We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Global Backpackers Waterfront

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Global Backpackers Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Global Backpackers Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

It was a very pleasant stay for me. The staff made sure I was happy and explained everything to me. They gave you a $9 voucher which really help if you are on a budget. I love the music blasting during the day time. The room are spacious, beds are uncomfortable which I let manager know on my way out....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cryssoue
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there cyrssoue, Happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us, sounds like you also benefitted from our $9 meal and drink deal. Always good to hear that our staff are doing a good job and that were able to enjoy your trips around the place due to the travel staff. We do have new mattresses in storage...

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Cheap accommodation, ideally located on the esplanade in Cairns. Rooms are not very clean and there is only small lockers to store valuables. Some staff are really helpful and you can leave things in the office if you go out for the day free of charge. I wouldn't necessarily stay there again but it is good if you are on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucia W
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments Lucia W. Happy to see that you enjoyed our cheap hostel, friendly staff, free luggage storage and of course our 5 star location. We always take any negative comments very seriously and will continue to try to improve our product in all areas. Hoping you enjoy the rest of your travels

Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night before leaving to come home. This was purely because Gilligans was fully booked. Friendly staff. Clean -ish rooms. Bathrooms could have been better, the shower ran hot water for about 5 minutes, if that. Rooms are very small and I stayed in a 6 bed dorm. No windows. Air con didn't work. But because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimiex
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi There Aimiex, Thanks for your review, glad we were able to help you if only for one night. I noticed that you actually stayed last October, we have had a new management team since Jan 2016 and have been continually striving to improve our product including all the areas that you pinpointed. Would love you to give us another...

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

This hostel is grim. While the staff are friendly and polite they really need to up their hygiene routine. Bathrooms are awful, rarely cleaned, hair everywhere, toilet paper on the floor (also really nasty, cheap toilet roll that splits easily) The beds are worn out and uncomfortable. Your given a pillow on check in, might as well have given you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Emma H Thank you for the review re your stay at Global Waterfront. We are sorry that you didn't appear to enjoy your stay with us. I read your comments regarding our cleanliness and I have to tell that that all of our common areas....kitchens, showers and toilets, TV lounge are cleaned 3 times every day and we take...

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights the room was clean and the air con was free!! The bed was comfy! The reception staff we really friendly and made you feel very welcome! You also got a meal voucher for a local pub every night you stayed!bThe only let down was you had to pay for wifi!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jhar1993
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there jhar1993 Many thanks for your review. Really pleased you enjoyed our clean, comfy, friendly hostel. Sounds like you had a good time with the discounted food and beers also. Hoping you enjoy the remainder of your time in Oz, please be sure to come and visit if you are ever back this way.

Reviewed 24 May 2016

This is located right in front of the lagoon/ Park area in the heart of Cairns. Short walk to anywhere worth going. Staff were friendly and helpful with any questions that we had. At the time i stayed they had a promotion where you can stay 4 nights for the price of 3 making it very cheap. Good vibe in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jake A
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there Jake A Thank you for taking the time to tell us that you enjoyed your stay at Global Waterfront. Pleased you were able to take advantage of our Pay 3 Stay 4 special. Hoping you enjoy the remainder of your time is Australia and if you come back to Cairns please be sure to come back to Global...

Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

This lady at the front desk, scammed us of the trip to Nossa brush camp, don't fall for it. As it is a hoax and not worth doing at all. Waste of pure money and time. Don't book anything with this hostel. And don't fall for them so call "vouchers", not worth getting.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia S
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Patricia S Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the experience you had with the travel desk in our building. Firstly I should tell you that the desk is run by an independent agency and therefore we have very little control over what is sold there. Having said that obviously your complaint has stemmed from...

Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and me were there for 4 nights. The rooms are under the average and the toilets dirty but its ok for the money you pay for it. Most of the staff are super friendly. The only and quite big problem we had was our last morning. The staff cleaned the fridges the night before we left. As we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luciano C
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Luciano Many thanks for your comments, not quite sure what you may comparing our average rooms and dirty toilets against. Whilst we have a very old building, (in a 5 star location) please don't confuse old with dirty. You very kindly mentioned our friendly staff and I can assure you that as much care is taken with cleanliness as...

Birmingham
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 separate nights either side of a Great Barrier Reef overnighter. The first night we arrived at half 8 on the greyhound and were gone again at 7:30 the next morning. It is perfectly located for both the bus stop and for the marina. The room we had was inside, with just a window over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saintstatto
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Saintstatto, Thank you for your review, we have been working very hard over the last few months to improve our product at Global Waterfront. As correctly pointed out we try and stick to the formula of cost x location x cleanlines x friendly staff = good value for money. Please enjoy the remainder of your stay in Australia.

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

This is one of the cheapest options in Cairns cant understand why people are complaining! You get cheap meal deal vouchers for a local restaurant, the staff are super helpful, its right next to the lagoon and coffee shops and the night market, they offer discounts on tours etc. The kitchen was very clean and you can borrow utensils etc...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatieAndTomRogers
GlobalCrew, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Katie and Tom Thank you so much for your kind words, it is always extremely frustrating to read comments from certain people comparing us to so called "Flashpackers" who don't seem to understand the differences in cost and quality of the building. Very refreshing to find someone who writes feedback based on the actual experience as opposed to a...

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
334 reviews
0.2 km away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#50 of 85 in Cairns
45 reviews
0.2 km away
Global Backpackers Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.1 km away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
0.1 km away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Waterfront

Address: 67 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Waterfront 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Global Backpackers Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Backpackers Waterfront Cairns, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Global Backpackers Waterfront staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Global Backpackers Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just tell them if you want anything change”
cryssoue, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“if travelling in a pair, private room with the '4nights pay for 3' deal will give you dorm bed prices for a private room.”
, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“choose another hotel.”
deanlin2015, 25 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Be aware that none of the Single Rooms have any Windows.”
AlexP-WoyWoy, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“3rd floor - it is a lot of stairs. Stay on the second if possible :)”
25caityh, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Hotwire.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates