We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Desert Palms Alice Springs

74 Barrett Dr, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (137)
Room & Suite (34)
Pool & Beach (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 12 hotels in Alice Springs
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
An oasis in the outback, the Desert Palms is a 3.5 star outback property offering individual studio villa accommodation, set around a crystal clear free-form pool with island, waterfall and surrounded by tropical gardens. All villas are air-conditioned and include bougainvillea-covered verandahs, private en suites and kitchenette facilities. The hotel offers outstanding value for the visitor wanting comfort at an affordable price. We're located in the main accommodation centre of Alice Springs on the banks of the Todd River, close to town, Lasseters Casino - Alice Springs entertainment hot spot, the Convention Centre and the Alice Springs Golf Club is our backyard. Some of the best restaurants in Alice Springs are within meters of the Desert Palms. These include the Golf Course Club House, Hanumans (Indian/Thai) and Balloons Bistro at the Double Tree by Hilton and four restaurants at Lasseters Casino including the Juicy Rump. We offer a small kiosk/shop on-site where food items and liquor can be purchased, a guest laundry, BBQ area, espresso coffee machine in reception, secure gated off street parking directly outside each villa and FREE Wifi. Desert Palms offers a calm, peaceful environment, which creates a sense of relief for the weary traveller. After a hectic day of travelling by road or air take pleasure in watching the world go by on the privacy of your own private balcony surrounded by palm trees while watching the spectacular sunsets over the MacDonald Ranges.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Hiking
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Convenience store
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English
594Reviews8Q+A83Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 136
  • 248
  • 133
  • 52
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Damien M wrote a review Jan 2024
Darwin, Australia56 contributions18 helpful votes
Very welcoming staff happy friendly and very Helpful for tours and information.. The bungalow style accommodation is very Clean and comfortable Close to town and right next door to the golf Club we’re you can access by code on gate They do pizzas etc there 7 days a week and Cold beer .. Swimming pool is amazing especially visiting in Summer 45 + degrees
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Heidi B wrote a review Oct 2023
13 contributions3 helpful votes
Easy to find Desert Palms . Friendly staff, Older style Rooms, Three star accommodation, Pool was refreshing, Golf Course for a meal was a nice surprise. Tour operators picked us up and dropped us back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michelle M wrote a review Sept 2023
Sydney, Australia197 contributions64 helpful votes
On quiet street away from town centre. Close to other hotels and casino. Plenty of cabins, very clean inside cabins and well maintained within resort. Lovely pool area, well shaded with tables and chairs. Security gates which are closed once reception is closed. Small kitchenette including fridge/freezer, microwave and other kitchen basics. Short walk or drive to golf club which have great value meals.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
majelaja2 wrote a review Aug 2023
Lauderdale, Australia139 contributions75 helpful votes
These cabins have all you need for a short stay in Alice Springs. The reception staff were all very friendly and very helpful. It is about a 20 minute walk into the town along the Todd River, but apart from a visit to the grocery store, we didn't need to go into the town because everything we needed was this end of town. There is a small range of breakfast things in reception and tea and coffee making in the cabin. The pool was set out well and very clean The Golf Club was right on our back-door step through a locked gate, and the meals and drinks were very good, extensive and reasonably priced. The restaurants a few minutes walk towards the casino were also great, as was the cafe at the Botanic Gardens which served a great breakfast. So there really wasn't any need to go into the town. The rooms were clean and blankets in the cupboard, which we needed because the nights got cold. I'd recommend it for a short stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rosie wrote a review May 2023
Glen Allen, Virginia2 contributions1 helpful vote
Checked into room and stayed 30 min. Wanted to lay down for a bit and the second I pulled back the sheets a spider crawled across the bed. I immediately smashed it. Also noticed there was some kind of tree or bush debris in the bed. I knew I couldn’t comfortably stay there so went to check out. I told the girl at the front desk the situation and she said, “This is the outback what do you expect?”And then she said that she would have to charge me for that day since I didn’t want to try another room even though I was there half an hour and I found an insect crawling on the bed. I had already paid for the room because I booked through Travelocity and I figured I’d just handle it when I get home. The hotel refused to refund me at all and said that I had to wait 20 days while they investigated it and wanted to know if I have pictures as if I was lying about the situation. I finally got a refund for the two nights after placing a dispute with my credit card. I’m still upset that they wouldn’t give me the $140 back especially since I found the spider And I did not appreciate a girl telling me that this is the outback and that’s just what’s gonna happen because when I checked into the new hotel, I had no bugs at all in my room. Also, the Wi-Fi is terrible. I had a hard time trying to book another hotel since I hardly had a connection. Checked into the hotel next-door had a wonderful Wi-Fi connection and a nice clean room with no insects plus it had restaurants on site. So if you want to risk having bugs crawling in your ears or on your face at night, go ahead and stay here
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Angie Reidy, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs
Responded 19 May 2023
My staff do remember you and they both have testified to me what happened. They felt you were exaggerating over a spider. You did come to reception and there was a very quick conversation as you were insisting to leave the hotel right away because the spider might kill you. One of the receptionists was trying to calm you and offer you another room and insists they never spoke in the tone you are applying. They said “I’m really very sorry, it’s the outback and it’s very hard to control whatever animals or insects are trying to crawl in the rooms” (in a very apologetic voice). They said but we can move you to a different room if you would like”. You refused and said you had booked next door already. She then told you “I’m sorry for that however tonight will be considered as charged and you can ask for a refund with the people you booked with". We do not receive payment from agents some times up until 20 days after guests stays which is the reason we could not give you a refund for the other 2 nights and you needed to go back to your agent. You then proceeded to stormed out and that was it. So we made a note on your reservation for future reference of what had happened. You also mentioned the Wifi was slow or not working but you did manage to book next door with. We normally do not have a problem with the Wifi even though Alice Springs does not yet have NBN and we do have many routers throughout the property. We did not think you agent would give you a refund so we were the actual people who waived the other 2 nights so you would get a refund. Kind regards Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rajeeva_SL wrote a review Apr 2023
Melbourne, Australia30 contributions17 helpful votes
We stayed in Desert Plam for two nights during our road trip from Melbourne. It was a very pleasant stay as property is conveniently located and very well secured. Room is spacious and had small balcony area. You can prepare small meal also in the room. Pool is the highlight of the hotel and it’s kids friendly. You can park your vehicle next to your villa. Staff is very helpful, specially the reception.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Room close to pool would be ideal.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angie Reidy, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs
Responded 23 Apr 2023
Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Holly He wrote a review Mar 2023
2 contributions
Booked this hotel because it is recommended by Qantas airline. A bit of disappointed because the very basic facilities and been bite by the insects at night. A lot s of insects covered the net sliding door during net. There are also some moths and other small insects around the lamp. It is not worth for the money they charge. I prefered to stay at Hilton at same price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: To choose a hotel without the insects around.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Stephenie C wrote a review Dec 2022
Melbourne, Australia7 contributions
While the other two Hotels along this strip are more up-market, I'm so glad I chose Desert Palms to stay for my 4 nights in Alice Springs. The Villas are spacious and comfortable inside and relaxing and quiet outside with their own private balcony. It's an easy walk into the town centre and very close to the Casino, Golf Club and the Hilton for restaurants and bars. The pool area is beautiful and very well maintained. The whole complex is secure and the staff are all very helpful and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Each Villa has it's own car parking space right at the door
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Iris d wrote a review Nov 2022
11 contributions1 helpful vote
Very nice stay. Comforable rooms, a lovely pool, and very friendly staff. Loved the palm trees and galahs visiting. I stayed here one night before flying to Darwin. It was really nice recharging and taking a good rest after a long trip through the outback.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
P F wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
It's not a 5 star luxury resort but great value for money. Very good price if you stay more than 2 nights, great location, rooms (cabins) atw beautiful and clean, beds are comfy. Grounds and pool area beautiful. Easy walk to town centre and so close to great golf club and other resorts with good restaurants. I would stay here again for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Alice Springs area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$138 - AU$161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
desert palms hotel alice springs, desert palms alice springs
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryRed CentreAlice Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DESERT PALMS ALICE SPRINGS (AU$138): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Desert Palms Alice Springs
Which popular attractions are close to Desert Palms Alice Springs?
Nearby attractions include Royal Flying Doctor Service Museum (1.1 km), Women's Museum of Australia & Old Gaol Alice Springs (1.2 km), and Olive Pink Botanic Garden (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Desert Palms Alice Springs?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Desert Palms Alice Springs?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Desert Palms Alice Springs?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Desert Palms Alice Springs?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Desert Palms Alice Springs?
Conveniently located restaurants include Simply Korean Restaurant, Hanuman Alice Springs, and Bean Tree Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Desert Palms Alice Springs?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Desert Palms Alice Springs?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve (4.4 km).
Is Desert Palms Alice Springs accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.