We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane

103 George St, Brisbane, Queensland 4001 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (269)
Room & Suite (105)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

AU$138
AU$138
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#95 of 165 hotels in Brisbane
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Great Southern Hotel Brisbane (formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George) offers a variety of fully refurbished standard and executive rooms in the heart of Brisbane's CBD (Central Business District). Each of our 99 rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a refrigerator, tea/coffee making facilities, flat-screen TV’s, an iPod dock and a work desk. Whether for business or leisure, you will appreciate having the best of Brisbane at your doorstep as we are a short walk from the exciting Treasury Casino, Brisbane City Hall, the Botanic Gardens, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parkland. Also, The Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Center, Suncorp Stadium and the Gabba are within easy reach of the hotel. Highlights at this hotel include 24-hour reception, a restaurant and secure parking is available at an additional cost (Subject to availability).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
1619Reviews12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 312
  • 639
  • 371
  • 171
  • 126
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Phillip B wrote a review Oct 2023
Miami, United States83 contributions48 helpful votes
This hotel is just a 5 min walk to the Queen Street Mall and also very close to the Treasury Casino. I arrived at about 2:00pm (the set check inn time), but a large tour group was also trying to check inn. So I let my luggage and came back latter. My room was located on Level 12, and at the back of the building. As the hotel is opposite a construction site, it was wise to have a room facing the back of this building. The view is nothing exceptional - just a small courtyard with taller buildings surrounding the hotel. The room was very spacious with a comfortable sofa-chair and lamp to view the TV (from a distance). The internet was hit and miss. There are two connections. One free with lower internet speeds and another network for $5 with higher speeds. I was given access to the higher speed network for free when visiting the reception for voucher. Some times the internet connection was exceptional but often it dropped out and you have to reconnect several times. The bathroom was very modern and shower was fulled enclosed with glass door, rather than a shower curtain. However, note there are two issues with the bathroom. The toilet is not accustomed too much paper, and was often blocked. (fortunately there is bathroom brush provided to unblock the toilet). Secondly, there seems to be some problem with the drain under the sink, that was letting water in to the bathroom floor. Hap to mop up the wet floors, using towels, which I put over the drain. Despite these problems, I would still recommend this hotel. It represents good value for money in a prime location.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Get a room facing the back of the building, not the front street.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Coordinator, Other at The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane
Responded 19 Dec 2023
Dear Felipe, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We take each guest review seriously- unfortunately in your case- we cannot find your booking details, which is why we cannot identify the room you had booked. We are happy to announce that we have renovated some of our rooms and bathrooms, and took notice of those which need major repair. We hope you can visit again soon to see how we have improved since the last day of your stay. Thank you and have a wonderful day! Kind regards, Kaye The Great Southern Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alsionbower wrote a review Sept 2023
Cairns, Australia11 contributions4 helpful votes
One night stay for business. Great location close to food and bars, about 15 min walk from Central train station. The self checkin kiosk was a little frustrating but staff were on hand to assist. Room was basic but very spacious and the beds comfortable, the block out curtains very handy. There was construction noise which was a little intrusive. The aircon is very old and I couldn't get it to cool, which was annoying.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Patricia C wrote a review June 2023
Hong Kong, China105 contributions42 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights so it's good that this hotel is very conveniently situated. We took the Airtrain from Brisbane airport to the Central station in an evening. It was a bit of walking but on well-paved padestrian path so pushing a large luggage on wheels was fine for us. On the one night that we needed to park the car, we found a street space nearby that needed to be cleared by 7am the next morning (but did take some time to find), so saved the parking fee there.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michele C wrote a review June 2023
1 contribution
The staff were friendly and the lobby was nice and clean. That’s about the only nice thing I can say. The hallways looked like they were in a place that you could rent by the hour and the room didn’t get much better. The shower head was broken, the towel hooks on the back of the door had fallen off, the lamp was broken and the power points made me very nervous. The overall feel of the room was completely depressing! Thankfully we were in brisbane to see a comedy show so we tried to see the humor in the fact that the hotel was so terribly awful you had to laugh. I know this is a budget hotel, but we have stayed in plenty of other hotels in the same area around the same price that were infinitely better! Would NEVER stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Just steer clear! The photos on the web site are VERY misleading!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mag A wrote a review Apr 2023
Emerald, Australia14 contributions3 helpful votes
Great location, unfortunately surrounded by construction sites noisy day and night Cheap linen and bad cleaning. Had to wipe the windows myself to enjoy the great view on the river. Hard to access to the car park which is very low so don't come with your surfboards on a roof rack or you'll get stuck ... Wouldn't recommend for a long stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Wigan, Other at The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane
Responded 30 Apr 2023
On behalf of The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sincerely sorry to hear about your recent booking experience with us. Thank you for bringing this up to our attention. Please know that we will raise this to the management to improve our services and facilities. Thank you for staying with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Darren C wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Cannot recommend this motel enough! Beautiful river view. Very comfortable bed. The location is fantastic, walking distance to many of the Brisbane CBD attractions and plenty of convenience stores at the doorstep. Delicious breakfast available, very good for the price! The service from the staff is exceptional. We are very happy with our 2 night stay and will return if we ever come back to Brisbane. We arrived to an unexpected upgrade to a beautiful spa suite and it was the best spa and view from our room we have ever experienced in a motel and we have traveled Asia and Australia! You won’t be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Wigan, Other at The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane
Responded 11 Apr 2023
We appreciate the high ratings you have provided for the Great Southern Hotel Brisbane. In addition, we feel grateful about the pleasant experience that you had in line with the location and the nearby amenities of the city. Please allow us to share that we have always been mindful of the guest's convenience and safety. Indeed, this perfect rating will motivate us to continue bringing out excellent service to our guests. We hope to see you again and thank you for staying with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve G wrote a review Mar 2023
Broadbeach, Australia66 contributions13 helpful votes
I was impressed from the moment that I arrived. The front counter staff were friendly and helpful. The room itself was very spacious. The bed was comfortable, and the shower was fantastic. The air-conditioning was quiet, and very cool. They hae a large but extremely cheap breakfast available. The bonus for me was that I stayed on a Sunday night, and got a ridiculously cheap price. It is less than a 5 minute walk to the Treasury Casino. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Wigan, Other at The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane
Responded 22 Mar 2023
We appreciate the perfect rating you have provided for the Great Southern Hotel Brisbane. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Moonrock1962 wrote a review Mar 2023
Devonport, Australia968 contributions253 helpful votes
Can’t beat the central location and as such great value for money. The hotel is fairly old with small rooms that are a bit dark. Room felt a bit damp to me. No luxury here but if you are simply looking for a place to sleep, on a budget, and want a central location it is a good deal.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Wigan, Other at The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane
Responded 22 Mar 2023
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your feedback will help us improve our facilities and services. We hope to see you again and thank you for staying with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michelle W wrote a review Jan 2023
17 contributions8 helpful votes
On arrival we were given our room which included a spa bath that we did not request. The room was filthy and smelt damp and dusty. I refused to walk on the carpet without shoes on as it was so dirty. The wardrobe was an old dusty stand alone wooden one that I would never put my clothes in. After 2 hours I was sick with hay fever from the dust and had to request another room. The room they then gave us was very small and still very dusty. No exhaust fan in bathroom so window was propped open and the sill was thick with muddy dust. I moved the bedside table to get to the power point and the dust was thick all over the wall and floor. I would never stay here again. I feel ripped off.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wendy V wrote a review Nov 2022
Canberra, Australia70 contributions23 helpful votes
We chose this hotel as we have stayed at The Great Southern chain in Sydney. It was our first stay in Brisbane. We've booked to go back. Spacious room. Good location. Great value breakfast. Reception staff helpful and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Order the breakfast. It is well priced and plenty to eat.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Wigan, Other at The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane
Responded 28 Nov 2022
Hi wendyv851, Thank you for letting us know that you are happy with your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property. Regards, The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Brisbane area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$125 - AU$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
brisbane marque hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandBrisbane RegionBrisbane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GREAT SOUTHERN HOTEL BRISBANE (AU$125): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane
Which popular attractions are close to The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane?
Nearby attractions include Fox In a Box Brisbane Escape Rooms (0.4 km), Escape Manor (0.5 km), and Brisbane's Theatre of Magic (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, internet access, and facilities for disabled guests.
What food & drink options are available at The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane?
Conveniently located restaurants include Betty's Burgers, Moo Moo The Wine Bar + Grill, and The Walnut Restaurant & Lounge Bar.
Is The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Brisbane.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Boggo Road Gaol (Jail) (2.5 km), Anzac Square & Memorial Galleries (0.7 km), and Brisbane Arcade (0.4 km).
Does The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.