We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Crystalbrook Flynn

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (214)
Room & Suite (57)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#9 of 68 hotels in Cairns
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Crystalbrook Flynn is the younger sibling to Crystalbrook Riley and Crystalbrook Bailey and like many younger siblings, Crystalbrook Flynn likes being the social butterfly and doesn’t mind showing off from time to time. Exquisite glass swimming pools facing the Esplanade to splash in is just one example of how Crystalbrook Flynn likes to engage. Staying with Crystalbrook Flynn is a stimulating experience. Crystalbrook Flynn likes to entertain our guests… not just accommodate them. Guests can be assured of truly dynamic food and drink experiences – there is always a DJ ready to play and a martini ready to be shaken (or stirred). Just steps from the Esplanade boardwalk, Crystalbrook Flynn enjoys modern living through attitude, design, technology and a passion for a better world – or what we call #responsibleluxury. That means no plastic straws, water bottles or guest-room key cards, using technology to reduce paper, providing large-pump amenities bottles (saving more than 250,000 plastic bottles each year) and partnering with Citizens of the Great Barrier Reef, TerraCycle, OzHarvest and Containers for Change. Crystalbrook Flynn likes to show off online too so, of course, fast and free Wi-Fi is available in all public spaces throughout the hotel. Each room and suite also has an Apple iPad control centre, Staycast by Google for video streaming, access to hundreds of complimentary movies and Nespresso machines (naturally with recyclable pods). A dining experience at Flynn is not simply a reflection of the local culture, but a representation of the ever-changing natural surrounds of Cairns. Featuring local flavours and a mouth-watering selection of cuisine, the culinary options are unsurpassed. Satisfy your carb-cravings with a hearty Italian spread at Flynn’s Italian, treat yourself with a divine high tea tower at Whiskey and Wine, or feast on a smorgasbord of tasty treats at Boardwalk Social. There’s something for everyone. The impressive assortment of local and imported wines offered at our distinguished on-site bars will leave you spoiled for choice, but if wine isn’t your thing, the creative cocktail concoctions will not disappoint.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Diving
Evening entertainment
Highchairs available
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
City View
Languages Spoken
English
202Reviews3Q+A53Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 121
  • 40
  • 28
  • 7
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
LisaMDL wrote a review Jan 2024
Adelaide, Australia2188 contributions631 helpful votes
There’s no doubt Flynn is aiming to be the most ‘hipster’ of the Crystalbrook hotels in Cairns. We weren’t attracted to it for that reason but because originally we were to be there for NYE so we wanted its view. It does have a far superior water view/outlook than its sister hotels. Things changed so we weren’t there NYE, but we still appreciated the view on other nights we stayed as we enjoyed drinks on the balcony - very pretty, albeit somewhat ‘man made’. Also nice when enjoying a coffee in the morning from the in room coffee machine, whilst watching the very early birds out walking….. you definitely want a view into the water/Esplanade at this hotel! The styling is 100% pitched towards ‘trendy’ women and dare I say it (and we are not THAT old) teeny boppers!!! Pink basically everywhere!!! I’m not sure anyone, however, teeny bopper or not, would appreciate the musty aroma on entering the room :| Ugh. Worrying already, for a new-ish hotel. Mind you, the pink robes ARE gorgeous and made of fabulous material …. just probably not for your average Joe Blow Man who wants to put on a robe after showering 👘!!! We wouldn’t return again but that’s not because we had any HUGE issues - Flynn wasn’t for us and a few things really did grate. First of all, because of celebrating an anniversary, they kindly comped a bottle of bubbles. Never look a gift horse in the mouth they say …..but the bottle was $10 RRP!!! Ha! A bit laughable in a $500+ a night (tiny!!!) room 😂 Our main gripe was car parking though - ridiculous and so disappointing how it was managed. We were given access to an open air parking space above the market (still paid for!!) despite ‘reserving’ the proper secure parking when we booked. It was full!!! We were to receive undercroft parking the next night apparently but no such luck. There needs to be far better management of car parking requirements and bookings. A final note: do sign up for ‘The Crowd’ as you might as well get 10% off at all Crystalbrook establishments when you are out wining and dining - be quick though, as the bar tenders will generate the bills before you have even a second to show your ‘membership’ to get the discount!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn
Responded 1 week ago
Hi LisaMDL, Thank you for taking the time to share your Flynn experience. I am sorry to hear that some aspects of the property did not suit your taste. Flynn is the youngest of the 3 Cairns siblings and is definitely a little bit more 'out-there' as a personality- "Fun and energetic, Crystalbrook Flynn is a social butterfly- the natural life of the party." I can understand that this might not be what you were looking for. Luckily you have Bailey or Riley to explore next time you are in Cairns. We value your feedback and appreciate that your parking was not on-site, it was still a reserved car space. I hope that you choose to return to Cairns and maybe give Flynn another opportunity or try Crystalbrook Riley or Bailey. Kind Regards, Jaydev Walia Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
marriott946 wrote a review Mar 2023
London, United Kingdom674 contributions272 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
What a great location on the Boardwalk. Quickly checked in but I found with two blocks I was easily confused. Great large room on level 7 facing the harbour and ferris wheel. Well supplied and spotlessly clean. Breakfast very good but we ate out at night. Staff unbelievably friendly. A great stay in a lovely hotel. Thank you Team Crystalbrook Flynn.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amar Maglic, Other at Crystalbrook Flynn
Responded 23 Mar 2023
Thank you for taking your time leaving such awesome review and I am thrilled to see that you loved your stay. How breathtaking is the view from our seaview rooms :) We cant wait to see you back again. Regards Amar Maglic Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ladini J wrote a review Jan 2024
Chicago, Illinois24 contributions10 helpful votes
Wonderful experience. Rooms were clean and well designed to be efficient with space. You get slippers, a reusable shopping bag and the tablet to order more towels and dining service was a breeze. For an American who stays almost entirely at Marriotts this was a wonderful and less expensive stay! Centrally located in Cairns (arguably the best location of the Crystalbrook options and Hiltons) couldn’t have asked for a better stay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Ladini, Thanks for sharing your Crystalbrook Flynn experience, i'm pleased to hear it was such a positive one! The in room technology really does make life easier, and the location is hard to beat. We are a long way from America but we hope to welcome you back in the near future! Kind Regards, Jaydev Walia Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
talltaff wrote a review Jan 2024
Singapore, Singapore1026 contributions245 helpful votes
+1
This was not a very pleasant stay. There was an air conditioning vent right outside the door to the room in the corridor and was incredibly noisy. The hotel had no other rooms available that we could move to so I had to go and buy ear plugs (which only helped a little bit) the next morning. We did not sleep well the whole stay. The room was also right by the housekeep closet which again was noisy in the morning and also messy as housekeeping left the door open and on couple of occasions blocked the door to our room with carts and equipment. Housekeeping also walked into our room without knocking one morning which was quite rude. No hand towels were provided which I found very annoying. The drinking chocolate in the room was put of date. The small room keys provided were annoying and easy to misplace. There is an app you can try than includes a room key but it didn't work for us. The app wasn't very helpful in any other way either. There was no view from the room. It looked on to a maintenance room. I liked the balcony which was useful when it wasn't raining but needed more furniture as only 1 chair was provided. Quite pathetic. The two pools were not heated and too cold in winter to use. We saw one family attempt to use a pool but gave up quickly. The breakfast buffet initially looked good but after 4 days it was the same offering with very little variety. Even though this hotel is located in an area abundant with tropical fruit the only fruit offered every day was apples and melon. That was really disappointing. Would not stay at a Crystalbrook again based on this experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi talltaff, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Crystalbrook Flynn. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations in a number of areas. Wherever possible we do try and arrange room moves to accomodate our guests. I will follow up on this to see why this was not possible during your stay. We value your feedback and your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments to see where improvements can be made. hope that you choose to stay with us again and give us the opportunity to provide a true 5 star experience. Kind Regards, Jaydev Walia Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kirstin D wrote a review Jan 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful views from our sea facing room of esplanade, Ferris wheel, ocean and national park, cool property but the service is what stands out most - left my computer behind and they called me right away and sent it in taxi to airport! Trip saver, thank you!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Kirstin, It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us at Crystalbrook Flynn and we were able to save you the hassle of chasing a laptop down during a holiday! We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Jaydev Walia Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GurusW🍷🍤 wrote a review Dec 2023
Sydney, Australia25408 contributions481 helpful votes
This was my first stay at Flynn, but my gazumteenth in Cairns. Purpose was post a resort island stay. What Flynn? Last year’s Riley didn’t cut the mustard, Flynn was getting good reviews and all my other Crystalbrook stays had been great Booking: snagged a special deal for a Seaview King. All online and easy Check In: Wow, bags carried for me. Process simple and previous other property issues acknowledged. Room: Unfortunately my tablet was flat, slightly off the charge point. Not a fan of the twins together as no topper. Why oh why? Nice little bottle of red as a welcome with a cute message on the mirror. High floor so nice and quiet. Rooms are not huge, but perfect for the stay. Pool: There are 2 and so many spaces to sit, lounge around. Love love love this. My early morning swim and read by the level 1 pool was perfect. Only issue was finding the towels. Also on this level are 2 guest showers. Perfect for that late flight. Huge shout out to Jayden who personally helped me find the towels Dining. Had planned to possibly do room service as I wasn’t up for a fancy meal. Boardwalk Social was a little too social for me. Ate just up the corner at YiaYias. Food ok, service good. Hadn’t really planned on doing breakfast but at $35 it was good value. No egg station but the poached egg was perfect and I was able to make my own version of a Benny. Coffee was still an auto machine, but was almost drinkable. Plenty of fresh fruit etc. Service was excellent Location: Yes, it is in a busy part of town, but views were great and it is convenient to a huge number of dining and shopping options. Stay again: Yes!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn
Responded 25 Dec 2023
Hi GurusW, Thanks for such a detailed review, definitely some valuable feedback there which we greatly appreciate. We take great pride in the service we provide so this recognition is very rewarding. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Jaydev Walia
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ferrid kheder wrote a review Dec 2023
San Diego, California33 contributions18 helpful votes
Our room was wide and clean with a comfortably furnished balcony. At anytime you can communicate with the front desk with a tablet. The shower,the wood floor,the coffee maker.... Everything is top notch! The location is perfect,close to everything,5 min away to the Esplanade. We will come back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn
Responded 25 Dec 2023
Hi ferridkheder, Thanks for the top notch review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Crystalbrook Flynn and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Jaydev Walia
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jellybellymelly wrote a review Nov 2023
Singapore, Singapore1026 contributions344 helpful votes
Stayed here for 5 nights - excellent in terms of location, there are many restaurants within walking distance, the esplanade boardwalk is right at the hotel, and you're 10+mins by foot to the fleet terminal and railway station (to take the train to Kuranda). Room was new, spacious, although the shower could be better (the bathroom is a little tiny and water gets everywhere after a shower). Loved that they had comfy bedroom slippers. Pilar (?) was very helpful - I had my flight cancelled just hours I was due to depart and she was sympathetic. They were quite strict about check out timings, but I managed to check out at around 1pm.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Flynn Management, Other at Crystalbrook Flynn
Responded 7 Dec 2023
Hi. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such an amazing review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your five nights with us in Cairns. I am thrilled to hear that Pilar was more than helpful and made your stay even better. We appreciate your feedback regarding the bathroom and will definitely pass along the information to the relevant department. We can’t wait to welcome you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ging466 wrote a review Nov 2023
Sydney, Australia552 contributions225 helpful votes
I had a sea king room on level 9 right in front of the ferris wheel. I loved the room and the view was fantastic. The room was comfortable, had a fantastic rain shower in the bathroom and a coffee machine & pods. The hotel does not accept cash anywhere so you must have a credit card. I stayed 2 nights and thought the location was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Flynn Management, Other at Crystalbrook Flynn
Responded 7 Dec 2023
Hi. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our modern facilities during your two nights with us at Flynn! We do have quite a spectacular sea view and we are glad you loved it. The Flynn team hopes to see you again in the near future XX.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dcgalesq wrote a review Nov 2023
Germany169 contributions79 helpful votes
+1
This is the best hotel in Cairns. It is newly renovated and super clean in every corner The large king bed provided me a restful sleep. The shower was perfect.....strong pressure and nice smelling soap. The aircon in the room worked perfectly. There are two pools and showers for those with late flights who want a quick freshening up. This hotel is a must stay before and after your liveaboard! The highlight are the staff! Every single person was friendly and helpful. The front desk team are excellent! They even greeted me by name (wow!). Beyond impressed by the team......5 star level of service and presentation of themselves. Do not hesitate......this is the best hotel in the city.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jaydev Walia, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn
Responded 25 Nov 2023
Hi dcgalesq, We take great pride in the service we provide so getting feedback like this is very rewarding. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is an honor to be your choice of hotel in Cairns and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cairns area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$229 - AU$307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Flynn, a Crystalbrook Collection Resort
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
311
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CRYSTALBROOK FLYNN (AU$229): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Cairns) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Crystalbrook Flynn
Which popular attractions are close to Crystalbrook Flynn?
Nearby attractions include Cairns Aquarium (0.3 km), Esplanade Boardwalk (0.06 km), and Cairns Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crystalbrook Flynn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Crystalbrook Flynn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Crystalbrook Flynn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Crystalbrook Flynn?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crystalbrook Flynn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Snoogies, Cruze Coffee, and Gelocchio.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crystalbrook Flynn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Crystalbrook Flynn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Cairns.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crystalbrook Flynn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Crystalbrook Flynn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Crystalbrook Flynn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.