, Other at 181 The Esplanade
Responded 17 June 2023
Our records indicate that this guest booked a two-bedroom apartment for four people. However, during their stay, it came to our attention that six people were occupying the unit. This exceeded the maximum occupancy limit for the apartment and violated our policies. They rearranged the furnitures in the room to accommodate the additional guests, which resulted in a disruption to the apartment's layout. Additionally, our staff discovered significant mess left behind by the extra occupants, which required additional cleaning and restoration. we made two offers to relocate this guests to other available. But they declined both offers and instead attempted to negotiate a reduced rate of $120 per night by threating our team. We prioritize the safety and comfort of all our guests, and we have zero tolerance for any threats or abusive behavior towards our staff. It is regrettable that such behavior occurred during their stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vintage Lady M wrote a review Apr 2023
Bournemouth, United Kingdom13 contributions3 helpful votes
A really lovely appt in a nice quiet block. This is situated about a 20 minute walk from town centre however, this is a pleasant walk along the seafront on a boardwalk. Cairns is a vibrant town with plenty to do, however time spent in this appt is very relaxing. Our appt had two good sized bedrooms with two bathrooms, a fully fitted kitchen with a separate utility area with a washing machine and tumble dryer. The balconies overlook the bay and park area surrounding the boardwalk. There is a nice pool area too, though could do with more sun loungers available. We were able to check in early and leave our luggage until our room was ready. We would definitely stay again and look forward to returning in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rhonda R wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution
Horrible service - don’t bother……….. Weren’t helpful at all. Booked over the phone months in advance and when we arrived they hadn’t even booked up the room. So rude and couldn’t care at all So disappointing. Definitely won’t be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ddflash wrote a review May 2022
Sunshine Coast, Australia20 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed at this property for 3 nights in a 2 bed apartment and paid just under $800. We had booked an upper level apartment but were placed on the 2nd floor (apartment 10). The place was roomy and clean, although a little dated. Unfortunately on our first night we were woken around 11 pm with a putrid sewage smell that remained strong all night. It was so bad that we couldn’t sleep at all and spent time searching for dead animals as we weren’t sure if the plumbing could produce such a smell. We could also hear occupants in the apartment above going to the toilet. We complained the next day and were advised that this has happened before and it was explained away as an old building issue. A candle was placed in the apartment and the manager advised she’d put disinfectant down the drain holes etc. The 2nd night was better but the third night the smell was back again (although not as bad as the first night). We were disappointed to lose a whole night’s sleep and not be offered a move or compensation, particularly given we’d paid over $250 per night and had booked for a high level apartment. Wouldn’t book again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
terrybaileyemail@bigpond.com wrote a review Oct 2021
Adelaide, Australia14 contributions3 helpful votes
This is the sixth time we have stayed here. We have a lovely apartment overlooking the park and the water. It has all the amenities needed and never disappoints. It is very close to the city and right next door to the hospital! Lovely heated pool and spa and both Glen and Brad at reception always helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Snookystraveltips wrote a review July 2021
Australia15517 contributions349 helpful votes
We spent a short holiday in one of these apartments. Our allocated apartment was very spacious, clean, lovely views and had all the necessary items such as washing machine, clothes dryer, dishwasher, large kitchen, large bedrooms and bathrooms. The view out to the ocean and pool was lovely and there were two balconies to sit outside and relax. Parking was a lock up basement. There is lift access. I would recommend this apartment to anyone wanting self catering convenience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: try for rooms with a view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
261narelleg wrote a review June 2021
Sydney, Australia16 contributions1 helpful vote
nd kit hen are a bit tired, however beds and lounges are comfortable. Large rooms. All with builtins. Noise from extraction fans in laundry and both bathrooms, is a bit annoying as you cant turn them off, Pool and spa were great. Located down the quieter end of cairns on the esplanade. About a 20 min walk. Highly recommend. Would definitely stay there again,
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Johno wrote a review Apr 2021
4 contributions
We stayed in room 32 on level 8. Not as bad as made out in previous reviews. Great views, new kitchen and yes the rest of unit is a bit tired and needs some TLC but clean and functional. We were a bit concerned when we entered the lift and a sign was saying building work from 10-4PM over the school holiday period, were not advised of this when booking. Was lucky we were out most of time. Overall clean and tidy unit but does need a bit of TLC to get to 4 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cairns area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$199 - AU$325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
181 the esplanade cairns
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

181 THE ESPLANADE (AU$199): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Cairns) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about 181 The Esplanade
Which popular attractions are close to 181 The Esplanade?
Nearby attractions include Crackerbox Palace (0.4 km), The Reef Eye (0.3 km), and Opal Art Global (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at 181 The Esplanade?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at 181 The Esplanade?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at 181 The Esplanade?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at 181 The Esplanade?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 181 The Esplanade?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant, Cock & Bull, Cairns, and Tia's Cafe in Cairns.
Are there opportunities to exercise at 181 The Esplanade?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does 181 The Esplanade have airport transportation?
Yes, 181 The Esplanade offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at 181 The Esplanade?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at 181 The Esplanade?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.