We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Argus Hotel Darwin

13 Shepherd St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (88)
Room & Suite (67)
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct to Enjoy the Best Rates!
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 35 hotels in Darwin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Argus Hotel offers modern contemporary style accommodation with the choice of Superior King, Twin, Deluxe Double, and Deluxe Family Hotel Rooms. Our team of dedicated customer service professionals reflect Darwins' relaxed and warm character, whilst providing an exceptional level of personalised service to our international and domestic guests, business travellers and special group clients alike. The rooms offer a 1.8sqm juliet balcony, Smart LCD TVs with basic Foxtel, tea and coffee amenities, plus free WiFi as standard.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Meeting rooms
Secured parking
Wifi
Plunge pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, Indonesian, Italian and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct to Enjoy the Best Rates!
364Reviews6Q+A70Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 146
  • 146
  • 44
  • 18
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Scott-Vancouver-BC wrote a review Feb 2024
Vancouver, Canada73 contributions41 helpful votes
I was initially surprised to see a 3* rating for this place, and to be honest, I started writing a poor review, outlining all its minor faults. Then my wife told me how inexpensive it was compared with comparable "big name" properties. Pretty much every petty criticism I'd noted seemed insignificant after that. It's clean, breakfast is advertised as "light continental" and I found it more substantial than that, with cheery staff and quick replenishment of items. The pool is small and indoors, not somewhere to "hang out" sipping pina coladas. But, the aircon works, there's enough power outlets to go around and it doesn't seem cramped. Some of the faults: 10ml each of shampoo and body wash aren't enough, room wasn't service within a 4 hour window we were away. Balcony is more style than substance. Need to be closer to the door for WiFi. But... good value!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Els H wrote a review Apr 2023
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We had a very nice stay at the Argus Hotel. The staff were very helpful & friendly. The lady, who looked after breakfast was very well organised & she always had a very friendly smile. The location was very central; close to the shops & the waterfront.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cathy A, Guest Services / Front Office at Argus Hotel Darwin
Responded 9 Apr 2023
Dear 73elsh, Thank you for taking the time to offer your lovely comments. We are delighted to see that you found our amazing hardworking team friendly and helpful, and that our location was convenient for your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon. Warm wishes,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sonia C wrote a review Jan 2024
St. Ives, Australia14 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed 4 nights in late January 2024, in a superior twin room. It was our first time visiting Darwin and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The room was very clean, well apportioned, and the beds were so comfortable. Staff at the Hotel were super friendly. Bell from the breakfast room was so resourceful. She was happy to help us when we explained that we needed to leave the hotel before the breakfast start time of 6 am the next day (when we were due to go on a Kakadu National Park day tour). She kindly had the breakfasts room ready for us from 5.40 am. The continental breakfast at the Hotel was sufficient for us, offering different types of breads, cereals, yogurt & fruit, with coffee, tea, hot chocolate etc. As our return flight was scheduled around midnight, we asked if the Hotel could store our luggage after we check out which they did at no charge. Thank you so much!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cathy A, Guest Services / Front Office at Argus Hotel Darwin
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Soniac, We're so thrilled that you had a great stay with us and took the time to share your feedback. We truly appreciate it. Its great to see that you found our rooms clean and well appointed. Thank you for highlighting the friendliness of our hardworking team, and our lovely Belle in the breakfast room. We're also pleased that our luggage room was a convenient amenity, which assisted you in not having to take your luggage around the city prior to your late flight. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon Sonia, it was our absolute pleasure to host you. Until then. Warm wishes,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
woodbedward wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia80 contributions32 helpful votes
A bit out of the way hotel in a less than salubrious street, but quite comfortable for what you pay. Room quite adequate for two, if a bit sparse. Beds good and comfortable. Problem with shower door which leaked a lot of water over bathroom floor, very slippery - reported to reception for attention. Complimentary breakfast is welcome as there’s nothing else within cooee. OK, just coffee, juice, cereals, toast, spreads, bananas, nothing flash. Just enough. The staff are great, nothing is too much trouble. Helped me with fixing a dropped phone ( thanks Indah) and a stuff-up by our travel company. Let us store our luggage until transfer to airport a day later. Reception is 24/7. If I come back to Darwin, I’d like to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Nothing..
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cathy A, Guest Services / Front Office at Argus Hotel Darwin
Responded 7 Nov 2023
Dear Woodbedward, Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed our amenities and found our hardworking team helpful. We are sorry to hear of the issue with the shower, and we appreciate you having reported this to our team, so we can make any necessary repairs. We would love to have you again if you do return to our lovely city in the future. Warm wishes,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Esel7 wrote a review Oct 2023
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
Booked through a tour company a Superior King room with as advertised on their website city skyline views, we had a view of sheds and a disabled bathroom with an open no walls shower that flooded the bathroom floor and a sensor light that didn’t stay on long enough to clean your teeth Staff very friendly and room clean Definitely do not stay in 113
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cathy A, Guest Services / Front Office at Argus Hotel Darwin
Responded 7 Nov 2023
Dear Esel7, Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. As a hotel located within Darwin city, we do advertise ‘views of Darwin city’, as per our website, which is also opposed to not offering ‘harbour views’, due to our location. Unfortunately, we can’t guarantee any type of view, as we are a multi storey hotel. We can, however, note our guests’ requests, and do our best to accommodate them to suit guest requirements and preferences. With regards to room 113, this room is certified as a disability access room, with the open space allowing for ease of access. Apologies for failing to meet your expectations at this time, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Warm wishes,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stephen T wrote a review Aug 2023
Melbourne, Australia27 contributions55 helpful votes
Very nice friendly hotel located 350 metres from Wooworths and 500 metres from the city centre. It has complimentary continental breakfast, a small gym and a plunge pool. My room was large and very comfortable with a kitchenette.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
David H wrote a review Aug 2023
Perth, Australia204 contributions190 helpful votes
Argus Hotel A few years ago we stayed at the Argus apartments in Darwin and loved it there. Unfortunately we couldn’t get in on this trip so decided to try the Argus Hotel. Talk about chalk and cheese - The apartments were spacious with huge balconies, while the hotel’s Superior King room is probably one of the smallest we have ever stayed in, with what can only be described as a joke for a balcony, and in the en-suite “one” is a crowd!! As an example - the space between the foot of the bed and the wall is 70cm, further hampered by a wall mount tv at shoulder height and the balcony is a measly 60cm wide - with a wall mount a/c unit at the end. On the plus side - the bed is comfortable, but that’s about it. AND - don’t think about sleeping in as the place is so noisy. The amateur tap dancer in the room above was up at 5:15am each morning and when he (or she) wasn’t tripping around, was scraping a plastic garden chair around the room. I can’t help but wonder what sick mind thought it a good idea to put a plastic chair (with no stoppers) into rooms with tiled floors? I’ll also never understand why hotels don’t use soft closers on their doors to stop the constant slamming as people leave their rooms? We were surprised to find that breakfast is served from 5am. Really?? Is that a time?? And where could all these people be going at that time of the day? But going they were - evident by the slamming doors, noise from wheeling cases on the tiled floors, loud voices in the corridors, and idling coaches outside our balcony window every half hour. So after 3 nights of interrupted sleep we asked if it would be possible to change rooms to (hopefully) one at the back of the hotel. They were very obliging and offered us a choice of 2 rooms. We chose one on the third floor with only one neighbour where at least there was no road noise, but we were still disturbed by the slamming doors and the screech of moving furniture above - but at least our last couple of nights were a little more peaceful. And - in each of the rooms, the layout left so much to be desired. Our original room had a king bed, 2 tub chairs, 2 plastic garden chairs so at least we had somewhere to sit. Our second room was a two bedroom affair with a king bed in one room and a queen in the other but only 1 chair!!! AND a single tiny robe?? And finally there’s location. While the apartments were located within easy walking distance to the waterfront precinct and the main restaurant area - the hotel is a taxi ride away. So - would we stay here again……….definitely not!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Samhamxx wrote a review July 2023
Coatbridge, United Kingdom142 contributions120 helpful votes
We stayed here on 2 occasions recently (a 2 night stay before our National park tours and a 1 night stay after). It seems to make a big difference what room you are in as if I was to rate my experience based on my first room on the 3rd floor, I would rate this 3* but my second experience in a room on the 2nd floor pulled the score up significantly. There was a strange smell in our first room (smelled almost smoky but it does state clearly everywhere that this is a non-smoking hotel). The second room however was much fresher and seemed more modern and bright. Both rooms were large with a small balcony area which was nice in the warm temperatures. The air con was also good quality. The complimentary breakfast is very basic and would benefit from maybe a wider variety of fresh fruit or some pastries. Reception were helpful in storing our suitcases before check in and after check out and calling the airport shuttle to book us on.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
wizardoldman wrote a review June 2023
Canberra266 contributions153 helpful votes
This hotel is very good, rooms really clean, generally quiet and set up well. We stayed both before (room 710) and after (room 513) a Kakadu Tour. The hotel was also kind enough to store our excess luggage for no change. The hotel is situated about a 20 minute walk from the CBD but just around the corner is a brilliant Chinese Restaurant. Check in and out was excellent with very friendly staff. A minor problem with the blind in our room was quickly solved by Anna. The towels and hot water were plentiful and we had really good sleeps. Breakfast was continental but served by an older Asian lady with a very happy smile. I must make comment - not negative - about the bathroom in 513. It is huge guessing about 4 square metres BUT there is only a small wash basin opposite the door with no or little shelving. The shower is to the left of the door and when used covers about a quarter of the floor. This prevents direct access to the toilet without getting your feet wet so we had to lay a path of towels between the toilet and the door. The light is sensor movement automatic and took ages to switch off with the fan during the night. Whoever designed this room was probably a student in their first week out of school. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again but not in 513.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you have an early start you can get breakfast from about 5.15 am
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cathy A, Guest Services / Front Office at Argus Hotel Darwin
Responded 9 July 2023
Dear wizardoldman, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide you amazing feedback! We really appreciate your great comments and for noting all the facilities that we offer to our guests. Thank you also for the lovely comments regarding our team’s friendliness and excellent service, we will be sure to pass onto all. With regards to room 513, this room is certified as a disability access room, with the open space allowing ease of access for those who require it. We appreciate your feedback however, and have noted for any possible future improvements. We are delighted that this didn’t impact your overall stay, and we would love to welcome you and your wife back in the near future. Warm wishes, CathyA
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mjbrad2023 wrote a review June 2023
Gold Coast, Australia5 contributions
I stayed at the Argus Hotel in the centre of Darwin last month (May) for 4 nights and I really enjoyed my stay. My room on the 6th floor was nice and modern and had a great view of Darwin Harbour from my private balcony. Just a pity that the hotel has no restaurant or cafe apart from the breakfast dining room. The Thai restaurant which used to be right next door to the hotel closed down. The only place now is a Chinese restaurant around the corner, which has nice quality dishes.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Smoking is not allowed anywhere in the hotel, including private balconies. Unfortunately my next...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cathy A, Guest Services / Front Office at Argus Hotel Darwin
Responded 9 July 2023
Dear 994mikejb, Thank you for taking the time to offer your lovely comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and view. Unfortunately, Green Chillies Darwin made the arduous decision to cease operations onsite a few months ago. However, as you pointed out, Loong Fong Chinese and Seafood Restaurant, is less than a minutes’ walk away from the hotel. We are currently working on a replacement food service, and hope to have something in place by the new year. Hoping you return soon. Warm wishes, CathyA
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Darwin area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$94 - AU$121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryTop EndDarwin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARGUS HOTEL DARWIN (AU$94): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Argus Hotel Darwin
Which popular attractions are close to Argus Hotel Darwin?
Nearby attractions include St Mary Star of the Sea Catholic Cathedral (0.4 km), The Book Shop Darwin (0.4 km), and Art Warehouse Pty Ltd (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Argus Hotel Darwin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Argus Hotel Darwin?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Argus Hotel Darwin?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Argus Hotel Darwin?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Argus Hotel Darwin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alberto's, Green Chillies, and DBar & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Argus Hotel Darwin?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and an outdoor pool during their stay.
Is Argus Hotel Darwin located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Darwin.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Argus Hotel Darwin?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, Portuguese, Thai, Indonesian, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Argus Hotel Darwin?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Burnett House (1.4 km), The Old Town Hall (1.0 km), and Survivors’ Lookout (0.9 km).
Is Argus Hotel Darwin accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.