We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Essence Apartments Chermside

541 Rode Rd, Brisbane, Queensland 4032 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#97 of 165 hotels in Brisbane
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Essence is a stylish, sophisticated, spacious, and fully furnished serviced apartment building meeting the requirements of a variety of travellers. Positioned in the heart of Chermside, we offer immediate access to both Prince Charles and St Vincent's Private Hospitals, a approx. 10 Minutes drive from the Brisbane International and Domestic Airports or CBD, South Bank, cultural locations and close proximity to public transport. We can offer you peace of mind, value for money and most of all a comfortable and relaxing stay. Whether you're coming to stay for business or leisure, for a night, a week or a month, we have a place for you to stay. Room Options: Apartment Types•Studios (up to 2 guests)•Studio - Accessible (up to 2 guests)•Studio Balcony (up to 2 guests)•One bedroom apartments (up to 4 guests)•One bedroom suites (up to 4 guests)•Two bedroom apartments (up to 4 guests)•Two bedroom suites (up to 6 guests). Conference Facilities Available: Our dedicated meeting room and versatile function room is suitable for a range of meeting and training requirements. Our meeting room comes with natural light, courtyard access to outdoor terrace and garden ares, full kitchen facilities, independently controlled air conditioning, remote LCD TV, high speed wireless internet, and ISDN lines. Maximum capacity within the boardroom is as follows; Theatre Style 20 people, Boardroom Style 16 people. We are the perfect location for a relaxed and productive working environment! Day packages per delegate start from AUD $59.00 - Call us today!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Car park
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Vending machine
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Umbrella
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
Filipino
178Reviews1Q+A53Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 62
  • 68
  • 26
  • 12
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Judy C wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
We had a very comfortable stay with the hospital close by . The staff were extremely helpful caring making sure we had everything we needed . The facilities are clean well maintained The beds are very comfortable clean linen available when we had a change of people staying with us .thankyou
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DarrenRu wrote a review Oct 2023
Smithfield, Australia83 contributions69 helpful votes
This hotel was good, in my opinion. The location is ok, on the northside of Brisbane, and close to Prince Charles Hospital and to a large shopping centre. The room was a good size and comfortable, with a basic but usable kitchen. The room also had a nice balcony, though the road outside was noisy with the door open. Unfortunately the first day or so saw the hotel wifi not working, and the staff were very apologetic. They got it working the next day, though.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine Seheli, Sales at Essence Apartments Chermside
Responded 4 Oct 2023
Thank you Darren for our review it is greatly appreciated, and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Essence Apartments Chermside. Apologies again for the WiFi being disrupted during your first day. We hope to welcome you again soon. Regards Christine Essence Apartments Chermside
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Frances Wangle wrote a review July 2023
Sydney, Australia2 contributions
If you want basic, grubby, unfriendly service and not after value for money then this is the place for you, After going into our first room that smelt like someone had been smoking in there for years on end then second room provided was no better at all, Cleanliness is not existent in this establishment at all. Walls stained, cutlery draw had food scraps, toilet dirty, hair is sink and pillowcases which shows these aren’t changed, dishwasher still with food in it, sofa badly stained and overall entire apartment was dusty. Given we were travelling with our 7 month old daughter we didn’t want to stay put given how disgusting the place was but was denied a refund after going down to express our concerns. We were forced to sleep / stay here despite it being so grubby!! Emailed and sent messages hoping some action would be taken following morning but nothing, Goes to show they expect a premium price but want to deliver less than even remotely satisfactory. DO NOT STAY HERE If it wasn’t for the hospital next door this place would not stand a chance with these standards. Management clearly have no regard for their guests. Worst stay we have experienced. To be refused a refund and told there was nothing they could do is a joke. You have been warned
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine Seheli, Sales at Essence Apartments Chermside
Responded 18 July 2023
Hi Tom as you know we have addressed your concerns personally and provided a complete resolution. We have done this on the multiple platforms. Regards Christine
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tom R wrote a review July 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
What an ABSOLUTE bad decision I made to book here !! Cleanliness is not existent at all, To say I was embarrassed being the person responsible for booking my family into this establishment would be an understatement!!! Firstly was given a room that smelt like someone had been smoking in there for years !!! To say it stunk would be an understatement Then second room given had clearly been rushed!! Dust everywhere, stains on walls, couch and just grubby… Rooms are tired, bathrooms not cleaned, common areas clearly not maintained, very outdated and over priced !!! Do yourself a favour and book elsewhere. First thing we did before unpacking was try and see what else was available and unfortunately for us we were stuck. If it wasn’t for surgery the next day I would have demanded a refund and simply gone home. Housekeeping team need supervision, training and management need to be appalled at their lack of standards. Do not book or stay here it’s simply disgusting and gross and if you do bring lots of hand sanitizer and chemicals to give the place a clean yourself before touching anything Update ** asked for an immediate refund so could go elsewhere and this was refused. He warned this place is disgusting and unprofessional
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lynette Clara B wrote a review June 2023
Whitsunday Islands, Australia190 contributions60 helpful votes
The staff were lovely and very helpful and the best was comfortable and so quiet in the rooms. I had to be close to the hospital and essence apartments is so close. But the breakfast included is just grab and go at reception and it’s cereal containers and milk. The accomodation does not match the price for this price it needs to have certain facilities and this place has no facilities. The shower is ordinary and the shower head is really small.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Close to hospital It has kitchenette so go shopping or bring food.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chantal S wrote a review Mar 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The most badly managed placed we have ever stayed!! We had to attend hospital and made sure to get quote in writing and charged completely different rate.. when we asked to extend only friendly reception on duty offered us a discounted rate for longer stay which we paid at the time. On final payment Manger declined the special saying "she is only weekend staff and does not know" HORRIFIED at this statement then charged us additional $80 for EVENT NIGHTS even though we had quote. NO REFUND was issued!! Room was not clean, strong sewerage smell, iron did not work and when ask for replacement was told IT DOES WORK!!! water all over the floor... linen not consistent with one service in nearly 3 weeks. The most unfriendly people always chatting between themselves whilst one waited to be served.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine Seheli, Sales at Essence Apartments Chermside
Responded 21 Mar 2023
Hi Mrs Splading. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us at Essence Apartments Chermside via Tripadvisor. Our Front Office Manager had met with you personally to discuss all items of concern that you shared with us at the time. To clarify the hotel honoured the discounted rate and this was advised to you personally. We did have multiple event nights during your stay and a fee is applicable for all guests. We also refunded you $20 even though you did not check out with reception to advise us you were leaving I can 100% confirm that we provided a weekly housekeeping service as we do with all our inhouse guests. The iron that you advised that was not working was turned down low and was fully operational. Upon our staff checking your iron in question he actually burnt his hand. We did however replace the iron immediately once we were advised and provided you with a new iron. We have had multiple people pre inspect our guest apartments from different departments and all have confirmed no smell was identified. Understanding it may have been a stressful time for you personally, our team always endeavours to meet guests expectations and deliver exceptional service. We will provide your feedback as a learning opportunity. We wish you safe travels. Regards Christine
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
On the road again wrote a review Dec 2022
15 contributions18 helpful votes
Beautiful, comfortable, very clean and well equipped apartment, just around the corner from the Prince Charles hospital. Having this excellent accommodation right next to the hospital is priceless for both patients before and after hospital stay, as well as for their families. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly, which also means a lot. Thank you for this home away from home!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine Seheli, Sales at Essence Apartments Chermside
Responded 11 Dec 2022
Thank you for our amazing review, it is truly appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed our facilities and location and look forward to welcoming back in the future. Regards Christine Essence Apartments Chermside
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anita P wrote a review Oct 2022
Cairns, Australia14 contributions11 helpful votes
Our stay was 12 days long as we required to be close to the hospital during treatment. This hotel had everything we required and close to Aldi & Chemist Warehouse, so the walk to get groceries was easy. The staff were super helpful and very attentive to our needs. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Coffee shop is connected to gym over the road. Washer & dryer costing $3 each use on either...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine Seheli, Sales at Essence Apartments Chermside
Responded 11 Dec 2022
Thank you for our review, we loved it! We are so pleased you enjoyed our apartments, location and amazing staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards Christine Essence Apartments Chermside
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RaspberryShortcake wrote a review Sept 2022
Brisbane, Australia115 contributions75 helpful votes
The location of Essence is very convenient. Our studio/balcony room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and confirmed our request for a quiet room. There was no road noise at all and, as it turned out, we would have had more peace sleeping on the balcony. Our room shared an entry vestibule with the next room. This vestibule had a door (which is an extra door to bang shut every time) and a bright motion sensor light which shone through the gap under our room's door every time it came on. Security was very responsive when we complained at 10.30 pm about the throbbing music and voices from our neighbours. Two door bangs indicated that they went out not long afterwards but loudly returned at 3.30 am. They finally stopped laughing and talking at 4 a.m. when the last motion light and one door bang indicated they were putting out their "do not disturb" sign. The poor floor design and thin walls means that anyone unlucky enough to have inconsiderate guests in the next room will have a similar experience. The 'grab and go' breakfast is not even worth stopping to grab.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine Seheli, Sales at Essence Apartments Chermside
Responded 5 Sept 2022
Hi Gary as previously discussed on two occasions personally, and on the booking.com review platform we did everything we could to assist on the night. Unfortunately you chose not to contact the hotel at 3:30am so the onsite management could assist. We have provided a full refund for your unfortunate experience with these guests which disturbed your sleep. We wish you all the best in your travels in the future. Regards Christine
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Smurfgirl_12 wrote a review June 2022
Cairns, Queensland, Australia29 contributions13 helpful votes
I stayed at Essence while my husband had heart surgery at St Vincent’s. it was a God send. You are just across a lawn from the front entrance to the hospital. I could pop home when he was resting and be back with him in minutes. The room was lovely and clean and the staff caring, flexible and just really “nice”. It was the perfect place to be and I could not recommend it more highly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christine Seheli, Sales at Essence Apartments Chermside
Responded 26 June 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we are so pleased that we were available to assist you in caring for your husband. We hope he has made a speedy recovery. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm Regards Christine Essence Apartments Chermside
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Brisbane area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$176 - AU$245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Essence Serviced Apartments
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandBrisbane RegionBrisbane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ESSENCE APARTMENTS CHERMSIDE (AU$176): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Brisbane) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Essence Apartments Chermside
Which popular attractions are close to Essence Apartments Chermside?
Nearby attractions include Westfield Chermside (1.1 km), Laserzone (0.7 km), and iFLY Brisbane Indoor Skydiving (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Essence Apartments Chermside?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Essence Apartments Chermside?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Essence Apartments Chermside?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Essence Apartments Chermside?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Essence Apartments Chermside?
Conveniently located restaurants include Betty's Burgers, Thai Ayuthaya Restaurant, and Grill’d Chermside.
Are any cleaning services offered at Essence Apartments Chermside?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Essence Apartments Chermside offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Essence Apartments Chermside?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Newstead House (6.6 km), Miegunyah House Museum (6.2 km), and Church House (7.9 km).
Is Essence Apartments Chermside accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.