We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,793 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges South Bank Brisbane
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,767: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We stayed at this hotel for the opening of the Brisbane Festival, which was very convenient, being only a short stroll away. The check-in experience as ok, but there was only one staff on the desk at a busy time, but they were friendly enough, albeit a little light with info and we felt a little rushed on. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Jason H, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. Please accept my apologies that the check in and check out process was not to our usual standard. I have passed on your feedback to our Rooms Division Manager so that we can ensure our service standards are met each time. We are,...

Outback Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2015

We were given a lovely spacious room with a balcony. The bed was very comfortable and everything we needed was within a short walking distance. Our room and balcony had a fairly nice view over the pool area but the noise from squealing children might disturb some. I felt really at home and comfortable here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zanjabeel
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Zanjabeel, Thank you for the kind feedback from your stay. I am glad to read that we were able to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel is located in an enviable location in the South Bank precinct, close to many great shops, restaurants and entertainment areas. We look forward to welcoming you back to hotel again soon....

Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Stayed here for one night. Check in was quick and simple. We got upgraded from a Mountain view room to a water view room without asking. (Very nice of them, thanks). We where on the 4th floor as such, our view was obscured but the river view was still visible at an angle. The room was large, consisted of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DazzaMeg
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear DazzaMeg, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We are always happy to provide accommodation upgrades where possible to our guests and I am glad that we were able to give you this upgrade for your stay. We are all...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Great location and the service and food was fine however rooms and other amenities are very tired and being an old building there seems to be very little in the form of noise suppression. The carpets in the hallways are so thin that every footstep, every door open and close and every conversation echoes throughout. The housekeeping staff start banging...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mike_not_home
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear mike_not_home, Thank you for your feedback from your stay. We are all excited to announce that the hotel will be undergoing a complete renovation to its guest rooms and suites, starting later this year. This upgrade will breathe new life into the hotel and will showcase what the Rydges brand has to offer. This upgrade will also bring the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 September 2015

We have stayed at Rydges Sth Bank on a number of occasions. The location is great, but the property is a little tired. The entrance/lobby is not clean with soiled furniture and the room maintenance is poor. The staff are great and the food is good, just need to update the property

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Richard W, Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay. I am glad to announce that the hotel will be undergoing a complete renovation to its guest rooms and suites, as well as an update to some of the public areas in the hotel. This upgrade will bring the design and style of the hotel in line...

A TripAdvisor Member
Mackay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

Took 3 deliveries of room service to get order right after giving away part of the meal to another room. Food was disgusting & expensive. I was part of a Group booking & there was confusion on check in by staff & on check out they lost the charges authority & expected everyone to pay. Also opted to do the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear A TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I would like to apologise for the experience that you had with our room service and front desk service. I have passed on your comments to the Food and Beverage Manager and the Rooms Division Manager so that we can take steps...

Atherton
Reviewed 3 September 2015

We travelled from Ireland and got in at 7am. We requested early checkin as we were extremely tired. A pleasant surprise and our room was ready. Checkout next day was 11am which was great also. We left refreshed after a sleep and a quiet night out at the local restaurants. Will certainly return again for the convenience, location and great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tablelander
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Tablelander, Thank you for your kind feedback from your stay. It is fantastic to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We endeavour to be able to have rooms available to our guests at all times and we understand that international travel is demanding. I am glad that we were able to have a room ready for...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

Rydges is in a great location near South Bank. Ask for a quiet room if you are staying on a Saturday or Sunday night as the bar can be noisy. Lovely restaurant called Bacchus on site. Staff all very professional and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank XOX140
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear XOX140, Thank you for your kind feedback from your stay. The hotel is located in a fantastic location in the South Bank precinct and has many great restaurants, attractions and entertainment venues mere moments from our front doors. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Rui Ozorio Hotel Duty Manager

Dalby Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

The location was perfect for the conference I was attending. The room was comfortable and the bed was very good. The views from the balcony was great. Close to Southbank Parklands with many eating options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ampster
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Ampster, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel occupies an enviable location within the South Bank precinct and is close to many of Brisbane's iconic eateries, entertainment venues as well as the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre. We...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Checked in early and asked for quiet room as hotel located on train line Said I will comeback at home. Checked in and asked if quiet room. Yes of course was the response Allocated room close to lifts and in train line Obviously they do not care and u are just a number

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rodney G
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Rodney G, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. Please accept my apologies for the allocation of your room during your stay. All our standard queen rooms are located on the Western side of the building, and I can see that we have placed you in a room on the eighth floor...

492 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (440)
Viewed
View from Room (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (143)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (129)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.7 km away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#48 of 166 in Brisbane
576 reviews
0.5 km away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#136 of 166 in Brisbane
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.9 km away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#15 of 166 in Brisbane
1,549 reviews
0.7 km away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#46 of 166 in Brisbane
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bacchus
Bacchus
Cuisines: European, Australian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: $158 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Queensland
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#46 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges South Bank Brisbane staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Surfers Paradise, Australia
over a year ago
Brisbane, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges South Bank Brisbane staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You pay extra for river views.”
 of 5 bubbles annbarnes220, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the rive & city”
 of 5 bubbles ozpuddle, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upgrade if you can and also a river side room as the train can be noisy on the lower levels.”
 of 5 bubbles Megzi18, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors looking towards the river views”
 of 5 bubbles JulieK811, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“go for city views on a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles OneWorld22, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay