Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Desert Palms Alice Springs

74 Barrett Dr, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871 Australia
Traveller (137)
Rincón bajo la TV de la habitación 106: ¡regalo sorpresa!
Room & Suite (34)
Swimming Pool
Pool & Beach (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
AU$160
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
AU$160
Fully refundable before Tue, 23 Apr
No fees just great deals
AU$132
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#3 of 12 hotels in Alice Springs
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
An oasis in the outback, the Desert Palms is a 3.5 star outback property offering individual studio villa accommodation, set around a crystal clear free-form pool with island, waterfall and surrounded by tropical gardens. All villas are air-conditioned and include bougainvillea-covered verandahs, private en suites and kitchenette facilities. The hotel offers outstanding value for the visitor wanting comfort at an affordable price. We're located in the main accommodation centre of Alice Springs on the banks of the Todd River, close to town, Lasseters Casino - Alice Springs entertainment hot spot, the Convention Centre and the Alice Springs Golf Club is our backyard. Some of the best restaurants in Alice Springs are within meters of the Desert Palms. These include the Golf Course Club House, Hanumans (Indian/Thai) and Balloons Bistro at the Double Tree by Hilton and four restaurants at Lasseters Casino including the Juicy Rump. We offer a small kiosk/shop on-site where food items and liquor can be purchased, a guest laundry, BBQ area, espresso coffee machine in reception, secure gated off street parking directly outside each villa and FREE Wifi. Desert Palms offers a calm, peaceful environment, which creates a sense of relief for the weary traveller. After a hectic day of travelling by road or air take pleasure in watching the world go by on the privacy of your own private balcony surrounded by palm trees while watching the spectacular sunsets over the MacDonald Ranges.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Hiking
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Convenience store
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English
597Reviews8Q+A83Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 136
  • 249
  • 135
  • 52
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bear80 wrote a review Sept 2020
Adelaide, Australia219 contributions61 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is in the perfect spot close yet not right in town so the area is quiet. There are 2 great places to eat, one next door at the Hilton and one a bit further down called the Juicy Rump. Juicy Rump was great for kids. The accommodation has a pool with swallow and deeper ends and the reception sells ice creams, drinks etc. There is no onsite bar but you can bring your own, you just need plastic cups by the pool. The accommodation is set into small separate villas/cabins. The feel is like a high end caravan park. The kitchen is tiny more a kitchenette, the bathroom is small too but fine for a short stay. Both are very tired looking. The main downside for us was the smell when we entered the cabin. I’m not sure what it was but we had to spray some scent and then air the room ( there is a unlockable screen door).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
janthefan wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom370 contributions309 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
When we first saw our room, I was disappointed. It was just so dull, everything beige and brown. Some colourful bedding would really give the rooms a lift.

But we used the hotel as a base, returning several times and it really grew on me. Parking outside the room was easy, the room itself was spacious, with a useful kitchenette, and a good shower room. The air con was reliable, and we enjoyed sitting on our little terrace, when the bush flies allowed.

Our cabin was on the side, overlooking scrub land, so was pretty quiet ... others overlook the pool or the laundry, both of which can be noisy. We did have some noisy neighbours, but that could happen everywhere.

The pool was great, though guests were openly flouting the rules, drinking from glass beer bottles while in the water. Some also played loud music which ruined the ambiance for everyone else. That said, it was still a lovely cool place to be amid the heat of Alice Springs.

The reception area was fine, and there are some food basics for sale ... the little butter portions were very useful.

As other reviewers have pointed out, the entrance to the hotel is closed to motor traffic at night. You get a punch code to raise the barrier.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LeahSydney01 wrote a review Dec 2020
Sydney, Australia587 contributions410 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a quad villa which was fairly small for 4 people but worked nonetheless.

The hotel is in a good location and had air conditioning. The pool was nice ( although not quite as nice as in the promotional photos).

The villas are a little aged and ours had a bit of a fried food smell in it. We also ran out of shower wash and shampoo on the second day of our stay which was a Sunday when housekeeping does not service the rooms. The tap in the bathroom made very loud plumbing ‘ shrieking’ noises. Having said all that, the place is not expensive and as such is OK value for money.

