We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Tank Stream Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (284)
360
Panoramas (6)
Videos (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#38 of 192 hotels in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled in the heart of Sydney's CBD, the Tank Stream Hotel is only minutes away from major tourist attractions and transport hubs, making it the ideal location for both business and leisure travellers. Offering high speed Wi-Fi, in-room entertainment, screen casting, espresso pod machines and premium bathroom products, our rooms have been designed with functionality and comfort in mind. Our hotel restaurant, Le Petit Flot allows guests to enjoy delicious dishes using seasonal ingredients in our beautiful French-inspired restaurant, or in the comfort of their own room.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Chinese, German and 5 more
1301Reviews28Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 604
  • 493
  • 133
  • 46
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Lisa T wrote a review Feb 2024
Champaign, Illinois25 contributions3 helpful votes
This is a wonderful hotel! The location is great and there is so much to see and do in the area. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and modern. The breakfast is well worth adding to your stay. This hotel puts you within walking distance to the harbour and Sydney Opera House. It is also walking distance to Chinatown. All forms of transportation can be found nearby. If you don't have a car, this is a great location. If I get back to Sydney, this will be where I stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The breakfast area is very busy and sometimes there are few/no seats to be had. Turnover is fast,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nancy E wrote a review Mar 2023
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This was the best hotel my sister and I have stayed at in a very long time! They had our room ready early after a 22 hour flight from the U.S. and they were so attentive, helpful and professional helping us to see the sights. They remembered us when we came back from our cruise 10 days later without giving them our name! The rooms and beds were comfortable and this is in a wonderful area, easy to walk to different places and/or stores and restaurants. I would highly recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Location is great, near everything
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Klaus Kinateder, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 27 Mar 2023
Thanks Nancye424 and hope that you get an opportunity to visit Sydney again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ND F wrote a review Jan 2024
Vancouver, Canada422 contributions79 helpful votes
Great property within walking distance to most ‘must see’ attractions in Sydney. The world famous harbour with the opera house and circular quay area is about 8 mins walking. Hyde Park about 10 minutes. Great shopping very close by. Our room faced Pitt street, was your standard Queen room. Very quiet, barely heard any street noise. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Some restaurants nearby but many more located in the tourist area by the harbour.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stayed here prior to departing on a cruise. Many cruise guests stay here due to proximity to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Hamey, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi NotreDameRob, It sounds as though you were able to see the best of Sydney whilst you were visiting, I'm so glad we were able to provide you a nice quiet space to enjoy after all of your sight-seeing. Hopefully we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! Rebecca
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elizabeth D wrote a review Jan 2024
Dominican Republic99 contributions85 helpful votes
Hands down great location very close to everything walking distance to The opera house walking distance to public transportation.Staff is very nice super welcoming greeted me with a warm smile was available 24/7 also provided me with adaptors thank you. Rooms also very nice and comfortable bed amazing. If I go back to Australia,Sydney I will be staying at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Hamey, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 576Lili, Thank you for your amazing review, I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us for your visit to Sydney. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to the team. Hope to see you again soon, Rebecca
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mzrazzaque wrote a review Jan 2024
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota2 contributions
The room I was given was very small and congested. TV was placed on the working desk, which literally occupied all spaces. Did not have enough room on the table to put laptop for working. Room was expensive related to what you get.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: There are several other hotels in that area cheaper and better than this.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Hamey, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Hi mzrazzaque, Thanks for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay was. Our rooms are compact, hence why we specify room sizes in sqm on all booking sites. For future stays, I would recommend booking one of our larger room types if you were spending more time in the room, particularly to work at the desk and looking for additional space. Hope to welcome you back in the future, Rebecca
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kawh wrote a review Jan 2024
sebastopol, ca973 contributions461 helpful votes
The good: Bed was very comfy. Plenty of hot water and great air conditioning. Staff is sparse, but very friendly. Breakfast was good and the super hard working staff kept things stocked and clean. ( Riwaj was especially helpful.) 5 night stay through NYE. Seriously, don't bother with a gift bag of 2 bottles of water and 2 mini candy bars when the NYE price is literally 5 times normal rate. Depressing. The disappointing: They no longer offer free snacks & drinks, though it was in our booking contract. When pressured, they let us have drinks the last night. They told us we could have extended checkout for $20 an hour, then planned on it, then told we couldn't bc they were fully booked. ( They weren't). I think they are having some growing pains now that they've been bought by a larger group. Too bad.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Hamey, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Hi Kawh, Thanks for taking the time to let us know how everything was throughout your stay, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the NYE in celebrations in Sydney. Thanks for flagging those few issues you experienced with some room for improvement on our end. Hopefully you choose to stay with us again and these can be improved upon Rebecca
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alli1971 wrote a review Jan 2024
Nottingham, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
Great location only 10 mins walk to circular quay. Rooms clean but compact and very standard. A chair in the window would be a good addition as we had great views down Pitt St to the Bridge. A few niggles. Soft drinks not replenished for first couple of days and then only after I rang reception. Handed a bag on check in with “something to celebrate NY” - was actually two small bottles of sparkling water rather than something a bit more special as indicated by the comment ! Felt a bit mean given the cost to stay! Overall we are very happy here (5 nights over NY with 2 still to go!) and would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bridge !
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Hamey, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Hi Alli, Thanks for taking the time to let us know how your stay over New Years was, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time with us. Thanks for flagging those issues, I will be sure to follow up with the team. Hope to see you again for this years NYE celebrations! Rebecca
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
smileyfacegrace wrote a review Nov 2023
Toronto153 contributions99 helpful votes
This is a small hotel in the heart of the Sydney CBD, but it's in an excellent location! It's only a 10 minute walk from the ferries, and the light rail (trams) are just half a block away (as well as a train station), so it's easy to get wherever you need to go. The rooms are very small though (think Hong Kong style), but I was told this is normal for the Sydney CBD. The breakfast buffet is good, but it doesn't change at all, so after a few days, you may feel that it drags. Great value if you want to be in the CBD.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Hamey, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Hi smileyfacegrace, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, we certainly are in a great spot to be able to explore the city! Hope to welcome you back again soon Rebecca
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lachy B wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The friendliest service I have received from every one of the staff - from the concierge to the cleaners. Very helpful and accommodating. Also great central location, our room was available so they allowed us early check-in and baggage claim. 5 stars! ⭐️
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Hamey, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 7 Dec 2023
Hi 195lachlanb, Amazing to hear, we have a great team who pride themselves on memorable customer service so I'm glad you were able to experience that. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon! Rebecca
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
magg C wrote a review Nov 2023
Toronto, Canada48 contributions12 helpful votes
The location was great but the room was so small The internet didn’t work half the time I was there No curtain on the window so it was never dark I booked for 3 night spending more money then I usually do for a nice visit in Sydney So disappointed I read amazing reviews so I question the people writing them ? Fake
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you need internet don’t stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Hamey, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel
Responded 7 Dec 2023
Hi spanishtown11, I'm sorry to hear we didn't quite hit the mark for you on this stay, I'll be sure to follow up the issues you mentioned. I can assure you our other reviews are not fake, and more likely just from travelers that have had a different experience to you. Rebecca
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sydney area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$261 - AU$432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
273
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE TANK STREAM HOTEL (AU$261): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Sydney) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Tank Stream Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Tank Stream Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Next Level Escape (0.1 km), Altmann + Cherny - Australian Opals (0.4 km), and 24 Hours In Sydney (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Tank Stream Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Tank Stream Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Tank Stream Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Tank Stream Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Tank Stream Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include AALIA Restaurant Sydney, Gelato Messina Circular Quay, and Four Frogs Creperie Circular Quay.
Is The Tank Stream Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Sydney.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Tank Stream Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Tank Stream Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Tank Stream Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, Russian, Chinese, Turkish, and Vietnamese.
Are there any historical sites close to The Tank Stream Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting State Theatre (0.6 km), Anzac Memorial (1.2 km), and St. Mary's Cathedral (0.8 km).