We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kings Canyon Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kings Canyon Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,506 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kings Canyon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,076: English reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We arrived here by bus from Uluru and it was very hot!!! The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful . We were fortunate enough to have a spar room and one side was plate glass. The view of the stars was unbelievable . The room was impeccably clean. For dinner in the restaurant we had one of the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rw309-mark1
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay in a Deluxe Spa room . We are pleased to be able to offer the best in Outback hospitality and facilities in our remote location within Watarrka National Park. Glad to hear our wonderful staff , including Matt , made your visit even more special . We look forward to your...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We stayed three nights at the Kings Canyon Resort, and we loved every minute of it. Firstly, the setting is stunning. It really is in the middle of nowhere, with small red earth hills just outside your window (the biggest window being next to the spa bath - what a view!). The rooms are large, clean, comfortable, and most importantly,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue V
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Sue V for your review of your stay in one of our Deluxe Spa Rooms . So delighted to read you enjoyed the tranquillity of our natural bushland setting amidst the spectacular landscape of Watarrka National Park . We are very proud to be able to offer our hospitality services and facilities in such a remote location for...

Reviewed 2 February 2017

When you go to Kings Canyon you can stay at Kings Canyon Resort. It is a nice place with pool and restuarent. It is close to the canyon and they offer drinks at sunset. Our visit was outside the holidays but It is still nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Brian N for your lovely comments regarding your stay at Kings Canyon Resort. We are located only 10kms from Kings Canyon itself, which enables all guests to enjoy the remote facilities in style ! Our Sunset viewing platform with its portable bar and amazing views over the George Gill ranges and Watarrka National Park is a highlight for...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017

In the middle of the outback this resort has a range of different types of accommodation. We stayed in the hotel which was in single storey arrangement. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was adequate. You don't come here for a long stay but to access the local scenery. Don't expect Wi-Fi and mobile signals or extensive television channels. That...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Philip S Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Kings Canyon resort. We do offer a range of accommodation and camping options , including our budget Lodge rooms with shared facilities , Hotel Standard rooms - each with their own outdoor balcony and bathroom that includes a bath, and our Deluxe Spa rooms offering the ultimate...

Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

If you want visit the kings canyon..Just this place is really close but Dirty! Old! Room like prison.. better sleep in the car. They can't call this place "resort". Look like a ghost town. Please don't go there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Odoardo S
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

As the only resort in miles they can price as they want. At hotels.com it claimed that the rooms should be 28 square meters, but the room was less than 20 and very basic. Bed was bad, after 2 nights our backs struggled. Toilet facilities was really dirty even if I came there 1 minutes after they cleaned it. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arnt E
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Arnt E You booked and stayed in a Budget Double room with shared bathrooms and are priced as the cheapest rooms in our resort at only $129 per night These Backpacker Lodge style rooms are small, and designed for the budget travellers . We do offer upgrades to standard hotel rooms , which are the advertised rooms of 28...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2017

My husband and I visited in November during the off season, as a result the resort was only about 10% full with limited services available. The staff numbers were at a minimum. We booked a Deluxe Spa Room which was lovely. It featured 2 Queen Beds and an ensuite bathroom, with a large spa and private balcony. The window from...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jeanie U
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jeanie U Delighted to hear you enjoyed your 2 night stay at Kings Canyon Resort in one of our Deluxe Spa rooms. we are indeed located only 10kms from Kings Canyon itself amongst the amazing spectacle that is Watarrka National Park. The Rim Walk does close at 9am on days where it is forecast to be 36 degrees celcius...

Warrington, UK
Reviewed 12 January 2017

If you're driving the red centre then this is one of the few places to stay. We were glad we'd booked a deluxe room, as this was adequate. It was pretty clean, with a small balcony and spa bath. Unfortunately the room smelled a bit of drains, and the air con was leaking a bit. For evening meal we ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warrington_UKVicky
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Warrington_UKVicky for your review of your stay in one of our Deluxe Spa rooms. Our Reception operates 24 hours per day , and we maintenance staff on call so that we can attend to any guests requests at any time. During the hotter months of November - March we operate Carmichael's Restaurant and the Thirsty Dingo Bar ....

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We slept at kings canyon resort on our way from Ayers Rock to Alice Springs in order to visit Kings Canyon. The only good point is that the resort is quite close to the canyon. Once arrived we had the first good news: no water for the next 12 hours. Then in the room we found an incredible variety of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Federico C
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Frederico C Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Kings Canyon Resort. We are very proud to be able to offer the wide range of services and facilities throughout the hotter summer months such as Carmichael’s Restaurant , Sunset Viewing Platform, Thirsty Dingo Bar , Desert Oaks Bistro, Outback Oasis General Store , 2 swimming pools, free...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel is some 8 KM from Kings Canyon. It is made up of a series of cabins in rows of five around the pool and some open ground. The room was nothing special, but OK. Reception was efficient if not overly friendly or customer focused. Breakfast and dinner were unmemorable - nothing special The only reason for staying is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wellipoo
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Wellipoo Kings Canyon Resort is located 10 kms by road from Kings Canyon itself. Our 128 hotel Standard and Deluxe Spa rooms are spread over a vast area and nestled into the surrounding rock escarpment. The interior of the "circle" has remained as natural bushland as is befitting our location with Watarrka National Park . The exception to this...

528 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (517)
Viewed
Room/Suite (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (218)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Near Kings Canyon Resort

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Price Range: $129 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kings Canyon Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Kings Canyon Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get one close to pool”
 of 5 bubbles quarryhouse99, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Walk the Rim early in the morning, like at 6:30 am to avoid the heat.”
 of 5 bubbles deniso512, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The spa rooms have a gorgeous view and are very private and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles SueV503, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Premium room is the Spa Room (and it's priced accordingly)”
 of 5 bubbles JeanieU, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take a room that gets morning sun as afternoon sun is intense.”
 of 5 bubbles jd1701, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5