We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Poinciana Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Poinciana Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 65: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Wow. I know I was looking for a $100 hotel, but this was yuck! From coffee rings on the counter in our room, to a chicken bone in the lift, the super saggy portable bed and the noise outside at 3 am and the small bugs in the room. The staff are friendly enough and the tepid pool was fun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnvaughan1964
roady646, Manager at Poinciana Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you were unhappy here and I have pointed out your comments to the cleaning staff to improve the standards but if someone drops a chicken bone in the lift I obviously will not know about it until the next time I go in the lift or am told about it at which point it would have been picked up...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Room basic, barely acceptable clean. Linen well worn. Jug needed to be scrubbed before use! Bathroom tap continuos drip! Unable to tighten to stop. Aircon working but not adequately. Small roaches in bathroom. Hotel position central and close to backpackers district, noisy and slightly scared. Door chain broken, felt unsafe. 3 nights stay only saw staff on day of leaving!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariam A
roady646, Manager at Poinciana Inn, responded to this review

Hi Mariam, If I am informed about a problem with the plumbing I have a plumber out that same day to rectify it so next time you have a problem please let someone know as we can only fix it when we know about it. As for the small roaches we bomb the rooms every month but as we are...

Traralgon, Australia
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Had a lot of trouble finding the place and then wished we hadn't! Very cheap looking in a unsafe-feeling part of town and an unmanned reception (we arrived after hours) so no one to call if there was a problem. The parking seemed to just be street parking and we didn't like the look of the people hanging around so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KayJaybird
roady646, Manager at Poinciana Inn, responded to this review

This is not even worth a response but will just point out their is a 24 call service that can have someone that lives on site to your room in minutes if needed.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The bathrooms in our rooms were old and needed desperate updating. There are obviously some refurbished rooms which are better quality. The sheets were grey rather than white but otherwise the room was clean. Hotel obviously has lots of long term tenants and backpackers so they live and play there hence noise. Also proximity to Mitchell St means lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jakeman2014
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 2 July 2016

I have stayed 3 times at Poinciana Inn now. The Manager Scott is always friendly and helpful. the rooms are spacious, clean, secure and quiet. Rooms are serviced daily and the staff are more than happy to help with any queries. The hotel is close to the city centre and walking distance to everything. Thank you guys for making my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank princessslh
roady646, Manager at Poinciana Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your great review and we hope to get the chance to see again in the future.

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and this motel was far from good. The rooms themselves were clean but the rooms were very old and outdated. The bathroom was very old and the shower was terrible the temperature was constantly changing from hot to cold and I didn't enjoy showering at all. The outside noise was really bad it sounded...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laura A
roady646, Manager at Poinciana Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Laura, I appreciate the nice comments about myself as I try to make peoples stay as pleasant as I can. The air con was repaired the same day and is something that happens occaisionally when you have 54 air cons to look after. Darwin is a nightclub hotspot and anywhere in the city area on Thursday to Sunday is...

Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Large rooms, clean and on a perfect location. Really friendly and helpful staff. We stayed here 3 months and this year we are back for another 3. Nice laundry, big kitchen and a nice pool with BBQ. Definitely worth your money! The staff is like family and the place is like being home, thanks guys! Much love, the Dutchies

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter B
roady646, Manager at Poinciana Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Pete, When it gets too cold back in Holland for you we will always have a place for you and your lovely partner.

Greater Perth, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Our room was fine, clean and the aircon (while noisy) worked. Outside the room was a different story. The lift didn't work, the general surrounds were grotty and the traffic coming in and out later in the evening was colourful to say the least. It is close to Mitchell St and walking distance to lots of places. However, more affordable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 5 September 2015

exterior from the street and website photos look OK - this is far from the truth of the reality. Grimy accommodation to say the least - sheets were grey and had stains. Bathroom was not clean and we did not enter unless we had footwear. the people that run the place obviously DO.NOT.CARE. There were obviously long term tenants here...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank funboarder
Werribee, Australia
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Don and I had an enjoyable stay here for our last two nights on our trip up the centre. The room was very clean and the air con was heaven in the Darwin heat. The price is affordable and the location is very central to walk around Darwin. Thank you both for an enjoyable stay Don and Wendy England

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Wendytaylor57
roady646, Manager at Poinciana Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Wendy , We hope to see you again in the future.

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.4 km away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#27 of 39 in Darwin
373 reviews
5.2 km away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#8 of 39 in Darwin
271 reviews
3.2 km away
Capricornia Motel
Capricornia Motel
#32 of 39 in Darwin
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 39 in Darwin
806 reviews
0.3 km away
Mediterranean All Suite Hotel
0.2 km away
H Hotel
H Hotel
#12 of 39 in Darwin
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WELCOMEThe Poinciana Inn is located in the heart of Darwin's tourist, shopping, business and entertainment centre. Cafe's, restaurants, pubs and the cinema are a short stroll away. Located on the corner of Mitchell & McLachlan Streets, you will find that Mitchell Street is fast becoming the tourist haven of Darwin.We are self-rated at 3.5 Star and offer a friendly personalised service. Notice: As of 15th September 2013 we are under new ownership and management. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Poinciana Inn

Address: Cnr Mitchell & McLachlan St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range: $63 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poinciana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Poinciana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Hotel Poinciana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Poinciana Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Poinciana Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Read as many reviews as possible, you get what you pay for, but at $145 upwards you should get more and can do better.”
 of 5 bubbles MariamA707, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“4th floor rooms have king beds and poolside view has nice morning sun and sheltered from hot afternoon darwin sun”
  • King Room
 of 5 bubbles princessslh, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go high - but there are only 3 floors. High to avoid late night noise from drunks”
 of 5 bubbles DaveOfNorwich, 16 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room away from the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles leethomo, 22 Jul 2014 | Read review
“The higher floors appear to have the better quality rooms”
 of 5 bubbles KentishScot, 8 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay