We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park

BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park 25 Hidden Valley Rd Berrimah, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (27)
Pool & Beach (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 8 campsites in Darwin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park – Waiting to be found! Locally owned and operated friendly boutique holiday park in Darwin. Just 10 minutes drive south of the Darwin CBD and the airport, you will find our hidden treasure, surrounded by giant shady trees and landscaped gardens. Our Darwin holiday park is nestled in a quiet street off the Stuart Highway so you can enjoy a relaxed, peaceful holiday in Australia’s Top End. We offer a great range of accommodation including modern 2 bedroom villas, family cabins and open plan units, which are all air conditioned, self contained and most with a private patio. BIG4 Hidden Valley also has lodge style accommodation for up to two people, ideal for workers, groups for short or long periods, or perfect for a quick getaway or night at Hidden Valley Race Track. For those camping or travelling with your own caravan and accommodation, Hidden Valley has a variety of ensuite, powered and premium, supersize and camping sites.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Restaurant
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
BBQ facilities
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Clothes rack
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars

Location

BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park 25 Hidden Valley Rd Berrimah, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800 Australia
BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park
322Reviews3Q+A47Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 158
  • 93
  • 31
  • 17
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Marzimc wrote a review Sept 2023
Port Noarlunga16 contributions1 helpful vote
Such a delight to find super friendly and helpful people at the end of my long adventure. Pulled up after hours without a reservation and was treated exceptionally well. The location was ideal to return a rental campervan and head to the airport in the morning. Am very grateful to all the staff specifically the manageress. Regards with appreciation, Marie
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Bed in lodge super comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Judy371 wrote a review Aug 2023
Byron Bay, Australia15 contributions15 helpful votes
HIDDEN Valley, never again....unfortunately hidden no more. - Dusty building site next door. - Hidden Valley Motorsports Complex very close by, loud competitive drag racing till 11pm. Luckily we only booked for 1 night. - Early morning airplanes flying low. Stressed and Sleep deprived.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dani Walter, General Manager at BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Responded 20 Aug 2023
Sorry to hear that Judy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Robin M wrote a review Aug 2023
Darwin, Australia3 contributions2 helpful votes
What a great place to stay. Darwin is an incredible place, people are friendly and lots to do and the best part about it is the Hidden Valley Caravan Park. It is a quick drive into town down a major freeway and the park is well maintained and the people are really friendly. Management have the park working well, it is peak period at the moment and yes, there are some times when the vans have to queue for a short time while booking in, but the team have the process down to a fine art, so getting onto your site is pretty easy. Sites are great and there are lots of facilities. When we were there the semi finals of the FIFA Women's World Cup were being played and there was music, some food vans and a large screen to watch the game on. How's that for service. Really recommend this park 10/10.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It does get crowded in peak season, but so does everywhere else, but Hidden Valley handle the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dani Walter, General Manager at BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Responded 20 Aug 2023
Thank you so much for such a lovely review :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mark I wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
On booking and arrival, I had high hopes due to the location and facilities on offer. That all went south once I was asked to come back after setting up my site to settle the outstanding amount that was owning for the stay. Requesting a guest to come back after setting up is a massive inconvenience and waste of everyones time. After a long drive from Kakadu (some may travel further then us), I then needed to navigate the park (extremely tight area where we were placed), get the family squared away, then walk the entire length of the park back to reception to pay the remainder of the fees. This couldn't have chewed up anymore time if I tried. I've worked in the industry and understand there is an attempt being made here to fasten the pace of check in and get people moving out of the short and narrow driveway, (approaching guests as they arrive and having the paperwork printed out with keys starts to form a good impression for those appreciate efficiency) - but it stops there and it becomes crystal clear that the manager who decided that moving customers through in this way is not interested in welcoming people into the park, they want the driveway cleared at your expense of time and don't care if you're tired, having screaming kids, or a wife who keeps asking you why you're walking all the way back to the office to clear up the payment when it could have been done on arrival. The manager fails on this occasion. Unless you get a wireless eftpos machine out there, scrap this idea. It's rude we see right through it. The young lady who I spoke to was lovely, and did her best to smile through it which I commend her for. Don't put your staff in this position without providing the appropriate tools, some may not be as calm as me and I suspect she'd probably received her fair share of criticism if this remains the standing policy. I'd happily park out on the street if needed and do everything once and I'm sure many tired travellers would agree that this technique is self serving to managers and a tired attempt at trying to be efficient. Reminding me several times prior to departing the driveway to scan the tag in and out was some sort of joke as the boom gate remained open for the next 24 hours. The facilities we used were clean (didn't use the pool or other amenities) however the size of ensuite sites are incredibly tight for a van as large as ours is (dimensions were provided on booking). We couldn't enjoy the use of our awning because our van had to be backed so far up it was essentially sitting under the eave of the amenities building. The ensuite had cost cutting written all over it. I paid for privacy and ended up feeling like I was sharing a toilet with the bloke next door due to the insanely huge gaps at the top of the walls basically joining every toilet like a public toilet block. Had I known this would be the set up, I would have saved the extra money I paid for what I thought would be a convenience and taken a grass site somewhere else. The lawn mowing at 7am on a Sunday morning is a little rich. We weren't affected but again, this is another example of not caring about your guests. Not much changed around 8,9 or 10. It could have waited, no one was going anywhere in a hurry, a ride on was not something I expected to walk out too while having a morning cup or tea. Dropping the keys off was as pleasant as our frustrating welcome. I walked in was stared at by a lady behind the counter who was more interested in averting her eye-line then acknowledging my existence and receiving the keys were finished with. I found this moment to be cold and confusing, especially after I caught the tail end of the previous conversation she had with a guest who was just walking out as I entered the office who was lucky enough to get some laughs and "have a good one" as they left. I prompted the conversation and placed the keys down to a half assed, "seeya" as I began to exit the room. We paid 150 for 2 nights in good faith and based on our experience, we would have been better off at a Hipcamp up the road with loads more space for half the cost. I expect that whoever reads these comments will be very quick to judge me, completely write off everything I've written and assume I'm just "another whinging customer who didn't get what they wanted" and I implore you to read back through what I've written. I never asked for anything above which was agreed in the rental of the site and I didn't kick up a fuss about any of my/our experiences. This industry is in trouble, costs are rising excessively to keep parks open and consumers are bearing the brunt of inflated rates and terrible customer service standards. As a young family with plenty of travel years ahead of us, we're tired of paying this kind of money to be laughed at and treated poorly. It's not no wonder why so many are seeking alternatives, branding isn't everything.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dani Walter, General Manager at BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Responded 16 Aug 2023
Thank you for your comments, Mark, and for taking the time to leave this feedback. We will take it onboard and look at ways to continue to look after the safety of our guests, whilst not having guests feel as you did. We apologise we did not make it clear that you could call us or pop into reception at your convenience, as opposed to having to have to come up to the office and will investigate obtaining portable EFTPOS machines. Our ensuite sites were built over 20 years ago with the heat of the tropics in mind, again, we will look at ways to make them feel more private in the future. Safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Heather W wrote a review Aug 2023
7 contributions2 helpful votes
Top spot for touring around Darwin. Staff are amazing. Very friendly and helpful. We had car problems so had to move things around and they were so accommodating. Great cafe with good coffee. Unfortunately going to close soon unless they can get someone to take over. The amenities blocks are cleaned twice a day and are spacious too
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dani Walter, General Manager at BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Responded 10 Aug 2023
Thank you so much for such a lovely reveiw Reveiws like this make all our hard work, worth it :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Snowmumyub wrote a review Aug 2023
Melbourne26 contributions25 helpful votes
Our cabin was perfect for our 3 nights stay, although a few more basis were missing. Salad bowl and servers would have been great as would paper toweling. Sitting on the deck after a day exploring was so relaxing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dani Walter, General Manager at BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Responded 9 Aug 2023
Thank you for your review, please know that if you had of requested those items during your stay we would have provided them for you. See you next time
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rosaleen S wrote a review July 2023
1 contribution
+1
This park is having a lend. They are letting out sites that are not ready next to a construction site. Dusty, small and no shade as trees not grown. A work in progress that needs probably another year and a lot more work to justify charging the same price as the sites in the rest of the park. The older section is lovely and green. The greed of this park is shameful. Just shove people in same $55 per night fee. These sites should be much cheaper and people advised BEFORE they arrive so they can plan ahead if they don’t want an inferior awful site. It’s the worst experience we have had.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get a clear confirmation what site they are giving you.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dani Walter, General Manager at BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Responded 26 July 2023
Thank you for your review. At the time of booking you were advised they it was a newly developed site. On arrival you were escorted to the site so you could inspect or move on without charge. You chose to book and pay for two nights. Our grass powered sites in the same area are $60 per night. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your experience
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Max P wrote a review July 2023
1 contribution
Being on a site right on top of a main road with the feeling that your bed is about to be run over by trucks at 4.30 in the morning after an evening of drag racers doing burnouts at the motor sports centre across the valley does not fit my idea of a restful nights sleep or relaxing time spent in Darwin
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Being on a site right on top of a main road with the feeling that your bed is about to be run...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dani Walter, General Manager at BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Responded 23 July 2023
Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael P wrote a review July 2023
Sydney, Australia94 contributions15 helpful votes
Overflowing rubbish bins, speeding thru the park, pool area not maintained, small site given when booked for large van. The boom gate was open most times allowing non residents to enter using the facilities which is a security problem. We were at this park 7 years ago and it was extremely well maintained. Can’t say the same now
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you travel with children , beware of the speeding vehicle
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dani Walter, General Manager at BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Responded 23 July 2023
Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LAURA MAE K wrote a review June 2023
Sydney, Australia782 contributions104 helpful votes
Pending your location given in the park, you could have a good or bad experience. Ours was average because we were in the very back of the park, which backed onto a roadworks site. They did advise that it was a new part of the park but was not worth the money we were charged. The price should be tiered so you pay for what area you are in the new area or established older area. The amenities were quite good. The showers were clean and fairly new. The laundry blocks were also very good. One thing to keep in mind was that this was not a coin-operated facility. You had to utilize a QR code on your phone to then pay. Could be hard for older travellers. The pool was nice for a dip in the afternoon. There is a small on-site cafe that opens a limited time in the morning and again for dinner. We did not get a chance to try this as it did not work with our time. A little way from the city if you have to take a cab or UBER. Midway Tavern was just up the road for takeaway or in in-house dining. Also available is a Liquor Legend Shop for your alcohol needs.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dani Walter, General Manager at BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Responded 23 July 2023
Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Darwin area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$103 - AU$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryTop EndDarwin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BIG4 HIDDEN VALLEY HOLIDAY PARK (AU$101): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Darwin) - Photos of Campground - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Darwin Kart Hire (0.8 km) and Reidy's Fishing Lures (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cannons Kitchen, Santa Fe Restaurant, and Tommo's Pies.
Are there opportunities to exercise at BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Burnett House (9.4 km), The Old Town Hall (8.4 km), and Survivors’ Lookout (8.8 km).
Is BIG4 Hidden Valley Holiday Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.