The laundry requires $1 coins (4 per cycle) so stack up on those if you plan to do laundry during your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Austraveller83yeah wrote a review Jan 2020
Oth2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Drove past on a previous stay in Alice and loved the look of the pool from the street, so decided to give it a shot. Unfortunately it looked good from the street but was disappointed once we checked in. Cabins are dated and poor. No fan for air circulation in cabin, only a air con that didn’t cool the room sufficiently. Bathroom was terrible. Issue with plumbing as whole cabin smelled like sewage. We blocked the drains with face washer and towels which stopped the smell from getting worse. Told reception and offered another cabin, after a trip to the pool (was dirty and needed some tlc) we went back to the room, which was bearable with drain blocked and we didn’t really want to relocate everything for a one night stay. The alternate cabin I was offered had a funky smell also, and had obviously been recently cleaned as it smelled like toilet air freshener, to the point it felt like they were covering up bad odour. No offer of help or discount, pay the extra few dollars and stay at the casino. Much more comfortable
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Thank you for your review. I are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and were not happy with our property. It was good to read though my staff offered you another room even though you did not take them up on the offer. You did mention no offer of help but I are a little confused where you mentioned previously they offered another room (and would have continued until you were happy with a room). We are 3.5 star and do try our best to cater for this market where the majority of our guests are happy. I are glad though to read you enjoyed your stay at the Casino.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EJH wrote a review Dec 2021
Melbourne, Australia92 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Desert Palms has become our first choice in Alice Springs. We have stayed here several times and are often down in Alice from Tennant Creek and love that the villas are all separated from the others. The price for the accommodation is on-point and whole place feels like a lovely resort, the villas are always clean and comfortable and having a full kitchen available is very handy. The bathrooms are quite basic, but do the job. We've never had a single issue here, and we are particularly grateful for the excellent service recently when Tennant Creek went into lockdown so we were unable to get to Alice Springs and stay here. Our booking had ticked over to 'non-refundable' but they were very kind and understanding and refunded us anyway. Much appreciated given that this very frustrating situation was completely out of our control.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt L wrote a review Apr 2022
Woonona, Australia417 contributions206 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Desert Palms hotel is situated across the Todd River from Alice Springs CBD, near the golf course and adjacent to the Doubletree Hotel and the Crowne Plaza Lasseters Casino complex.

We stayed at the Desert Palms for one night, were really impressed by the place. The accommodations are a series of cabins, our one had a double bed and two singles. It also had a kitchenette and ensuite, front deck and good air conditioning.

It is a more basic type of property, but it was comfortable and you could park your car directly out the front of each cabin. There is a resort style pool which was very refreshing. The staff at check in were friendly, and there was also a range of grocery items and alcohol available for sale to in-house guests at reception.

Online booking is available and is easy to do. The property does charge a credit card surcharge of 1.8% but this can be avoided by paying in cash at the property. I’m happy to use a credit card for booking and preauthorisation, but I don’t see any value in paying 1.8% extra. The property was happy to accept my payment in cash without the surcharge- I noted this intention on my online booking. The rate of $180/nt for the cabin I booked was good value.

There is no restaurant at the hotel, however there is a gate that goes through to the golf club where meals are available, and it is a short drive across to restaurants in Alice Springs CBD. The aircon is activated by placing your room key in a slot- while this means your room may be hot when you get there, the aircon worked very well and cooled the room fast.

There is a deck with a table and chairs at the front of each cabin, which was a nice place to sit and have a drink. The property gates are closed in the evenings and you will be provided with a code to open the gates. This is a good security measure.

I enjoyed my stay at Desert Palms and would happily stay there on a future stay in Alice Springs.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Paying in cash avoids credit card surcharge!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
allan s wrote a review Sept 2022
Kalgoorlie,Western Austarlia252 contributions153 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
3 of us spent 2 nights here on our motorcycle ride around Australia.
Never having stayed in Alice Springs before didnt realize it is a reasonable distance from town, but food easily available nearby, We ate at the Alice Springs golf club, directly behind Desert Palms , very busy both nights with locals and the food explains why, great value.
I am glad we stayed here and that it is out of town as it was peaceful and quiet, no roaming scallywags.
Each unit is totally seperate and self contained with a verandah, full amenities, very modern and tidy, roomy, great water pressure and temperature so very happy to be here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JemmaB wrote a review June 2021
Melbourne, Australia264 contributions74 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a last minute booking as we had to extend our time in Alice Springs. The room was basic but had aircon, tv, small kitchenette. We requested a cot at booking but there wasn't one set up when we arrived. After a phone call to reception one was bought to the room about an hour later.
The reason for our lower score was that the floor needed a more thorough clean - there was visible hair, dirt etc on the floor in the main living space and bathrooms. Just needs a good vac and mop between guests. No bath mat was provided either.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dazza wrote a review Nov 2022
Melbourne, Australia17 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we checked in at reception the staff at the desk were nothing short of AMAZING!!!! They were consistently friendly, professional and very attentive. This was the highlight for me. The room was OK but a little drab. Could do with a little renovation. The pool was very clean although a little cold, The location of the Golf Club restaurant via the back gate access to Desert Palms guests was excellent as it meant you didn't have to walk all the way around. Also loved how close the Casino was as it offered a couple of great restaurants and some entertainment playing of the pokies. The Hanunan Indian restaurant at the Hilton Doubletree was absolutely to die for. Would highly recommend having dinner there. The resort is a little out of the main centre but if you go early in the morning , it's managable. Love your work, guys on the front desk. Thanks for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
S W wrote a review Mar 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice and quiet. Pool area is great.
Rooms need to be updated and modernised- quiet outdated kitchenette & bathroom - grout missing in the bathroom tiles, Shower head covered in calcium and not able to be moved, sheets were lovely but the bed spread outdated (Bed comfort was average, quite budget).
Was quite disappointed in how outdated the Villa interior is - There is so much potential for these Villa's!
Love the villa style & vibe making the stay a little more private.

Given we live in Alice and are just after a nights R&R every once in a while I'd probly be inclined to spend the extra $50/$60 for a more luxurious night at Double Tree or Lasseters.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angie Reidy, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs
Responded 19 Apr 2021
Thank you for your review. Maybe you were in one of the rooms that had not been renovated as we were doing 10 per week. But last week we finished a major and very expensive upgrade and all the villa's now have brand new kitchenettes. The curtain are also being replaced in the very near future. I will look into the calcium on the shower rose though. As you know being a local this is a major problem in Alice Springs with so much calcium in the water even though we have a massive water soften on site before the water goes to the rooms. Kind regards Angie Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Fangs74
Darwin, Australia47 contributions2 helpful votes
6:30 AM till 9PM from memory but probably varies in wet and dry season
Answer from Angie R
23 contributions12 helpful votes
Hi, if you mean the supermarket and main CBD approximately 15 to 20 minutes depending how fast a walker you are. A taxi is approximately $8. If you are looking for restaurants we have several around us. The Golf Club Club house 100 mtrs. Hilton with restaurants next door and the Lassetters Casino approximately 500 mtrs. Regards
Answer from Angie R
23 contributions12 helpful votes
Yes we do have brochures in our front office and the reception staff are more than willing to phone and make bookings for you. Regards AR
Kim C asked a question Aug 2016
Illawong, Australia17 contributions3 helpful votes
Are towels for the pool provided?
Answer from Angie R
23 contributions12 helpful votes
Yes just ask at the reception for a pool towel.
scrapgingergill asked a question Aug 2016
Canberra, Australia120 contributions62 helpful votes
Hi do you have rooms with wheelchair access, disabled facilities?
Answer from Angie R
23 contributions12 helpful votes
Hello, we have 4 rooms with a ramp to the balcony and rails in the bathroom. These rooms only have 1 x queen size bed. The property is all flat and ground level. Please call the property on 0889 525977 if you would like to ask some more questions. Kind Regards Angie
Rajeeva_SL wrote a tip Apr 2023
Melbourne, Australia30 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room close to pool would be ideal."
Read full review
Holly He wrote a tip Mar 2023
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"To choose a hotel without the insects around. "
Read full review
Stephenie C wrote a tip Dec 2022
Melbourne, Australia7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Each Villa has it's own car parking space right at the door"
Read full review
D P wrote a tip Oct 2022
Wellington, New Zealand6,709 contributions740 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dodgy area and very old and tired and in desperate need of modernisation to make it good again"
Read full review
Matt L wrote a tip Apr 2022
Woonona, Australia417 contributions206 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Paying in cash avoids credit card surcharge!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Alice Springs area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$143 - AU$199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
desert palms hotel alice springs, desert palms alice springs
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryRed CentreAlice Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DESERT PALMS ALICE SPRINGS (AU$143) 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Desert Palms Alice Springs
Which popular attractions are close to Desert Palms Alice Springs?
Nearby attractions include Royal Flying Doctor Service Museum (1.1 km), Women's Museum of Australia & Old Gaol Alice Springs (1.2 km), and Olive Pink Botanic Garden (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Desert Palms Alice Springs?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Desert Palms Alice Springs?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Desert Palms Alice Springs?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Desert Palms Alice Springs?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Desert Palms Alice Springs?
Conveniently located restaurants include Simply Korean Restaurant, Hanuman Alice Springs, and Bean Tree Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Desert Palms Alice Springs?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Desert Palms Alice Springs?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve (4.4 km).
Is Desert Palms Alice Springs accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Alice Springs HotelsAlice Springs Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Alice SpringsHotels near Desert Palms Alice Springs
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars