The Smith Hotel Darwin
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Smith Hotel Darwin

81 Smith Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800 Australia
Traveller (177)
Panorama of the Deluxe King Room at the H Hotel
360
Panoramas (16)
H on Smith Hotel Darwin
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#12 of 35 hotels in Darwin
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Smith Hotel is a locally designed, built and loved hotel. Being centrally located on Smith Street in the Darwin CBD, the hotel is a short distance to the Entertainment Center, Darwin Convention Center, Esplanade and Mitchell Street (Darwin's dining and night-life hub). The stylish property offers 186 rooms and suites providing guests with modern comforts such as crisp linens, luxurious pillow top beds, deluxe bathroom amenities and a curated selection of minibar treats. Most rooms showcase spectacular views over Cullen Bay and the Cityscape, with other comforts including complimentary parking and high-speed internet, FOXTEL streaming in-room movies & sports channels and a rooftop gym.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Greek, Hindi and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Price:Book directly and save big!

Location

81 Smith Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800 Australia
607Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 212
  • 228
  • 90
  • 31
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Helena P wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived at 0030 for a 2 night stay and was given room 915 on the 9th floor. Excellent. Very private and quiet. Enjoyed the time I was there. The pool area was perfect to cool down and everything was in easy walking distance for restaurants,bars and amenities. Was given an 1100am checkout on my last day and told I was welcome to use the facilities until my ride to the airport later that afternoon. Looking forward to my return late November. Well done team.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sanjaya Karunathilake, General Manager at The Smith Hotel Darwin
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Dear Helena, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent visit to the H on Smith Darwin. It is always a pleasure to receive guest feedback, we are glad to see that you found the location of the hotel suitable for your travel needs. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Darwin. Kind regards, H on Smith Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Craig P wrote a review May 2021
Sydney, Australia630 contributions298 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
H on Smith was used by the Luxury Escapes package we were on so choice to extend our stay to 5 nights. Good location to Darwin CBD, but then so is the waterfront accommodation and many others. Staf were friendly and courteous, however not all that effective.
On check in on Friday we were not informed that our room would not be serviced over the weekend, and when it did get one one;y service in our 5 night stay it was to drop off fresh towels and empty the bin only.
Good points....carparking access and complimentary, room size, bed comfortable, quiet form outside noise.
Not so good....floors desperately need vacuuming, air con made a terrible noise like pipes draining.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janine Fidock, Marketing at The Smith Hotel Darwin
Responded 1 June 2021
Good afternoon Craig, We appreciate your kind words about our friendly and courteous staff and the comfort of your room. Your review will be discussed at our next operations meeting this afternoon, we apologise for the inconvenience on our housekeeping service delivery during your stay with us. When you have a spare moment could you please contact us directly to let us know the room number you stayed in and to discuss the issues in more detail. Thank you for staying at H on Smith Hotel, we hope to welcome you back one day in the future. Kind regards, Janine 08 8982 5555
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NeilC2607 wrote a review June 2021
Gunnedah, Australia802 contributions1,251 helpful vote
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Reception:
Efficient and pleasant staff.

Room / facilities:
Superior King Room is located on the eastern side of the building and on the 2nd floor.
It is extremely clean, huge in size and has a king bed, sofa bed, single arm chair and still enough room for another king and queen bed. The bathroom is very modern, spotlessly clean, with a spa tub bath, large walk in shower, super thick towels, large hanging area and a large flat screen TV.
The bar fridge inside is quiet thin and does little to cool contents, split system air conditioning and a very large window that does NOT open.

Parking:
Secure, complementary and has lots of space for hotel guests. Car park entry is via the side street off Mitchell street behind and is in between the hotel and the cinema buildings.

Wifi:
Complementary and has great speed.

Conclusion:
Excellent room, and location of the hotel. I would recommend this hotel.

Letdowns:
Extremely small fridge interior that does not cool terribly well, windows do not open.

Location / Nearby:
The city is at your door step, esplanade is a 5 minute walk.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janine Fidock, Marketing at The Smith Hotel Darwin
Responded 20 June 2021
Good morning Neil, Thank you. We are happy that you took the time out to give H on Smith Hotel a review, your feedback motivates us to deliver better guest services and experience. Apologies that you had issues with the fridge and air conditioning, if you could please contact us direct with the room number you stayed in so we can have our maintenance team take a look and rectify these. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future! Kind regards, Janine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jo W wrote a review Dec 2020
Melbourne, Australia227 contributions195 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked and prepaid for a week stay with breakfast...on arrival told no breakfast was on offer (why advertise and charge for something that is not available). Was promised refund by manager, that never eventuated. Reception do not answer the phone if you call from your room.. you need to physically go to see them.... rooms not serviced unless you request it. Dubious stains on the carpets. Rubbish left in the foyer outside lifts. Shame, this hotel has potential. Reasonable location, rooms cheerful enough, bed comfortable, unfortunately the customer service and housekeeping fall well below par.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janine Fidock, Marketing at The Smith Hotel Darwin
Responded 9 Mar 2021
Hello Jo W, Firstly my apologies for the late reply, I commenced here 3 weeks ago and part of my role is to help enhance the guest experience. I am so sorry the experience you had with our team did not meet our usual high standards. Our guests feedback is very important to us. Reviews are shared with the team to ensure situations like this do not happen again. My apologies regarding the breakfast you had paid for, I understand the restaurant was closed due to COVID19. Happy to report it's now open and fully operational. Please send me your booking confirmation so I can follow up on the payment issue, marketing@hhotels.com.au The hotel is undergoing a delightful freshen up, rooms and common areas re-painted and carpets cleaned so our guests can enjoy the hotel to it's full potential. Please reach out to me when you are next in Darwin as we would love to welcome you back and look after you. Kind regards, Janine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie Ryan wrote a review July 2022
Edenhope, Australia4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked directly with the hotel when I went to pay they tried to charge me over $200 more than when I booked lucky I had my confirmation paper with me. We walked into our room it smelt musty. Then went into the bathroom was disgusted with the mould in the shower. There was only one towel in there I had to ask they said some one will bring one up 2 hours later I had to go back down to reception and ask again. Everyday I had to go down and either ask for towels of tea bags and sugar as house keeping was very slack. Had a meal in restaurant it was good and the position was great close to everything. They just need to employ better staff.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dustin Kochen, Marketing at The Smith Hotel Darwin
Responded 22 Sept 2022
Dear Julie, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and the restaurant, however we do apologise for the confusion with your reservation charges, and we will address your comments with the team. Kind Regards, H on Smith.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OzTravels80 wrote a review Jan 2023
Perth, Australia698 contributions329 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Not a bad hotel for what it is, but when i stayed here we paid about $150 per night, which is reasonable for what it is, anything over 200 would be pushing it, as its only a 3.5 star hotel over all.

The staff were friendly when checking in, helpful and got us checked in no issues. There is parking available on site, and also an area to pull up in your car to unload outside the front of the hotel.

The rooms are ok, but feel a little dirty. The carpet seems to need a good clean, and the bathroom grout needs a scrub or re-doing!
Bed was O-K but the mattress has seen better days i am sure! Aircon was good and cold, so thats key in Darwin!

The breakfast included in the room is only continental, if you want hot food its an additional cost which was a surprise. Continental breakfast was not to bad though, a few options, fruit, cereal, and coffee from a machine. Although its hit and miss finding a clean mug! Coffee wasn't great tasting, so we headed out to Vault nearby for our morning coffee fix.

Not a bad spot, close to everything in the city and the waterfront, walking distance, or scooters out the front you can use for a small fee.

Lastly, my towels in the bathroom were clean, but my colleague said his two towels had stains over them, eww!

Thanks for the stay! good aircon!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leanne W wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia91 contributions62 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly, I would like to say the room was immaculately clean and the staff very professional however the website is misleading which lead to me being very disappointed as the hotel didn't provide to tropical getaway I was hoping for.
Firstly, it was advertised that their was a restaurant. When I arrived I was informed the restaurant was not open for lunch. Later I discovered that it was not open on the weekend for dinner either, and no room service.
The pool is advertised as a resort style pool. It is a small pool with 6 lounges around it. I had to ask for a dry towel when I went to use it.
Breakfast is very limited and costs extra for non instant coffee.
When the restaurant was open the menu was very limited, my steak was cooked very nicely, but quite pricey for what was on offer.
Foxtel advertised but only offers a sports channel - no movies
It appears the hotel caters for the FIFO clientele and not for a solo tourist. There is no brochures or assistance for tourists.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kirsty Smith wrote a review Oct 2020
Adelaide, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A big shame for a hotel in the city with no food and beverage available on premise. For busy corporate guest, you want to enjoy and splurge on quality steak and a glass of wine after a busy day and spoil yourself with a good restaurant service in the convenience of your own hotel. A big let down.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
caramellokoala wrote a review May 2022
australia348 contributions111 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
When we checked in we were given our room key which wasn’t activated properly so we couldn’t use the lift. Back to the desk, got it sorted and headed for our room. No sooner were we in our room and the phone rings. “What’s your surname, there’s been a computer glitch?” Maybe the person who checked us in was new.

We ate at the restaurant the first night and the food was delicious and the two male staff were fantastic.

We had breakfast in the restaurant twice. The first morning the food looked like it had sat there for hours. The hot food was unpalatable.
The cold buffet was messy, there were bits and pieces of fruit that had broken off. There was no fresh coffee. The pot sat there with dregs in it the whole time we were there. It was an expensive bowl of muesli and yogurt, $25.

On our final day we decided to have breakfast before we left for the airport. It was very busy with only two female staff in attendance. One was constantly busy making hot drinks and the other one was trying to catch people as they walked in. The honest ones waited to be seated, others wandered in. The hot breakfast was fresh and enjoyable however the cold section was an absolute mess. Empty juice jugs, empty fruit bowls, no coffee, no butter no fruit bread and half eaten muffins and half cups of liquid littering the area and there were dirty tables everywhere.

I couldn’t believe it when the tall manager with the dark hair walked in and was oblivious to the chaos that was the morning buffet.

One day I had to ask for our room to be made up. I understand the staff are only allocated a few minutes to do each room however when I walk into a bathroom and see long black hairs on the walls opposite the mirror and I have short hair, the level of cleanliness concerns me. I also don’t appreciate dirty cups being washed in the sink in the bathroom and wiped with an unclean tea towel, they should be put through a dishwasher. The quilt was stained.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dustin Kochen, Marketing at The Smith Hotel Darwin
Responded 25 May 2022
Hi Caramellokoala, Thanks for your review, we do appreciate your honesty with things that impressed you and where we fell short. I will discuss the inconsistency of the service and offering in the restaurant with our food and beverage manager and also the feedback on housekeeping. We are doing many things to improve the product and service and your feedback will help us with this. Thanks again Miranda H on Smith
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Darryn R wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can’t believe a hotel of this calibre exists for the price paid, large comfortable and modern rooms with great bathrooms, extremely comfortable bed and nice aircon.

The staff are top shelf, friendly and happy to help answer any questions about the city, I was given great advice about local restaurants and attractions. Beyond impressed by the team.

The hotel has a nice food available as well as a good pool although I did not swim. Has a secure car park which is great and connected to the hotel.

The hotel itself is in a great location close to tourist activities and nightlife

10/10 thank you H on smith and staff
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sanjaya Karunathilake, General Manager at The Smith Hotel Darwin
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Dear 73darrynr, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent visit to the H on Smith Darwin. Please be assured your kind comments particularly regarding our service, the team and location has certainly been well received by the team. I am sure a lot of readers will find the information shared very useful. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Darwin. Kind regards, H on Smith Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from H Hotel
Darwin, Australia
Hi Jocelyn Yes we do have interconnecting rooms 😀
Sue R asked a question Sept 2018
73 contributions16 helpful votes
Looking at staying soon. Is breakfast included?
Answer from EwanMac
Sydney, Australia95 contributions68 helpful votes
Breakfast was not included in our recent booking. We bought our breakfast at the hotel and it was good.
asked a question Mar 2016
Darwin, Australia
Do you have secure underground parking?
Answer from Thomas M
Gunbalanya16 contributions4 helpful votes
There is secure parking, but not underground. The room key card opens the roller door and access is from Mitchell street from the lane next to the cinema complex. Safe and secure parking, no worries.
Janet P asked a question June 2015
Perth, Australia13 contributions
How easy s it get around Darwin from here without a car?
Answer from Sue R
73 contributions16 helpful votes
The city is an easy walk as the hotel is in the C,B.D. walking . There is a bus interchange within a walk. Also taxes and a double deck hop on hop off bus.
Answer from David-Operations
Darwin, Australia
Greetings from H Hotel. There are two ways to get to the hotel from the airport; 1. By taxi - these are available from just outside the arrivals area at the Darwin Airport 2. By Airport Shuttle Bus - this is available to the left immediately as you exit the arrivals area at the Darwin Airport. Please note that our check in time is guaranteed from 2pm. If you would like to leave luggage with us until you check in we will be happy to do this. Please note that any transfers to connect with the Ghan are best arranged directly with them as we do not have a shuttle service to assist. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you on the 18th of December. With Kind Regards Paolo
Jennifer M wrote a tip May 2024
Timor-Leste15 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find staff who can speak English and know what country they are in"
Read full review
LeetylouandLarrytoo wrote a tip Apr 2024
Stillwater, Oklahoma86 contributions19 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Location is good- near the grocery, a couple of restaurants, the hop on hop off bus and Crocasaures Cove. Several blocks to the ocean."
Read full review
Lizzie wrote a tip Dec 2023
Darwin, Australia194 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking $15 a night"
Read full review
Kellie M wrote a tip Aug 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"The room just looked dirty and uninviting, it was just not nice."
Read full review
Kim T wrote a tip Apr 2023
Perth, Australia13 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We virtually had the pool to ourselves but that was based on the fact that the tourist season had not official begun."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Darwin area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$218 - AU$290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryTop EndDarwin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
186
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SMITH HOTEL DARWIN (AU$218) - 2024 Prices & Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about H on Smith Hotel Darwin
Which popular attractions are close to H on Smith Hotel Darwin?
Nearby attractions include Crocosaurus Cove (0.2 km), Parliament House (0.2 km), and Bicentennial Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at H on Smith Hotel Darwin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at H on Smith Hotel Darwin?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at H on Smith Hotel Darwin?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at H on Smith Hotel Darwin?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to H on Smith Hotel Darwin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hanuman Restaurant, Moorish Cafe, and Wisdom Bar & Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at H on Smith Hotel Darwin?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is H on Smith Hotel Darwin located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Darwin.
Are any cleaning services offered at H on Smith Hotel Darwin?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does H on Smith Hotel Darwin offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at H on Smith Hotel Darwin?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, Hindi, and Greek.
All Darwin HotelsDarwin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DarwinHotels near H on Smith Hotel Darwin
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars