We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ellie's Guesthouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ellie\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It is hot this time of yr in Brisbane and no air conditioning in room (just cheap fan) & no TV. Paid a lot of $ for room. Mgr. wants u to take out your own trash which is ridiculous. Not recommended!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinbad G
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Yes it is hot in Brisbane during the summer months, and the week you were here was extreme temperatures. It is a shame that you didn't utilise both doors in your room and open them up to also allow some afternoon breeze to come...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

I booked this place as I had enough of hostels after 5 weeks of travelling. Staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do anymore for me. Place was nice and clean, quiet, close to the shops. River walk is about a 10 mins walk away and is definitely worth a walk into the city or you can get the free ferry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Thank you for your kind words. As management we are very lucky that we love our job and love the property. We wish you all the best in your travels.

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

This is an old building that's not in perfect condition and the rooms are very basic, but in a funny way, that's the charm of the place. Makes you feel like your staying at a friends place and that's the way the staff treat you. It's located perfectly with bars, restaurants and supermarket all within 100 metres plus bus stop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merde-man
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Had a friend recommend me Ellie's Guesthouse in the heart of New Farm for friends and family members coming to stay from NZ when we were at capacity. Rooms varied from court yard, self contained, self serve type arrangements. All were clean and tidy and rates varied too pending on the length of stay. Host Jacque and Nala were friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichelleGrayOnTour
Reviewed 6 April 2016

I had a few nights good rest at Ellie's, this is a pretty place with welcoming staff. They could tell me what i should see and do, and gave good advice. they were also flexible and could prolong or shorten my stay, and they answered both on sms and e-mail. I did not meet with many other of the guests,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A9ta_1
Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. It is always our pleasure to assist guests and we hope to welcome you back one day.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We arrived very late at night and they let the lights and the fan on for us, made us immediately feeling 'Home'. The staff is justgreat, helpful, knowledgable, the location close to bus, ferry and supermarkets, what else does a traveller need?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wolfx9
Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we think the location is fantastic and convenient to everyone. Enjoy your travels around Australia and if you end up back in Brisbane would love to hear about your stories from your adventures. :-)

Beerfelden, Germany
Reviewed 7 March 2016

The location, the Queenslander style-building, the facilities in my room as well as in public areas, the green space and terrace, the free Wifi system, the surrounding area, the comfortably firm mattress, the ladies running the guesthouse....to name but the things on top of my head and not to forget the affordable price it is all offered for, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 328ellen
Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Your comments are lovely, thank you and look forward to welcoming you back.

Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed 2 March 2016

An unpretentious pleasant relaxing place to stay with friendly hosts. The room was clean with all basic necessities. Set back from the road in attractive garden surrounds Ellie's Guesthouse is in an excellent location - just short bus ride into town, or a stroll to the delightful New Farm Park & Brisbane Powerhouse.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank verityh432
Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, the area is brilliant area (like a hidden secret and so close to everything) You are always welcome to stay when you in Brisbane.

Noosaville, Australia
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Overall a comfortable place to stay, near to the city, clean & tidy and close to all amenities. Was only there for 3 nights and had to go into the city on those days, so really appreciated the convenience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank msydne_134931
Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are pleased you found you stay so convenient to the City. We think it is perfect spot and allows you so many options to get to the City. Your not short of choices between walking, City Cat or the free City Hopper, bus at the front door or and easy cycle. Suitable for everyone.

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Tiny room, No Air Cond, No Soap, No Shampoo or conditioner, very Poor Customer service, Rang 3 times no answer and rather calling back sent a text message, No power for the whole night, Rooms and Building overall are in very poor condition, may collapse anytime, I am not even sure it meets legislative requirements, Windowns are workplace helath and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ryan109
Elliesguesthouse4005, Manager at Ellie's Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments, whilst we do welcome feedback. We do feel the need to respond and clarify your inaccuracy. Interesting that you claim you had no power when the light was left on in your room when we entered the following morning. Also one would question, if you had no power all night why you wouldn't advise us?...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.8 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.6 km away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
2.3 km away
Annie's Shandon Inn
Annie's Shandon Inn
#7 of 65 in Brisbane
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Kirkland House Bed & Breakfast
3.6 km away
Eton Bed & Breakfast
Eton Bed & Breakfast
#45 of 65 in Brisbane
68 reviews
1.9 km away
One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the beautiful suburb of New Farm, just 2.5 km from Brisbane city centre, the family-run Ellie's Guest House offers quiet and peaceful accommodation in a large 2-storey heritage house. Ellie's Guest House is a 10-minute drive from Roma Street train station. It is a 20-minute drive from Brisbane Domestic Airport. Steve Irwin's Australia Zoo and the Gold Coast beaches are both a 1-hour drive away. All rooms have a wardrobe, bedside table and desk. Each room has a kitchenette with microwave, mini refrigerator, sink, toaster, kettle, cutlery and crockery. Bed linen is supplied. Facilities include a shared veranda, self-contained communal kitchen and coin-operated laundry. New Farm shopping centre, with great shops, cafes and restaurants, and the renowned New Farm Park and Brisbane River are all within a 5-minute walk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ellie's Guesthouse

Address: 124 Merthyr Rd, Brisbane, Queensland 4005, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Price Range: $41 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ellie's Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Ellie's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellie's Guesthouse Brisbane, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ellie's Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
British Columbia, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ellie's Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i would recommend the double room”
 of 5 bubbles A9ta_1, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Warmer heaters in Winter - I say this having come from 40 degrees straight into the Australian windy winter.”
 of 5 bubbles daviddcd, 25 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The nicer rooms are off the front balcony near the manager's office. Some sporadic Wi-Fi reception available in these rooms also.”
 of 5 bubbles Aussie_in_Europe_9, 27 May 2015 | Read review
“Best shower downstairs”
 of 5 bubbles jarnol879, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Just let them know what you want - no one is a mind reader!”
 of 5 bubbles royalmarine, 31 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay