We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

iStay River City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
iStay River City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for iStay River City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 398: English reviews
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

I am kinda bias on this place I have to admit. I used to live here permanently on the 4oth floor .. yea if you want garanteed quality place to stay, stay here.. people are good here as everyone in this building know they are part of something special.. stay here and find out what a good brissie vibe is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan c
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Dear Alan, Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the IStay River City. We are delighted to welcome to back and glad to hear that you always enjoy your stay with us. At iStay, we pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service, so we are very pleased to hear that you were happy with...

Burnie, Australia
Reviewed 13 July 2015

My employer booked this hotel for myself and colleagues, and it was booked because of it's location. No restaurant on site but lots of cafes close by for easy breakfasts. The room was large and comfortable but the bathroom looked grotty - the laminex around the sink was marked and stained. To get under the shower to wash my hair...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonsY7774IA
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the IStay River City. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and found our apartments spacious and comfortable; it is always good to have that extra space whilst travelling. It is disappointing to hear that you experienced lower standards in the apartments...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Rooms are pretty good. However given it was an "apartment" I'm pretty unimpressed. Not being told at check in (especially when on business) that there are no hand towels, tissues, shampoo,conditioner, face cloths, dish detergent and scourer are not included SHOULD BE MENTIONED. There is also no room service daily. The staff didn't seam to understand why I asked when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayden C
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Dear Hayden, Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at iStay River City and I am pleased to hear you found our apartments to be good. Our iStay brand offers discount accommodation for our guests as compared to other similar properties and in order to provide low rates, amenities are not provided and the apartments...

Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

We booked a two room apartment for a one night stay. We just needed a bed overnight for a married couple with 2 older teenagers. This was one of two places that would do a queen bed and two single beds, all the others we looked at offered 2 doubles and a roll out trundle at extra cost. The queen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at iStay River City. We are very pleased to read that we were able to provide a bedding configuration that was suitable to your needs, many of our apartments do have the option to have split beds which is ideal for families. I am so happy to hear...

Sippy Downs, Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2015

I have stayed at iStay River City for 4 nights a week for the last 3 weeks while traveling for business. Always well presented, spacious and clean rooms and friendly service. The only thing I could fault would be that they have had some elevator problems that have led to some small delays but otherwise, all has been great. Highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManeStreetHair
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your numerous stays here at iStay River City. It’s so nice to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the apartments to be well presented, spacious and clean. I am very pleased you experienced friendly service from our staff, I will be sure to pass this onto...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 8 June 2015

We stayed only one night on a quick stop before heading to Noosa. The location is great and the hotel stored our luggage which was very helpful as our flight arrived at 5:00 a.m. The room was large and spacious. It was a bit dated, but seemed relatively clean. The only real issue is that it smelled terrible. The entire...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah V
Hotel M, General Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at iStay River City. I am very pleased to hear you found the apartment to be spacious and clean and that you were able to enjoy our central CBD location at a great price. I am glad you were able to utilise our luggage storage, this is happily...

Reviewed 1 June 2015

when i book an apartment i expect the dryer to work//// dont they have supervisors ,who check the rooms after they are serviced ,i had to go to another room to dry our clothes.if you wont to keep up with international standards even in third world countries most apartments we stay in have free WiFi

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thomas t
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Dear Thomas, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at IStay River City. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with regards to the drier. I have brought these comments personally to the Maintenance Manager's attention and it will be monitored closely in the future. Unfortunately, the internet is through an...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed in a 1 bedroom on 16th floor. Check in staff was lovely, smart and quick, which is good since we arrived late. First nice surprise was a massive terrace with corner view of the river, very pleasant. The apartment was spotless and very well equipped for long stay or families. Comfortable beds, extra pillows and blankets, a tv...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank melb3056
Hotel M, General Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay here at iStay River City. We are extremely delighted to know that you found the apartment to be spotless, well equipped and the bedding to be comfortable. We are ideally located in the heart of Brisbane’s CBD, I am glad you were able to enjoy the convenience...

Sydney
Reviewed 23 May 2015 via mobile

Staff were friendly, view was great but the room was missing all the little things. There was only motel style soap, no shampoo or other basic toiletries. It's well located so you can just pop down to a 7/11 to get better tea etc, but when you're paying $250+ for four star accomodation....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seventhgeneration
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at iStay River City. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the views from your apartment and found the staff friendly. Our iStay brand offers discount accommodation for our guests as compared to other similar properties and in order to provide low rates, amenities are not provided,...

Matamata, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 May 2015

The property looked nice, modern furnishings and the beds were good to sleep in. but... the room was not clean at all. on close inspection there was a thick build up of dust on all door frames, TV sets and entertainment unit. stereo speakers didn't work, on close inspection were not even connected and were not in any repairable order....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Istay River City. We are glad to hear that you found our apartments to be centrally located and you enjoyed the comfortable beds and modern furnishings. It’s disappointing to hear that you were inconvenienced with the housekeeping and maintenance issues in your apartment. I will be passing...

225 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#52 of 161 in Brisbane
610 reviews
0.3 km away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#53 of 161 in Brisbane
497 reviews
0.2 km away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#60 of 161 in Brisbane
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#50 of 161 in Brisbane
623 reviews
0.1 km away
Mantra on Mary
Mantra on Mary
#72 of 161 in Brisbane
767 reviews
0.8 km away
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
#59 of 161 in Brisbane
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
iStay River City overlooks the Botanic Gardens and the CBD, and offers centrally located Brisbane accommodation. Hotel apartments at iStay River City are known for their contemporary style, convenience and amazing views. With a selection of 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, each boasting full length windows, full kitchen and laundry amenities and balconies averaging 20m² to really take advantage of the views and alfresco lifestyle, iStay River City is the choice of discerning business and leisure travellers. To be able to bring you exceptionally low rates, iStay hotels offer a different and more flexible level of service. If you have chosen to stay at an "IStay" property, you will receive the best available unserviced rate. You will have the choice of cleaning service options, at an additional cost upon check in at your Hotel. If your length of stay is for more than 7 nights you will receive a complimentary full cleaning service in the middle of your stay. If you are staying more than 12 days you will receive this service every 7 days. Amenities included in iStay properties: Tea/Coffee Starter Pack, Bath Towels, Bath Mat, Soap, as well as Kitchen consumables (Tea Towel, Cleaning Cloth, Dishwashing Liquid and Powder). Amenities not included in iStay properties: Hand Towel, Face Washer, Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion, Laundry Powder, Scourer and Tissues. ... more   less 

Additional Information about iStay River City

Address: 79 Albert St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: $104 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — iStay River City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your iStay River City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istay River City Hotel Brisbane
iStay River City Brisbane, Queensland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from iStay River City staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from iStay River City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think all rooms have a view to the surrounding city and river.”
 of 5 bubbles jeanw536, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a room further up the building to ensure the hustle and bustle of the city on Friday night and Saturday night does not wake you”
  • Bed backboard pulled off the wall
  • Table top with black looking mould
  • Dented lift doors
  • Chair legs damaged
  • Acid washed fridge
  • Acid washed dishwasher
  • Marks on the door
  • Entry to room
 of 5 bubbles Random206, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you are a couple ask that you don't have 2 single beds together as it is quite uncomfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles jennak597, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best views from higher floors but still very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Calliegirlgreen, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Can be a bit noisy, so try not be on main street or higher rooms”
 of 5 bubbles garysW9180ES, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5