Home Backpackers
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Home Backpackers

238 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010 Australia
Traveller (5)
Bondi Beach
Pool & Beach (7)
Sydney Opera Bar
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#59 of 85 hostels in Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located just a few steps from Central station, HOME Backpackers has everything a Sydney Backpackers should have and heaps more! We offer comfortable budget accommodation right in the heart of Sydney and a jam-packed line up of entertainment each night. Our staff is a mix of travellers and true Sydney-siders who know the best places to party, eat, travel, see and experience. Reception is open 8 till 8, Early and late check in available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Vending machine
Game room
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Wifi
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Desk
Safe
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch

Location

238 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010 Australia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Sydney Airport
Central
4 minSydney Trains
Museum
7 minSydney Trains
15Reviews2Q+A0Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JWM_Seet wrote a review Oct 2019
Newcastle, Australia22 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed here for one night in September. We were both greeted with 2 friendly staff members who checked us in on arrival and advised us of the free wi-fi within the hostel. There is a $20 room key deposit which is refunded on check out.

We chose to stay in a private twin room with shared bathroom facilities. The room was dated but it had everything we needed for the one night. The room had a bunk bed which could fit two people on the bottom bunk and one person on the top bunk. Their was a desk, chair, mirror, a fan and a rack to store luggage/coats on.

The shower and bathroom facilities were clean. There are plenty throughout the hostel if the one closest to your room is occupied.The kitchen is small compared to other hostels I have stayed in. The seating area next to the kitchen we went to was limited. We didn't utilise the kitchen or outdoor area - we just simply went to check it out so the space may have been sufficient for other people.

Home Backpackers was within a 5 minute walk from Sydney's main train station (Central Station). From here you can access all of Sydney.

For the price we paid, we were satisfied and would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers
Responded 1 Oct 2019
Hin JWM_Seet Thanks for taking the time to leave a detailed review. We are pleased to hear you were found our staff members 'friendly' upon arrival. Yes we are an older style hostel & focus on our high cleaning standards which you mentioned were 'clean'. Hopefully see you again soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amztravellerblog wrote a review Sept 2019
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I really enjoyed the convenient location as could walk to all attractions around Sydney City. Also only a 5 minute walk from central station where I caught a train back to the airport.
Accommodation was a bit dated but was clean enough. Was great to have fast free Wifi from my room & staff were always approachable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers
Responded 1 Oct 2019
Hi Amzttravllerblog Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Our central location means most of Sydney's main attractions are in walking distance from hostel. We are an older style hostel & priced accordingly. We recently upgraded our WIFI to reach all rooms & are pleased to hear is working well. enjoy the rest of your travels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KatrinaKelso wrote a review Jan 2019
Kelso, United Kingdom72 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Very average hostel. I only stayed here because it was the cheapest place over New Year. Kitchen is tiny, the "social" area is just a TV room so there isn't really an area where people are sociable so because of this the hostel had no atmosphere. Lady on check in was nice but other staff/ people working for accommodation were a bit rude. The room was about 35 degrees at night time because there is no A/C and the fans don't even reach the top bunks. Definitely don't recommend staying in summer. Location was good and the price was reasonable but for a good hostel experience I would recommend staying elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers
Responded 4 Mar 2019
Hi KatrinaKelso Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Yes, as you mentioned you stayed here because we are one of the cheapest backpackers in Sydney. We advertise fans in all rooms & price suits accommodation profile. I suggest doing some research or pay a higher priced accommodation if wanting to manage your budget expectations. We have 2 sides to the hostel with 2 separate kitchens, 2 separate lounge/TV areas & outside smoking area. Our location being 5min from central station & short 30min walk to the harbour allows guests easy access within the city limits. Enjoy the rest of your travels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicolas K wrote a review Jan 2020
Ilford, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Having travelled the East Coast over the past couple months I have now stayed in a couple dozen hostels and this is easily the worst.

The place stunk as soon as we arrived & we discovered they were trying to cover this up with air fresheners. There was no proper air conditioning, the rooms were like saunas and the pillows were flat as pancakes so we had to use our clothes/towels to sleep properly.

Then we discovered the cockroaches. They were everywhere, dead and alive. The only positive is the friendliness of the staff and they were quick to spray our room.

In terms of the facilities, there was only one working shower in the B side of the hostel - which was filthy (no doubt because of the amount of people having to use it).

I am not a hostel snob but when I’m paying more than some other places which were much nicer I expect some level of comfort, even if it’s just cleanliness! Saying that the cleaner we came across was very lovely.

Overall awful hostel but lovely staff.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Hi 759nicolask We are sorry to hear you were displeased with your stay. The only negative reviews we have received are the last 3 from you & your friends. I disagree with ‘the place stinks’ but know rooms can have an odour due to some guests having bodily issues & staying in dorm accommodation. I suggest staying in a private room so you don’t come across this issue again but unfortunately does depend on your budget. Another complaint was ‘no proper air-conditioning. We only advertise Fans in Rooms. We do not advertise air-conditioning & that is why we are one of the cheapest hostels in Sydney. Please research future accommodations if you require certain facilities. Staff could of gave you another pillow if you just asked? Unfortunately Sydney is known for cockroaches & we occasionally have flare ups due to high temps & guests leaving opened and/ or unopened food in their rooms when we supply sealed containers in the 2 kitchens to store food in. We use regular pest control which seems to be working as cockroaches found in the corner of your room were dead. Staff also sprayed your room again straight away as you mentioned. The hostel provides 12 individual showers over A & B side. Sorry you weren’t informed about the location of all showers. Showers sometimes get busy during peak times. Showering outside these peak times is a great solution to avoid busier times. I will pass on your kind comments to staff who will appreciate your comments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy KB wrote a review Jan 2020
Australia1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we arrived the whole hostel has a weird smell to it. Reaching our room we found 4 dead cockroaches around the bin and under the beds, which i admit is great that they were dead, not great that they hadn’t been cleaned away. Following this we found a live one and let the staff know. They quickly agreed to sort it the following morning which was great! They used a non toxic spray on the carpet around the walls and we soon realised this is where the gross smell was coming from (despite every effort being made to cover this up with sickly sweet car airfreshners in every single room, bathroom and common area). On top if this there is no air-con, just a tiny fan on the wall so the room was unbearably hot all the time, the door didn’t lock from the inside, the pillows made two of us ill (we were fine once we ditched them) the soap in the bathroom was full of dead flies because it didn’t have a lid, the kitchen was dirty and rusty and someone had written ‘clean me’ about 4 times in the window mesh. The one time i used the tv room i had to brush a whole biscuit packet of crumbs off before i could sit down on the sofa. Stayed in a lot of hostels in Oz, and this is one of the worst.... Location is good but there are better bangs for your buck.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Hi akypbrown We are sorry to hear such a negative review. Over a hundred guests stayed here over the peak New Year period the only ‘same’ negative 3 reviews are from the one room where you & your friends stayed. I disagree with ‘the place stinks’ but know rooms can have an odour due to some guests having bodily issues staying in dorm accommodation. I suggest staying in a private room so you don’t come across this issue again but unfortunately does depend on your budget. We place air-fresheners in some rooms because it’s hard to approach certain guests about bodily hygiene as previously experienced guests getting offended when mentioned. Unfortunately Sydney is known for cockroaches & we occasionally have flare ups due to high temps & guests leaving opened and/ or unopened food in their rooms when we supply sealed containers in the 2 kitchens to store food in. We use regular pest control which seems to be working as cockroaches found in the corner of your room were dead. Staff also sprayed your room again straight away as you mentioned. Not sure why you couldn’t sleep on our pillows? Pillows are new & you were given a clean pillow case on arrival. You could of swapped pillows or grabbed another one if you would approached staff during your stay? We clean the kitchens & common areas multiple times during the day but can be left dirty due to guests not cleaning up after themselves. We have signs saying please clean up after cooking but unfortunately there are some inconsiderate guests in shared accommodation who just won’t clean. I’m sorry if you they were here during your stay. We are pleased to hear our location is ‘good’. Being situated 3 minutes from central station & a 30 minute walk to Sydney harbour enables guests easy access to a majority of Sydney’s attractions.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alice wrote a review Feb 2020
16 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I made a booking via phone a few hours before checkin time. Reception staff failed to put my name on my booking. When I arrived, another reception staff refused my checkin & said the staff who took my booking had left work. So, my checkin was unsuccessful & my taxi fare was wasted for nothing. I made a complaint to management via phone & email multiple times over 2 weeks but owner Troy didn't respond until I finally got hold of him one day but he only told me he'd look more into it. I am still awaiting for his reply up till this day !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Hi veryangrypatron - aka Alice Mak Alice, you were banned from HomeBackpackers several months ago along with a majority of Hostels throughout Sydney due to your rude & abusive behaviour. You called up muffling your voice to try & trick new staff into making a reservation. When you arrived & had to show your ID, our reservation system then flagged your name not to be checked in. You were then refused check-in. I don't know why TRIP ADVISOR would let you leave a review? Good luck finding suitable accommodation
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rhi s wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Like the name suggests Home Backpackers feels like home. Staff are friendly, helpful and social. Clean and comfortable, the only hostel I have stayed at that has an oven (on A side) which is a huge bonus! The rooms are spacious and cool even in the summer. Out of all the hostels I've stayed at I would recommend Home Backpackers in a heartbeat
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura V wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Home Backpackers it's literally my Home in Australia.
After trying at least 10 different hostels in Sydney "Home Backpackers" is the one I always go back to!
Very close to Central Station and CBD
Friendly and efficient staff, clean and with a nice terrace with Art and Graffiti.. Just love it!
Ps:free pizza night and pancakes in the weekend ;-)
It's nice to be here!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dolbageats wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feels like it has never had a decent clean and has a constant musty/chemical odour that seeps into any clothes left hanging in the room. It appears they try to cover up this odour with car air fresheners instead of finding whatever is causing the smell and changing the carpets?!

