We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Joe's Place Backpackers

Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
390 Upper Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000 Australia See on map
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfasthome away from homeper nightcoleshosteldormcleanerssleep
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

It’s in construction, is very very dirty and a lot of noisy! The people work and live in the backpackers is not polite, and the reception is in the next door, the water is not hot and the toilets and shower is very destructed!!! The...More

Thank Samuporelmundo
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

This backpackers has a good location close to the city centre BUT it's such a terrible place... dirty, smelly, loud, old... the room we first got did not even has glas in the window so everyone could climb in and steal your stuff... really really...More

1  Thank Ann-Kristin G
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Cheapest in Brisbane... Pros: Internet, access to the hostel next doors facilities and bar. This would be a great choice if you want to drink late into the night every night, it's not a great choice if you want to get some sleep or have...More

Thank entmarch
Reviewed 25 October 2017

the manager and staff at this place is extremely rude and aggro - standing over people and treat them badly. They shouldnt be working there and treating people like that. The manger want us to do something illegal and we refused - he flipped and...More

3  Thank amis80
Response from Joes_Management, Front Office Manager at Joe's Place BackpackersResponded 17 November 2017

Very vague on details here - what are you claiming you were asked to do and we can look in to it? Thanks, Joe's Team

Reviewed 26 September 2017

Stayed here for around a month as the price was really good - stayed here with my boyfriend and had two bunk beds. We left all our belongings on one of the bunk beds one day and came home from a 12 hour shift to...More

4  Thank emmaduffy94
Response from Joes_Management, Front Office Manager at Joe's Place BackpackersResponded 17 November 2017

Hi Emma & Jordan, it's a shame you didn't comply with our requests to use your mattress protector on the spare bed, to protect it from any damage from your belongings. That is why your items were removed to our storage crate (not the bins)....More

View more reviews
Joe’s Place Backpackers is a brand new backpackers opening in the heart of Brisbane in mid October 2015. We offer Female, Male and Shared dorms for $15 a night. Located less than 500 meters from the Brisbane ...More Transit Centre and Roma Street Train Station we offer highly competitive rates and comfortable accommodation for your stay in the Sunshine state. Less
Hotel Amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport Transportation
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
Price range
USD 22 - USD 50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Joe's Place Backpackers Brisbane, Queensland
Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)
Nearby HotelsSee all 173 hotels in Brisbane
Gambaro Hotel Brisbane
835 reviews
.24 km away
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
1,294 reviews
.36 km away
Abbey On Roma
372 reviews
.62 km away
Transcontinental Hotel
18 reviews
.65 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 5,115 restaurants in Brisbane
Enzo & Sons
6 reviews
.23 km away
Libertine Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
440 reviews
.12 km away
512 reviews
.24 km away
Brewski Bar
74 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 823 attractions in Brisbane
State Library Of Queensland
515 reviews
.76 km away
Gallery of Modern Art
2,142 reviews
.66 km away
Suncorp Stadium
1,484 reviews
.35 km away
Brisbane Arts Theatre
198 reviews
.55 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Joe's Place Backpackers staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Currently running a happy hour, if you pay between 9-10am then it only costs $12 per bed per night!"
Read review
"Possibly more comfortable getting a smaller dorm,but I'm unsure if there's any private rooms but for..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing