Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mindil Beach Casino Resort

Gilruth Avenue The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0801 Australia
Traveller (747)
Room & Suite (226)
Dining (26)

View prices for your travel dates

AU$160
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#16 of 35 hotels in Darwin
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Mindil Beach Resort is the ultimate travel destination for discerning guests seeking a truly five star beachfront experience in Australia’s extraordinary Top End. Nestled on 30 acres of tropical gardens fringed by the crystal blue Arafura Sea, Mindil Beach Resort's centrally located resort offers stunning accommodation and dining options, teamed with a world class entertainment complex and superior conference and event facilities. Relax in one of our 152 stylishly appointed hotel or resort rooms, swim in our spectacular infinity edged pool or lagoon pool, enjoy the cuisine of our five distinctive dining experiences and relax on our beautiful private beach. We offer the perfect getaway for business and pleasure that invites guests to wind down and savour Darwin’s finest address.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
1096Reviews16Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 310
  • 366
  • 228
  • 106
  • 86
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tiffen wrote a review Apr 2022
Melbourne, Australia770 contributions414 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We only stayed here for one night following a disappointing few stays at another local hotel. The staff were all friendly and nice and the room we booked was nice and clean and importantly cool! It was a Saturday night and was busy bit we did not experience any delays in either the restaurant or room service.

One thing you should be aware of is that there are major renovations going on so if you book make sure you request a room far away from them. And not that due to the renovation there is no guest laundry available. So if you arrive thinking you can wash your clothes you will not be able to.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Book a room as far away from the renovations as possible.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mindil Beach Casino Resort Darwin, Other at Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Responded 27 Apr 2022
Dear 391grantt, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and were able to experience what we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bec291 wrote a review June 2022
Melbourne, Australia28 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a week at the casino hotel. We paid $450 a night for a very tired room in need of some TLC. Hasn’t been renovated in a long time. Definitely not a 4 star hotel. Only one restaurant is open in the complex early in the week so dining options were very limited. Staff were friendly but service was very poor. Breakfast was very slow each morning and staff were mixing orders, forgetting orders and generally unaware of what was included in our breakfast package. Very short staffed and inexperienced. Room cleaning each day was not great. Only 2 bath towels in the room, no hand towels. Had to ask for them. Each day I had to ask for body wash and it took 3 days to get a pair of slippers!!
But by far the worst was the barrage of people at the infinity pool on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays! When I asked what was going on I was told that the public have access to the pool on those days! So basically we were paying guests but were unable to use the pool because there were no seats available. It was rowdy and was crowded with young people milling around with alcohol. Not what we were expecting. Unacceptable in my opinion.
On a positive note, it is in a great location with amazing sunsets that can be enjoyed whilst sitting at the infinity pool. We got the opportunity to enjoy that early in the week not the latter part of the week ☹️
Overall, it was not worth the money we outlaid. Pretty disappointing experience.
Would not stay there again unless things change.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mindil Beach Casino Resort Darwin, Other at Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Responded 19 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your comprehensive feedback with us. Our people are at the heart of everything we do, and it is great to receive feedback like you have provided to assist us in improving our services. We do apologise that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Your comments will help us to improve our amenities. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to Mindil Beach Casino Resort for an enjoyable experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Warren T wrote a review Mar 2020
St Kilda, Australia271 contributions66 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived for a long weekend break. Checked in all ok. Arrived to our room to not have a beach view but a car park view. Not what we had booked. So downstairs we go. Only to be told no beach view rooms available. So $480 dollars later on top of what we had already paid we are off to a lagoon room for five days. Nice room and view of the lagoon pool. Stick your head over the balcony and you can see the ocean. Thursday and Friday lagoon pool and area very quiet and relaxing. Then bring on the weekend when the lagoon pool and main pool become “party central”. Be warned. So on Saturday afternoon a group checked into the room directly under our room for what was to be a party for the young people’s of Darwin. About thirty party guests invaded the pool with drinks, noodles and bad language. After two hours we called reception to complain. Security did come and ask that glass be taken out of the pool. This party was then joined by another room party so In total 50 party peoples outside our room. After 5 hours enough was enough. Called reception to complain again and asking for a manager but was told no management was on. Seems all rather normal to have this form of activity on weekends. If I want a Bali party scene I would have gone to Bali. Not what I expected in a Darwin resort. No action was taken from my complaint and I asked to speak to management prior to checking out on the Monday. This did not happen. Called the hotel on Tuesday to follow up and I’m still waiting to hear from hotel management. So after paying extra to be moved we should have stayed overlooking the car park. So be warned I would not advise staying at this establishment over a weekend unless your wanting your “Bali party” experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicpic wrote a review Oct 2021
Ocean Grove, Australia364 contributions38 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in a one bedroom suite here at the Casino Resort for seven nights room 212. Arriving at the casino we were met by the porter who took our bags from the car the reception staff were friendly and helpful and check in quick and easy. The lift took us up to the room which was card entry. The apartment was large with a seperate lounge dining area a huge bedroom very comfortable king bed, luxury linen with ensuite and corner spa and wonderful shower. Sliding doors opened from lounge and bedroom onto a narrow balcony with chairs and table.
The apartment and balcony over looked the garden on to the ocean and to the right the lagoon pool. The views were sensational with slight sunsets. There was a small fridge in a kitchenette (no cooking facilities) a second toilet and wash basin was off the hall. The room was fabulous and suited us for our stay. We were here during covid and although NT was not restricted by it they like other states had staff shortages and there were a few of the onsite restaurants were closed at the time. The restaurants and bars the were open were very handy and lovely to dine at. There were a couple of great bars with entertainment and a large sports bar. The gaming rooms down stairs had a bit of everything. All staff were engaging and helpful. Room service was limited menu but was very handy after a big day.
The resort pools were fabulous a lagoon style with beach and swim up bar and the infinity pool which had ocean views and incredible sunset viewing. Note: There was the infinity bars and beats on Saturday and Sunday when this pool is opened up to 20-30s locals 12-7 the music goes up and the drink vans on the decks open under 18 aren’t allowed to use this pool at this time. It turns into Love Island or Ibiza and it goes off. It was interesting to watch but the lagoon pool was a quieter nicer option for us at these times.
Free WIFI and car parking.
The location of the casino was fantastic close to everything with a good bus system that runs from out the front into town and around. It was right on the beach next door 2min walk to the famous Mindil Markets. Our suite was mid range cost accommodation the resort rooms around the lagoon pool with swim up decks were top range and fabulous if you want to splurge.
The lack of cleaning staff atm due to covid meant it wasn’t running to its full potential and areas like the pool decks and room service trays weren’t getting picked up regularly. But we had an amazing experience with everything in the one spot it was fun and relaxing. We would definitely return soon. Loved Darwin and the Mindil Beach Casino Resort.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
brijess wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia215 contributions29 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After ten days in the Top End we indulged in one night's stay in a resort room. My teenage daughter did not overly enjoy the outback so thankfully her positive memories have been restored with our final indulgence in the Top End.

Wow, wow, wow, from the moment we entered the complex we were in heaven. Check in was easy, we opted for the $15 valet parking which meant we didn't need to walk as far to the car in the extraordinary heat (or the staff could retrieve our car for us). Walking through the resort reminded me of many south-east Asian resorts we've enjoyed. Gorgeous pools, swim out rooms and pool bars. Our resort room had two QUEEN beds plus an ultra modern bathroom, a large balcony with seating for at least four people. We actually preferred the hotel's infinity pool and were so incredibly lucky to have a gorgeous "wet season" colourful sunset for our final evening. The resort pool was equally gorgeous with a sandy bottom, just without the beach view.

I can't rate the food. There was a seafood buffet on offer but I'm not a great fan of seafood. We ate elsewhere for dinner, however we did order brunch the next day from the pool bar - cheesy garlic bread and potato wedges which were okay priced.

Thankfully we were also granted a late check-out to 12 noon (the benefits of travelling in a low tourist season).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Swim out resort rooms would be ideal.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MindilBeachCR, Manager at Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review. A 5 star experience is what we aim to provide to all our guests who stay with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to you next visit. Sincerely, Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Morven A wrote a review Nov 2021
Perth, Australia7 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is fabulous, however there are 2 parts to this resort…. The beautiful one ( which we assumed we’d been booked into) and the one connected to the casino and in a totally different building to the beautiful lagoon area..
The ocean view room was extremely dated and required refurbishment. It was an interconnecting room on the first floor with a bath and shower and the door on our side didn’t lock! A chair was put in front of this connecting door. Due to the wall being paper thin we could hear all the conversations from the adjoining room. We moved to the 3 rd floor but due to the pyramid shape of the building , we forfeited our bath as the bathroom was considerably smaller.
The balconies are smaller than on a cruise ship and are unusable on Friday, Saturday and Sunday from 12noon to 8 pm when the Infinity pool welcomes 20 and 30 year olds from out with the hotel and the base of themusic is turned up so loud that it could be heard in our bathroom with the hairdryer on! On asking reception to turn down the base of the music, I was told that it couldn’t be gaurenteed. I told him that this was not what we expected from this hotel but he informed me that this was not so much a hotel as an entertainment centre for outsiders.
There is NO buffet breakfast. If you’re on a package like we were you get given either coffee/tea or orange juice, followed by a plate with 8 tiny pieces of cut fruit, a bakery basket of 2 each mini croissants, mini muffin of pastry depending on what they feel like giving you.You then get a choice of mainly cooked breakfast, mainly based on eggs but can take anything up to 20 mins to arrive. Breakfast is 7-10am and if you’re in a lagoon room you visit the same venue but you can have an alacarte breakfast . There are no bananas, Nutella, vegemite or peanut butter available at breakfast.
Maid service is not every day but when you ask for it by pressing the light outside your room. This doesn’t always have the desired effect though.
Only 2 of the 4 restaurants were open( the ones in the casino area) and the spa was closed also.
I could not honestly recommend this hotel to anyone unless they came to the lagoon pool rooms which are considerably quieter but more expensive. We offered to pay extra for an upgrade to them but could only get it for one night.
There are No photos of the exterior of the ocean view rooms that we were in.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Only choose a lagoon pool room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon S wrote a review May 2021
Melbourne, Australia220 contributions66 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Although a beautiful resort their customer service can be improved. We were arriving early from Kakadu and I emailed 3 days in advance to request this to which there was no reply. When we arrived at the hotel and asked if this was possible I was advised rather rudely that they would try and phone us if the room became available earlier. When we did return 2 hours before check in, our room had been available earlier although we didn’t receive a call.
All other staff we encountered were friendly and helpful but we were also upset to find the main pool was opened as a beach club to the public. No one told us this and it made it really difficult to get a banana lounge. Not something you expect when staying at the resort!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
robyn r wrote a review Sept 2022
Melbourne, Australia280 contributions138 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a popular, large resort with a casino. It has to be the type of thing you like in order to enjoy it. It is a very crowded and noisy hotel. The two main restaurants were booked out when we were there, so reserve in advance if you wish to dine there. We stayed overnight on two occasions. On the first occasion, our room, at about $750 a night, gave little privacy from the general pool area. The room fronted right onto the pool with large glass doors meaning that there was only glass between the people in the pool and us in our room. We asked for, on our return, a more private room. They subsequently put us in the room that was the closest possible to the general hotel beach and pool and was directly opposite the pool bar. Within the room, facilities were minimal and sometimes unacceptable including heavily stained plastic wine glasses. On our first visit, we ordered room service. We rang to tell them when we were done and that the tray was outside. They didn’t collect it. The animals sprayed duck bones and food remains everywhere. Three times we requested the tray to be collected but it didn’t happen.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kim S wrote a review June 2021
Brisbane, Australia31 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is in a lovely location but very limited service. We weren’t allowed as a family to enter the infinity pool on Friday Saturday or Sunday. So we entered on Monday and there was no service. We had to go into the casino to get drinks and snacks. As my husband had a towel on, the security guard wasn’t going to let him collect our food as he needed to go back and put some shorts on. Empty drink glasses and plates were not collected the whole time we were there, which was 2.5 hours. I booked 2 rooms months ago and they couldn’t put them next to each other. Location is fab for sunset! Your not paying for any service here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keith B wrote a review June 2022
14 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Enjoyed the pool [not on public admission Sunday Night], room comfortable, food was acceptable. Disappointed chinese was closed and limited options with Italian. Except for Cy and Pavin staff were not helpfull and in fact reception was not up to standard that included wrong information in regards to servicing of rooms - we do understand Covid has played a part however reception please be a little more welcoming particularly as we pay a high tariff. Smokers were seen adjacent to main [infinity] pool so suggest security be more vigilant. the sunset from the Infinity Pool was amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Sea View Only
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mindil Beach Casino Resort Darwin, Other at Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Responded 4 Oct 2022
Dear Keith. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent experience at Our hotel. Your experience is certainly not the high level of customer service we strive for and your feedback has been passed onto the team to ensure this does not occur again. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Mindil Beach Casino Resort to regain your confidence in us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeremy P asked a question Dec 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
What is the easiest way to get from the airport to the resort?
Answer from StellaandMick
Adelaide, Australia160 contributions61 helpful votes
We got an Uber
Show all answers
lainlee asked a question Mar 2022
Australind, WA23 contributions12 helpful votes
Swim Up Bar -- Can anyone please tell me if the Darwin Casino Resort Pools have a swim up bar ?
Darwin, Australia
Dear lainlee, our Lagoon Pool does have a swim up bar that opens from 12pm everyday. This is exclusive to our Hotel & Resort guests.
Show all answers
Answer from Kim S
Brisbane, Australia31 contributions4 helpful votes
Yes, they do
Show all answers
Darwin, Australia
Hi ab_n_tam, Thank you for your message. We do have interconnecting rooms and also twin bedrooms. Please don't hesitate to get in contact with our friendly Front Office staff for more information, by calling +61 8 8943 8881. We look forward to welcoming you to Mindil Beach Casino Resort in the near future!
Margaret W wrote a tip Nov 2023
Cusco, Peru16 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lagoon pool for guests only, infinity pool open to happy locals over weekends. Choose a room facing the sea - sunsets included free."
Read full review
Kylie H wrote a tip Oct 2023
7 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Midweek only. Weekend full of backpackers using the facilities and parties that don't sleep."
Read full review
Kristen W wrote a tip Aug 2023
Harmondsworth, United Kingdom9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location. Perfect for sunsets."
Read full review
gc g wrote a tip July 2023
Gold Coast, Australia366 contributions128 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for a room away from central quad area and away from adult only pool if you like q good nights sleep"
Read full review
Pauline C wrote a tip June 2023
8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want an immersive experience, lash out and get a Lagoon Access Room, you won't regret it."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Darwin area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$146 - AU$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
skycity darwin hotel darwin, skycity hotel darwin, darwin skycity hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
SKYCITY Darwin
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryTop EndDarwin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
152
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MINDIL BEACH CASINO RESORT (AU$146): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Darwin) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mindil Beach Casino Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Mindil Beach Casino Resort?
Nearby attractions include Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory (1.1 km), Mindil Beach (0.7 km), and George Brown Darwin Botanic Gardens (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mindil Beach Casino Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mindil Beach Casino Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mindil Beach Casino Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Mindil Beach Casino Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mindil Beach Casino Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Yots Greek Taverna, Darwin Laksa Mindil Beach, and Nirvana Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mindil Beach Casino Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mindil Beach Casino Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mindil Beach Casino Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Mindil Beach Casino Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Burnett House (0.4 km), The Old Town Hall (2.5 km), and Survivors’ Lookout (2.2 km).
Does Mindil Beach Casino Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.