We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barramundi Lodge

1.0 km from Darwin centre
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
4 Gardens Rd | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barramundi Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 67: English reviews
Noosaville, Australia
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Natalie was great and very helpful, the place was very clean and quiet at night, easy walking access to downtown,and was very well priced, with A/con, fan, and cooking facilities, great parking, great" Garden Park" opposite the Lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank griffin962
Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

Accommodation can be expensive up north.. especially if its a 5 day extended trip...instead of paying over $120 for some small,overcrowded hotel room with no balcony, i searched the net and found a delightful, homely lodge. Across the road from the golf course..walking distance to Darwin City,Skycity Casino,The Botanical Gardens,Mindil Beach and many more famous Darwin locations... Barramundi Lodge is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 June 2015

We stayed here on 2 occasions on our family holiday. We stayed both on the bottom floor and the top floor as well. There were lots of other families there so my son enjoyed the company. There are shared facilities for each floor (1 toilet and one shower per floor) but we found them to be clean and we did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sare2014
Mount Gambier, Australia
Reviewed 17 April 2015 via mobile

Nice place. Friendly staff. Lovely pool and surrounds. Used the kitchen and laundry while I stayed. Nice and convenient. Close to eateries. Close to Darwin city. Walking distance. Highly recommended. Will stay again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Locky456
Reviewed 6 February 2015

I stayed in room 19 and it was so good for value, the lady was nice and caring. When i arrived the room was clean un like a lot of other places in darwin, it was also air conditioned with a tv and for what you pay it is a bargain. The barramundi lodge and the staff is great it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chadgaglioti
Manchester UK
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Stayed here in July 2014. It was as described, a good place to rest your head away form the main drag. Agreed it is not the crème de la crème, but this is reflected in the price. The majority do have thier own kitchen facilities but there is a clean comunal toilet and shower. All in all a great base...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephine A
Reviewed 21 October 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Lodge on 2 different occasions first time one night. I went on a trip Natalie put my luggage in her personal space so it was secure. On my return I stayed 4 days my luggage. Was waiting in my room. Annie was a wealth of information being a local of 25 years. The pool area was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KayHsu
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Never ever again. The politic is : This is what it is, and I have already charged it in your credit card now, so you can't do anything. Dirty, dangerous, uncomfortable, unfriendly. Please, don't stay there.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank JUAN CARLOS D
Holland
Reviewed 19 October 2014

As a travel agent I stayed at many places in the world. But this was by far the worst experience ever! It's a budget accommodation and you get what you pay for. In Asia or Africa you would get a 5 star hotel for the price you pay here, but ok I understand Australia is very expensive. Didn't like the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Miami16
Barra645, Manager at Barramundi Lodge, responded to this review

I am so sorry you have these bad feelings after your stay here at the lodge i was very suprised to learn of any rudeness being shown to our guest and the complaint has been spoken about . I see in your review you are an travel agent so i was suprised that you had not known that check-out time...

Reviewed 1 October 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here for four nights and found it quite relaxing to stay here. Yeah for the money u pay don't expect breakfast to be included, but they gey a kitchen n u can definitely cook for urself! I was busily walking n tripping around so mostly stay in lodge for my self-cooked dinner n sleep. It's actually a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haironghuang

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
1.6 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
836 reviews
0.9 km away
Skycity Darwin
Skycity Darwin
#18 of 38 in Darwin
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Argus Hotel Darwin
Argus Hotel Darwin
#17 of 38 in Darwin
74 reviews
1.9 km away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
1.7 km away
Cullen Bay Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Barramudi Lodge is a small family run lodge with 22 rooms. Our single rooms are shared bathrooms and shared kitchen. All other rooms are shared bathrooms with a kitchenette in the room. All our rooms are non-smoking. The single rooms open to a large reception area next to our pool and BBQ area. All other rooms open to a full length veranda. Barramundi Lodge is a 10-15 min walk into Darwin CBD area in this area you have your main Supermarkets - Post Office - Restaurants - Cafes -Nightclubs - Tourist attractions. Barramundi Lodge is a 5 min walk to the botanical gardens and a 10 min walk to the casino; straight across the road from the lodge is a golf course .We can arrange any sight seeing trips for you at the Barramundi lodge reception. Barramundi Lodge is pet friendly upon request only. Barramundi Lodge has free parking on-site. Barramundi Lodge has a coin operated laundry on-site. Barramundi Lodge has a lovely pool area with a BBQ area surrounded by palm trees. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barramundi Lodge

Address: 4 Gardens Rd | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range: $73 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barramundi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Barramundi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barramundi Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Barramundi Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are single the front rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles YakNgi, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All seemed the same”
 of 5 bubbles sunnyeast, 1 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Be sure that all your luggage are in your locked room and keep all your valuables with you”
 of 5 bubbles jeanfrancoiss2013, 1 Sep 2013 | Read review
“No room service or fitness centre but didn't expect accommodation to have any...plenty of walking tracks in and around the Darwin area for the healthy minded.”
 of 5 bubbles jasner5, 10 Apr 2013 | Read review
“pick any room”
 of 5 bubbles DuncanScottT, 4 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5