We found multiple cockroaches in our room on the first day, and in fairness reception quickly arranged to have the carpet sprayed the following day. However we still saw cockroaches around the building over the days following.

My friend and I couldn’t sleep on the pillows because I would get an itchy throat and cough every night. And I would always experience an extremely sore throat, finding it difficult to swallow whenever I spent an extended period in the room. And I cannot even bring myself to photograph the back of the curtain in our room.

The only upside is that the reception staff are nice and try to help, but there’s only so much they can do when the building is like this.

One day there was only 1 working shower serving 3 floors so I had to leave the building to shower and get ready at the gym 1/2 a mile away. When I came back there were still people waiting to go in.

The soap dispensers had no lids on them so flies and moths would repeatedly land inside them and (this is hilarious) instead of emptying the soap or fixing a lid, they’d just pour more soap on top of the flies!

The tiny kitchen was filthy. From the sticky utensils to the lower metal section holding all the pots and pans which was so rusty I actually mistook it for wood to the grubby mesh window cover protecting the kitchen from the roof outside which had faint letters reading “clean clean clean”.

We were ready to leave on the very first day and had other accommodation been available over the NY period, we would have left immediately.

I’ve stayed in some questionable places over the years, I’m not afraid of a little back to basics living but this was off the charts disgusting and is not what you expect from a hostel no matter where in the world you are. I’m so shocked this place is still running and feel sorry for the staff who I imagine have to deal with endless complaints. Just a vile few days.

I think this place should be gutted, doused with bleach and refitted before guests are allowed to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Hi dolbageats We are disappointed to hear such a negative review when all staff work hard to keep up our high standards. Staff had limited interaction with you other than the first day when you found 2 dead cockroaches in your room. I feel a majority of the issues raised could have been solved by staff during your 6 day stay but you chose to say nothing else during your stay then go straight to social media & reviews once you left the hostel. Unfortunately Sydney is known for cockroaches & we occasionally have flare ups due to high temps & guests leaving opened and/ or unopened food in their rooms when we supply sealed containers in the 2 kitchens to store food in. We use regular pest control which seems to be working as the 2 cockroaches found in the corner of your room were dead. Staff also sprayed your room again straight away as you mentioned. We do have some air fresheners in dorm rooms due to guests bodily odour. Sharing a dorm room is sometimes unpleasant due to who you are sharing with. We do our best to match groups up in rooms. All our carpets were steam cleaned before Christmas/New Years period & room walls washed down. Not sure why you couldn’t sleep on our pillows? Pillows are new & you were given a clean pillow case on arrival. You could of swapped pillows or grabbed another one if you would approached staff during your stay? We checked the curtains in your room but only could see a couple of scuff marks. Maybe you should of taken a photo so we could see what you were seeing?? We are sorry 1 day during your 6 day stay the showers were too busy. We have multiple showers throughout both sides of the hostel. Maybe if you spoke to staff they could have directed you to another bathroom to use? All showers were working & maybe showering outside busy peak times would have been a better option. If you had to shower at a gym, AnyTime Fitness is a 1 minute (97m) walk from the hostel. Not ½ mile away as you mentioned. We will check on our soap holders & change if there is an issue as mentioned. We clean the kitchens multiple times during the day but can be left dirty due to guests not cleaning up after cooking. We have signs saying please clean up after cooking but unfortunately there are some inconsiderate guests in shared accommodation who just won’t clean. I’m sorry if you they were here during your stay. As stated you were ready to leave after your first day here but chose to stay after we gave you the option. After speaking to other hostels in our Sydney Hostel group chat, there was more accommodation available but at a more premium price. We don’t deny we are an older style budget accommodation & our cheaper prices reflect our product. We hope you still enjoyed the FREE WIFI, FREE pancakes on the weekend and FREE pizza every Wednesday night. Good Luck with the rest of your travels & I hope you find a more suitable accommodation for your budget.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick F wrote a review June 2019
Sydney, Australia128 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really enjoyed it here and and a very friendly environment and a nice area. Nice facilities and I would recommend it to a friend and would stay here again. The price is also very affordable and the amenities good
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from troy y, Guest Relations Manager at Home Backpackers
Responded 30 July 2019
Hi nickfC1154HH Thanks for taking the time to leave your 5 star review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our 'affordable rates & nice facilities'. Hopefully your friends stay here after your recommendation. safe travels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sydney area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$29 - AU$59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
home backpackers hotel sydney
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneySurry Hills
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOME BACKPACKERS (AU$29): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Sydney) - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Home Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Home Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include Mission Escape George St (0.4 km), Capitol Theatre (0.3 km), and Chinatown (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Home Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include airport transportation, laundry service, and free internet access.
What are some restaurants close to Home Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Joe Black, Basket Brothers, and NOMAD.
Does Home Backpackers have airport transportation?
Yes, Home Backpackers offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Home Backpackers?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Home Backpackers?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Home Backpackers?
Many travellers enjoy visiting State Theatre (1.1 km), Anzac Memorial (0.6 km), and St. Mary's Cathedral (1.2 km).
All Sydney HotelsSydney Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SydneyHotels near Home Backpackers
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars