We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Crystalbrook Riley

131 -141 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (962)
Room & Suite (295)
Pool & Beach (152)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#11 of 68 hotels in Cairns
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Crystalbrook Riley is a sophisticated character with a playful outlook on life. Guests can expect understated elegance, contemporary design and a splash of fun. At Crystalbrook Riley, we enjoy modern living through attitude, design, technology and a passion for a better world – or what we call #responsibleluxury. That means no plastic straws, water bottles or guest-room key cards, using technology to reduce paper, providing large-pump amenities bottles (saving more than 250,000 plastic bottles each year) and partnering with Citizens of the Great Barrier Reef, TerraCycle, OzHarvest and Containers for Change. Residing in a prime location on Cairns Esplanade, Crystalbrook Riley features 311 stylish rooms and suites. Each room features its own Apple iPad control centre complete with healthy-living apps, a 55-inch Smart TV, Staycast by Google for video streaming and access to an extensive range of complimentary recent release movies. Add to this a lagoon swimming pool spanning over 1,000 square metres with a private man-made beach, Eléme Day Spa, a 24-hour fitness centre and fast and free wifi, and you’re on your way to a truly great stay. When it comes to restaurants and bars, Crystalbrook Riley thinks differently. You’ll find engaging, social, vibrant spaces and a passion for innovation – all day, every day. Pop into Greenfields for a freshly made cold-pressed juice or head to the theatrical Paper Crane for wok-fried seafood or the perfect steak. For sweeping views and an atmosphere not to be missed, head to Rocco. Perfect for balmy nights, Rocco is perched 42 metres above sea level and offers share style food inspired by the Mediterranean along with a stellar Champagne menu, second to none. The property is an easy five-minute water-front stroll from the shopping, entertainment and business centre of Cairns.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Free public parking nearby
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bathrobes
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Radio
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
821Reviews16Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 519
  • 129
  • 76
  • 47
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Wilbur2000 wrote a review Feb 2024
Forster84 contributions38 helpful votes
The only thing is they advertise they have heated pools but they don’t! False advertising. The spa isn’t even heated! No matter what time of year it should be heated to a certain temperature. Last time I was there the pool was too cold and the spa was cold. When we complained they heated the spa on our request. Please heat the pool.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amar Maglic, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded 5 days ago
Hi Wilbur2000, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and hope you had a great time in Cairns. I appreciate the feedback regarding the pools - I apologize that you find the temperature too low. Please rest assured that our pool area is sitting at 28c throughout the year, and the spa pool at 31c. This is in line with council health and safety policy that we are obliged to follow. However I have forwarded your feedback to our engineering team to review. If you like to discuss this further please feel free to email me directly: amar.maglic@crystalbrookcollection.com We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back very soon again, Warm regards, Amar Maglic
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
April Louise D wrote a review Feb 2024
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom29 contributions12 helpful votes
Please don’t waste your money, We’re currently here and you may as well go with a hotel chain you already know and trust. We had our room half made up, strange. You’ll see on our picture, only half the bed was made 🤣 that’s all our room service consisted of, apparently ‘they were running behind schedule’ so you only get a bit of your room done. Poolside food and room service expect to wait an hour, when you’re travelling with a toddler, it’s very frustrating. Yes the hotel did give us a refund for some food and complimentary late check out, so they do try. But when you’re spending roughly £150-200 a night, in a hotel that claims ‘luxury’ it shouldn’t happen at all. The pool is really nice, and the location is spot on! It’s just a shame that everything else falls short.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t bother booking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amar Maglic, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear aprillouised, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Crystalbrook Riley, I'm glad you found the pool and the location to your liking. However I'm dissapointed to hear about the shortfalls. At Crystalbrook Riley, we are committed to delivering exceptional service, and I regret that we fell short of your expectations. We take your feedback as an opportunity to review and refine our processes to ensure a seamless experience for all our guests. If you feel that you like to discuss this further please dont hesitate to contact me directly on amar.maglic@crystalbrookcollection.com Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an improved experience in the future. Warm Regards Amar Maglic
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kimberley C wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Worst sleep we have ever had in a hotel. For some reason we were provided with 3 single beds for our family of 3. One was too uncomfortable to sleep on so had to try to push the other two singles together in the middle of the night to make more room but still got no sleep as the beds are on wheels and kept created a gap in the middle. We booked a double room so not sure why we were provided with 3 single beds.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amar Maglic, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Kimberley Cliff, Thank you for sharing your feedback surrounding your recent stay with us Kimberley. I'm sorry to hear that you had an uncomfortable sleep. I'm unsure about your feedback regarding the bedding - I have looked into your booking and confirm that you booked a twin room with additional rollaway bed. May I suggest one of our fabulous sea suites for your future stays that have a King/Twin room with additional options of sofa bed or rollaway bed. These are a little larger in space as well and have a separate living area to the bedroom. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Crystalbrook Riley soon again, Warm Regards, Amar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Brooke P wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
I love this place! We stayed for 2 nights in January and had the most relaxing stay. The pool and sunlounge area is perfect for just lounging around and sipping cocktails and the rooftop bar has great views over the harbour. Our room also looked over the water and was beautifully appointed and a had very comfy bed. All the staff were friendly and the hotel was very clean...only suggestion would be to have bigger cups in the room for making tea...otherwise perfect stay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amar Maglic, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear BrookepC2861BU, Thank you so much for your incredibly kind words! It warms our hearts to know that you found our services, room, pool area and fantastic rooftop bar Rocco to be amazing. The Crystalbrook Riley team works hard to provide a memorable stay, and your kind words are truly appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for another memorable stay. Warm Regards, Amar Maglic
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Moira B wrote a review Jan 2024
Adelaide, Australia3 contributions
Not family friendly. Don't go on a weekend. Because if there are any issues they can"t fix them. Mouldy curtains and light fittings. Also there are no restaurants at the Riley that cater for children on weekends.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amar Maglic, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 425moirab, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Crystalbrook Riley, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay, and I appreciate your honest feedback. At Crystalbrook Riley, we are committed to delivering exceptional service, and I regret that we fell short of your expectations. We take your feedback as an opportunity to review and refine our processes to ensure a seamless experience for all our guests. Please be advised that are all restaurants are Riley are family friendly and cater for little kings and queens. However I apologize if this was not communicated correctly to you. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an improved experience in the future. Warm Regards Amar Maglic
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Felice W wrote a review Jan 2024
Brisbane, Australia1 contribution
Excellent hotel close to all you need, quiet spot, clean great service, friendly helpful staff beautiful lobby, pool is great!!. Recommended cocktails by the pool too. Calypso bar is a new seafood and rum bar located on ground floor of the glass tower, excellent cocktails and service!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Fresh hotel with modern innovations.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amar Maglic, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded 18 Jan 2024
Dear felicew2024, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Crystalbrook Riley - Thrilled to hear that you tried our new popular Seafood and Rum bar: Calypso Club. Our team is committed to delivering five-star service, and it's fantastic to hear that you experienced it during your stay. Your satisfaction is our ultimate goal, and we're thrilled that we met your expectations. We genuinely appreciate your feedback, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again for another outstanding experience. Yours sincerely, Amar Maglic
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jade & Rick wrote a review Jan 2024
Cohuna, Australia29 contributions5 helpful votes
Lovely place to stay. Great pool and views. Great location, close walking distance to shops and eateries. Great facilities with bikes, restaurants and a beautiful day spa. Only negative is one night bar shut very early before 6pm and no poolside food or beverages available. Overall a great place to stay highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amar Maglic, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded 18 Jan 2024
Dear 334jadeg, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience during your staycation at Crystalbrook Riley. We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing week and that you also tried one of our wonderful treatments in Eleme Spa. We strive to provide a memorable and rejuvenating experience for our guests, and your feedback is a wonderful affirmation of our efforts. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another delightful stay in the future. Yours sincerely, Amar Maglic
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ivy B wrote a review Jan 2024
Singapore, Singapore273 contributions68 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for 5 nights in this hotel and had 2 rooms for me and my husband, and for my son and his fiancé. It was quite a modern trendy hotel. The pool was busy during peak hours and guests reserved the sun beds early so this was a bit of a struggle to get any. But the pool is open from 6 to 9 so there’s time to enjoy the facilities without it being too crowded. Breakfast was at Pepper Crane snd they had a good variety of food at the buffet. I have to say the coffee was not good but it was from the machine. Wifi was reliable. Overall it was a wonderful hotel, centrally located, with friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amar Maglic, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded 18 Jan 2024
Dear Ivy B, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience during your staycation at Crystalbrook Riley. We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing week with your family and that found staff friendly and helpful. We strive to provide a memorable and rejuvenating experience for our guests, and your feedback is a wonderful affirmation of our efforts. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another delightful stay in the future. Yours sincerely, Amar Maglic
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mg772022 wrote a review Dec 2023
9 contributions2 helpful votes
This is a very nice-looking hotel, but they are understaffed, and we had a problem with the second room we stayed in as the first room was an upgrade, but the bathroom was really small for two people. We then changed to a regular room on the day we checked in and experienced a problem with ants in the bathroom by the sink each morning. They wanted to change our room on the last night but by then it didn't make much sense (we only stayed 3 nights). The ant problem was minor in nature but still an issue. We had difficulty getting wash cloths each day and the service was sub-par in every area (restaurants; front desk; housekeeping, etc.) Good location.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Find another hotel in the area with better service and non-issues with pests (ants).
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amar Maglic, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded 31 Dec 2023
Dear mg772022, Thank you for dropping us a review surrounding your recent stay with us! Anything less than excellence is not really the Riley way so I apologize that we missed the mark on this occasion. If you like to discuss this further Please email me directly on amar.maglic@crystalbrookcollection.com Thank you again and we very much hope we get the pleasure of playing host to you again at Riley Crystalbrook or any of our other fantastic properties around the country Amar Maglic Riley Crystalbrook
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karen D wrote a review Dec 2023
Cairns, Australia162 contributions51 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel. Modern beach-like feel. Large pool situated on the Esplanade. Rooms are tastefully decorated. We ate at the Paper Crane restaurant, sampling the ‘feed me’ menu. This menu is Asian inspired tapas. Food and service was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amar Maglic, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Riley
Responded 24 Dec 2023
Thank you Karen, What a lovely review to receive and we truly thank you for taking a moment to provide us with this wonderful score and fabulous endorsement. We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate your kind words on the attentive service extended to you by our colleagues - we will be sure to pass your compliments on to the rest of the team I'm thrilled to hear that you got to experience the new ''feed me'' menu from Papercrane. Chef Jasper have worked hard and put in endless love into the menu and will be extremely happy to hear your comments. Thank you again and we very much look forward to having the pleasure of playing host to you again at Riley Crystalbrook on your next escape to Tropical Cairns I wish you a fantastic Christmas and a 2024 full of adventures! Amar Maglic Riley Crystalbrook
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cairns area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$240 - AU$327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
311
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CRYSTALBROOK RILEY (AU$240): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Cairns) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Crystalbrook Riley
Which popular attractions are close to Crystalbrook Riley?
Nearby attractions include Cairns Aquarium (0.3 km), Muddy's Playground (0.1 km), and St Monica's Cathedral (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crystalbrook Riley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Crystalbrook Riley?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Crystalbrook Riley?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Crystalbrook Riley?
Yes, free public parking nearby, a parking garage, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crystalbrook Riley?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gelocchio, Devine Gelato, and Yaya's Hellenic Kitchen & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crystalbrook Riley?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Crystalbrook Riley located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Cairns.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crystalbrook Riley?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Crystalbrook Riley offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Crystalbrook Riley have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.