We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ross River Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ross River Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 133: English reviews
Naracoorte, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Magnificent scenic road out to station but the man at desk was absolutely sick of tourists. I wasn't sure if he was just joking or plain rude, it appeared to be the latter i am afraid. Just stick to magnificent gorges on the way and remember to read signs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gofid
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and letting us know your experience. As the manager I was not on the property during this time that you mention, and the person concerned has been addressed. I am very sorry for the experience you received. The East Mac Donnell ranges are a magnificent location and not on the...

Glenbrook, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We had the good fortune to spend a couple of days camping at Ross River Resort. A beautiful place with all the amenities you need for camping. There are many beautiful walks in remote valleys to explore with a definite sense of the outback!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about our beautiful location. We think our campground is pretty special and gives you an opportunity to soak up the magnificent East Mac Ranges and explore. Some grass, basic amenities and an amazing backdrop! I think that is what it is all about :)

Melbourne
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We were at Ross River for an event but when we arrived there were only a few people there. It is a lovely spot. Over the weekend, the numbers rose to 700+ people but you could still get a hot shower and have room to move. The staff worked closely hard to keep everything clean and functioning and we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yeti5
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

The World Rogaining Titles were an amazing event to host at Ross River Resort and we had people from all over the world converging on us for a few days and then trekking off into the outback for a full on 24 hour event! Glad you had such a great time and it was a pleasure to be of service...

Brisbane
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Arrived late afternoon looking for a powered site to find the place fully booked by Rogaine for the weekend. However they allowed us to camp on the grassed area in front of the main building (this is a big thing as grass is not something these places will usually let vehicles onto) and connect to a power source with access...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneRaewyn
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Hosting World events and then accommodating individual travellers where we can is not a daily event but our approach is to try and look after ALL those who wander to the end of the Ross Highway and come across the Homestead and facilities. Glad you had a great time despite the huge influx of people we had, (bit busier than...

Sydney
Reviewed 6 July 2016

This is worth the 78 km drive to the end of the East MacDonnell Ranges. Staff very friendly and helpful. No need to book in for powered site at 40 dollars per night. Lots of space in lovely setting with clean toilet area and lots of showers. Homestead is beautifully perserved with large dining area and bar full of lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markmik
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. So glad you enjoyed your Ross River experience and there really is so much to see in the East Mac Donnell Ranges you have to stay longer than a night! Currently unpowered sites are $25 per night and powered $33. With a grassed campground it can be a...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 23 June 2016

The original homestead built around 1890 is the hub of this rustic resort. Located about 80km east of Alice amongst the East MacDonnall ranges, the trip out on an excellent road is a beaut experience in itself. We called in for lunch and can recommend the burger, with the lot! Didn't need dinner.... The resort has a caravan park as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaybee754
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Our burgers do have a great reputation! Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Make sure you come back for longer and stay next time :)

Maryborough, Australia
Reviewed 19 June 2016

This is a beautiful place to stay. They have walks available from moderate to very easy. You can have a fire if you wish. Fire wood is available if you don't bring your own. The Homestead is beautiful and you can sit back in comfort while having a drink. The food and all staff are very good and helpfull. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GregRita
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and I am suspecting that the shower issue, came from the ladies showers as the showers have been plumbed back to front to normal, and we do have signs up warning ladies on the outside of the cubicles but sometimes habit and even...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Beautiful drive through East McDonnell Ranges en route - lots of good walks along the way. Cabin very basic, forgot to put towels in room, but cheerily fixed. Central communal eating area very big with one intimate dining room for hire. Food very basic. It's fine as long as you don't expect much. It's the outback, so apparently an occasional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fra P
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The large dining room that houses the bar can seem large when not many people in there. We are lucky that there are three smaller intimate rooms in the historical homestead that people can utilise so as not to be "lost"in the larger space. They are actually not required to...

Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights a this lovely resort with our family and friends. Beautiful spot with lovely views. Clean facilities. Staff very friendly and helpful. Did day trips around the area to all the gorges. Highly recommend a stay for a few nights rest. Thanks Jodie and Mel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kylie W
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed our little bit of paradise here in Central Australia!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Stayed in a twin share cabin for the Big Sing in 2016. Decent cabins with good hot showers. A wonderful family service, loving and welcoming, every single person who served us. The stars at night are the best entertainment, the sunshine on the surrounding hills in the morning is the best wake up call. A definite glimpse of heaven.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mez6580
Jodie S, Manager at Ross River Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and I totally agree that this is heaven! And your days were full of song! What more can you ask for!

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (46)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
4.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
4.8 km away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
392 reviews
5.2 km away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
4.0 km away
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
5.8 km away
Chifley Alice Springs Resort
Chifley Alice Springs Resort
#3 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ross River Homestead is situated 85km east of Alice Springs and is set amongst the awe-inspiring East MacDonnell Ranges. Take the time to discover what is a magical part of the great Australian Outback and enjoy friendly,homely hospitality. Ross River Resort offers: -Rustic cabins with ensuite and air conditioning -Bunkhouse accommodation (seasonal) -Camp ground and caravan park with powered and unpowered sites (bookings not taken except for groups) -Swimming pool and spa -EFTPOS facilities -Dining room in historical homestead -Conference facilities and group catering -Stockman's bar -Bird life -Bushwalking -A haven for artists and writers -Fuel, ice and gas bottle refills -1.4 Km airstrip and helipads - Aviation clubs welcome ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ross River Resort

Address: Ross Hwy, Via Alice Springs | P.O. Box 3271, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Price Range: $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ross River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross River Resort Alice Springs, Northern Territory
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ross River Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ross River Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Review was for the resteraunt area.”
jaybee754, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Cabins probably vary significantly - ask Qs when booking. Keep away from pool area.”
281frap, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“some are pool side, good for families others quite and away from pool.”
JennyS511, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Bring your own wood and water, and check the hot water system is working!”
X8847KRalext, 20 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All cabins are unique another visit to Ross Ri”
LynG797, 31 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5