We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Banyan View Lodge

119 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 13 hostels in Darwin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Banyan View Lodge (BVL)is owned and operated by the YWCA of Darwin. The lodge offers budget accommodation for all travelers and provides an addition income stream for the community services programs the YWCA of Darwin run. We are conveniently located just five minutes walk from shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. With its relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff Banyan View Lodge is the ideal place to make the most of your Top End experience. With our ideal location we offer a quiet alternative to the other budget accommodation and backpacker establishments in Darwin. Relax in our tropical gardens, enjoy a BBQ or take a dip in our sparkling swimming pool. Limited off street parking is available and a bus stop is located directly outside the Lodge. With a range of accommodation – from dormitories through to ensuite – Banyan View Lodge caters to travelers on all budgets. We offer a large communal kitchen, fridges in all rooms, TV lounges, coin operated laundry and FREE Internet at our two terminal computers! With our garden backing on to Doctor's Gully, one of the last remaining rainforest pockets in the inner city area, you can enjoy the sounds of the birds and observe the wildlife first hand. The lodge is in easy walking distance to many of the activities Darwin has to offer. Our recent renovations have seen the new common area & kitchen opened as well as the introduction of a food service between 6.30pm - 7.30pm Monday - Friday. Banyan View Lodge also hosts a coffee kiosk selling some of the best coffee and snacks in Darwin 7am - 2pm. Hot pies, cold drinks & ice-lollies are available all day during office hours.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Danish, German, Norwegian and 1 more
134Reviews0Q+A22Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 32
  • 41
  • 23
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Dave A wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
This goes back a long way to 1998 / 99 ..i used to visit town every 2 weeks ( l lived out bush , building a mango farm ) Staying at the Banyan to me was like 5 star ...used to have a single room with ceiling fan , beautiful white sheets , comfy bed ,,great hot shower and very economical cost wise ....good basic amenities in those days , and close into the CBD .....if l come back , hopefully next year for the first time since way back ,YES this will be my stay .......looked you up prior to this ,,,,,,,and to my delight still going ..........regards Dave ...aged 68 from Perth
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: if solo ... need rest ...get a single room if avail .....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
The_Sausage_King_of_Chicago wrote a review Aug 2017
34 contributions55 helpful votes
I had arrived in Darwin with a female companion the night before and stayed in another hostel, but it was absolutely horrendous, so we decided to move. I'm glad we did. Apparently they don't always let men stay, but because I was with a female it wasn't a problem. We shared a dorm room with two young guys, who were very well behaved. The dorm consisted of two bunks and lthough it was basic, it was clean and had air conditioning. The overall condition of the hostel was basic, but well maintained and clean. The kitchen is well sized, clean and had all the facilties we needed. I would stay here again if I return to Darwin.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
38sally wrote a review Sept 2015
London, United Kingdom118 contributions54 helpful votes
This was a functional, basic, budget place for a one night stop over. The room was OK, clean, good air-conditioner. Decor could do with a freshen up. The kitchen looked clean and well-equipped, There's no wi-fi - you can get internet access free on two communal computers. It was quiet, secure and well-located.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: A room at the back overlooking the garden would be nice
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View Lodge
Responded 11 Oct 2015
Thank you for your feed back. Banyan View Lodge was built over 40 years ago, while we cannot do much about the aesthetics of the bathrooms, we can certainly try to improve on the internal décor. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
atpc_calcetines wrote a review Aug 2015
13 contributions11 helpful votes
Despite is a good place to stay in Darwin, the House Supervisor is a person difficult to deal with. Tanya Hawkins was so rude with us. She sadly ignores what hospitality and client service means...:'(
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View Lodge
Responded 11 Oct 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you had a bad customer service experience while you stayed at Banyan View Lodge. We would have liked the opportunity to address your concerns while you were in house. If you choose to stay with us again, please contact the Management to discuss any concerns you may have.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Followjonalong wrote a review Aug 2015
Cheltenham, United Kingdom80 contributions19 helpful votes
Coming from a party hostel this was refreshing, staff were nice, facilities were average, I really liked the 3 bed dorm it was clean and quiet, bad points that are EASILY fixed by management, $20 for a plate deposit is rediculous 4 of us wanted to eat so they asked for $80,the promised free internet is one computer in the common room, I would of though wifi was a standard thing now, the place is nice you just need to have a re think on things
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eileen D, Manager at Banyan View Lodge
Responded 11 Oct 2015
It is great to get your feedback. We understand your concerns regarding the refundable deposit of $20 per crockery pack. In actual fact, there is no charge for the crockery and cutlery pack. We found previously that our crockery and cutlery must have been very popular, as it tended to disappear quickly leaving no items for the next guests! This deposit system has been put into place to ensure that there is clean and sanitised crockery and cutlery for each guest. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Guy J wrote a review Aug 2015
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions5 helpful votes
This place would be the worst place I've ever stayed in.Had a terrible vibe to the place.I was a solo traveller and the place did not make me feel comfortable.The TV room stank of cigarette smoke.I occasionally smelt cannabis around the place as the other Hostels I've stayed at don't tolerate that.There were a few dodgy long term 60 year old stayers that didn't make me feel comfortable being around them.Ugly on the outside and inside. Definitely not suitable for backpackers!!The first night there they shut the downstairs TV room at 9pm,which was stupid.I them proceeded to the upstairs TV room only to be told by one of the staff there that no men were allowed in that TV room after 9pm.The place is an absolute joke.Avoid it!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Quercuslocator wrote a review July 2015
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution2 helpful votes
It is a short walk to the CBD, a bike hire place and the esplanade. There is a pleasant outdoor area at the back.The room was very basic and drab ($90 double with shared bathroom), street noise, and the small fridge leaked. A set of quite negatively expressed rules were provided, suggesting patrons are not to be trusted. A generally 'mean' feel about the place, with kitchen locked from 9 pm to 8 am and an extra fee for crockery cutlery,no WiFi etc. Didn't seem to be heavily patronised, so lacked atmosphere and wouldn't be much fun for a solo traveller. I was here about 8 years ago and it was very different this time. We stayed 3 nights in total but will look elsewhere next time.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for rooms at back as front can be noisy with traffic and late night revelers
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alexis S wrote a review May 2015
5 contributions5 helpful votes
I stayed 3 nights there and I don't recommend the place. For sure it's possible to find better in Darwin. Good points : - staff is relatively helpful - prices are quite low. I paid $28 for a 3 people bed if i remember. Bad points (a lot...) : - no internet inside the hostel - dodgy people live there (avoid the dorm 3, i saw some creepy things that i would like to forget aha) - expensive deposit for everything (cutlery, key) and expensive laudry - kitchen is awful and stove didn t work when i was there. - store room smells vomit (try it and love it)... Enjoy your stay :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BangkokJoey wrote a review Mar 2015
BangkokJoey72 contributions39 helpful votes
Ugly on the outside and the inside, extra charges for absolutely everything that is locked behind steel grilles (cutlery, coffee cups etc), run down, lights out at 10pm and a peculiar clientele give this place the aura of a prison. I personally was attacked by another guest for the crime of sitting in the common room after lights out. Inconsistent support from staff and management. Dreadful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LlamaRamaBanana wrote a review Feb 2015
United Kingdom67 contributions31 helpful votes
I wasn't a big fan of this place. Firstly, the good parts. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming (worthy of an extra star in the review), and the location was fairly central, with a bus stop outside for those hard to reach places. Apart from that though, things were lacking a great deal. No atmosphere, interiors were very basic, almost hospital like, the bathroom was disgusting, with horrid toilets and mould on some sinks, the kitchen a bit basic, and the communal area, although offering a nice selection of books and games, a bit of a nothing area, with one computer for poor wired internet. Didn't use the pool or spa, so can't comment, but I would not be rushing back here if ever back in Darwin. Good staff just can't carry the place alone. It needs refurbishing!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Darwin area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
banyan view hotel darwin
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryTop EndDarwin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BANYAN VIEW LODGE (AU$23): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Darwin) - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Banyan View Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Banyan View Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Bicentennial Park (0.2 km), St Mary Star of the Sea Catholic Cathedral (0.5 km), and Aquascene Fish Feeding (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Banyan View Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a spa, and free parking.
Is parking available at Banyan View Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Banyan View Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hanuman Restaurant, Nirvana Restaurant, and Kopi Stop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Banyan View Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Banyan View Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Darwin.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Banyan View Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Swedish, Danish, and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Banyan View Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Burnett House (0.9 km), The Old Town Hall (1.3 km), and Survivors’ Lookout (1.0 km).