We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

George Williams Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
George Williams Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for George Williams Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 398: English reviews
Ipoh, Malaysia
Reviewed 24 September 2015

I stayed here for 1 night on my way to Fiji for a holiday and 1 night on my way home to Malaysia. This place gives the best value-for-money accommodation for its location in the Brisbane CBD. From here, it is walking distance to Queen Street Mall, Eagle Street Pier where there are some nice restaurants, to the Southbank, etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wei Bing L
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wei Bing L, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the team at George Williams Hotel pride themselves on our friendly, home away from home, culture. Our high standard of cleanliness and central location provide great value for money, and some of our room...

Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Stayed with the old man who made all the booking details. Nice to know it's still the usual clean rooms with decent beds. Only downside was the power outlet near my bed wasn't suitable for the charger I used (human error rather than design fault maybe) so had to use the bathroom outlet. Central location very useful for overnighters. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MHJeffrey027
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MHJeffrey027, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. Guests love staying with George Williams Hotel, as we are in a well sought after location in the heart of Brisbane CBD, only minutes walk to the mall, South Bank, and Roma Street Station. Our cleanliness has a very high rating and our popular restaurant,...

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

I haven't stayed here for a little while, but my experience is the same - consistently good. Always a friendly greeting on check-in, the room is always clean and well-stocked. If you are simply looking for a comfortable bed in a great location, this is the place. Just a short walk from Roma Street Station, Queen Street Mall, with lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gail M, Thank you for staying with us again and for sharing your comments with other travellers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you keep returning to our hotel. The team at George Williams Hotel pride themselves on our friendly, home away from home, culture. We are happy to help with luggage and our...

Nerang, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Bedroom very small, better for one than two people. Bathroom very good. Staff excellent and helpful. Clean and well stocked. I attended course near hotel. For someone looking for central and affordable hotel it is well priced. However room for sleeping and shower only not for anyone looking to spend time in room. For me, I attended a course so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine N
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine N, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. We appreciate you booking through our own website, we have great deals including WIFI and some including Breakfast as well. Our rooms do have limited floor space, hence this is reflected in our price. Guests love staying with George Williams Hotel, as we are...

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

The actual room was quite pleasant, decent size, desk for working, decent TV etc. The main problem is the walls in my room must have been made of paper. I had large groups of people in rooms on both sides laughing and joking loudly and you could hear every word. I had business meetings the next day and wouldn't ever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 415GerardC
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 415GerardC, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room and your experience in our popular restaurant. 325 on George have delicious meals and great value specials for each meal. Our sincerest apologies regarding your noisy neighbours. Please contact Reception at any time if you are...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Spent two nights here, staff are friendly, and the location central (Right around the corner from King George Square). Room was clean, but not overly large. It's not a lavish place, but I was perfectly happy with my stay, and personally think it's very good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drex Z
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Drex Z, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and experienced good value for money, the team at George Williams Hotel pride themselves on our friendly, home away from home, culture. Our rooms do have limited floor space, hence this is reflected...

Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

The rooms are friendly,clean and modern. The bathroom is well equipped. The price is affordable and good for the quality. Luggage can be stored, even for several days.The staff is very helpful. The hotel is well located and near the Queenstreet (3 minutes).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelwomanlux
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear travelwomanlux, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. The team at George Williams Hotel pride themselves on our friendly, home away from home, culture. We are more than happy to store guest bags on the same day, but for security reasons we can only store them overnight if you have another reservation for...

Caloundra, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We stayed at the George Williams Hotel for the weekend. The room was clean but incredibly small. For example the bathroom door just skimmed the toilet seat so you had to stand out of the way to shut the door. But the location is perfect as it is so close to everything in the heart of the City. Unfortunately we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SunshineCoasters2014
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SunshineCoasters2014, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in your clean room with our hard to beat location in the heart of the city. Sorry to hear that you had a noisy neighbour, please contact Reception at any time if you are experiencing noise...

Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Handy Location and right next to a supermarket. Restaurant down stairs does great food at a fair price. Rooms are very small and you can hear the people above you easy, but hey it's a cheap hotel in the CBD. Parking is $23 downstairs but has limited space and I would hate to have a big car it is so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess G
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jess G, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the team at George Williams Hotel pride themselves on our friendly, home away from home, culture. Our rooms do have limited floor space, hence this is reflected in our price. Guests love staying with George...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We really just needed a place to sleep in the middle of the CBD of Brisbane. We were so happy we chose the George Williams Hotel. On booking, I mentioned we were in Brisbane for a special occasion. We were delighted to be upgraded to a Queen Terrace Room and have breakfast included. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patsywaller
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patsywaller, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we could contribute to your special occasion. Our cleanliness is 5 star and we believe our experience is good value, especially considering our location in the heart of the city. We hope to welcome...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#57 of 162 in Brisbane
1,495 reviews
0.6 km away
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Hotel
#64 of 162 in Brisbane
1,379 reviews
0.4 km away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#50 of 162 in Brisbane
1,650 reviews
0.2 km away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.7 km away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#49 of 162 in Brisbane
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
George Williams Hotel has undergone an extensive, $2.5 million dollar refurbishment of all 103 room. Offering visitors to Brisbane an affordable contemporary accommodation. Located in the heart of the Brisbane CBD (Central Business District), George Williams Hotel is just a 5-minute walk to Roma Street Train Station, Treasury Casino and the shops and boutiques of the famous Queen Street Mall. George Williams Hotel is a 15-minute walk from Southbank Parklands which features the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, and QLD Museum. Suncorp Stadium is also just a 15-minute walk away. All rooms at George Williams Hotel include TV and en suite bathrooms. Each room is equipped with a work desk, refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. Reception is open 24 hours. The hotel offers daily breakfast packages, available 7 days a week. The on-site restaurant, 325 on George, offers casual indoor and outdoor dining, and features a variety of international dishes. Guests can enjoy a wide selection of beers and wines at the bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about George Williams Hotel

Address: 317 - 325 George St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: $87 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — George Williams Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your George Williams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Williams Brisbane
George Williams Hotel Brisbane, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from George Williams Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from George Williams Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no comment except do not take the room next to lift”
 of 5 bubbles looichris3, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher levels are away from any traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles BrianW868, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“call them.”
 of 5 bubbles Janakan_K, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Didn't have a view, but didn't need one. Needed a clean room & advice on getting around . Good value for money.”
 of 5 bubbles feon_nielsen, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask the reception staff”
 of 5 bubbles paulines657, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5