We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Railway Square YHA

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Railway Square YHA
Railway Square YHA
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 254: English reviews
Start your review of Railway Square YHA
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hostel is centrally located which is great for transport links to the airport and in and around Sydney. There are bars markets and shops close by. I stayed In an indoor room with an environmental suite which was very clean lockers and charging points were available. I read a previous review that the outside carriages could be a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roz H
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Right beside Central Station. Staff was great help and friendly. Everything was clean. Big lounge just to hang out and meet others. Definitely recommend it to those looking for a place to stay and someplace central.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceelow75
Zug
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Nice rooms, clean. Good offers, evryday an other activitie or feed. Aircon too cold in the right side of the hostel, staff admitted. Also way to cold in the common area near the sofas at the window. Stayed here with a goup, had an early check in, just wanted to drop off my luggage and was surprised that I needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrenni
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Railway Square YHA, responded to this review

Hi Chrenni - thanks for staying with us. Unfortunately, air con is a really personal thing - what is too hot for one, is too cold for another! We're sorry you weren't comfortable but we try and have the system adjusted for the medium to suit as many people as possible. We don't have a free luggage room as that...

Reviewed 9 March 2017

the rooms are clean and the hostel is well situated. However there s a clear problem with the staff. I told them 3 times if I could change room or do something for the strong air conditioning they put (in the halland also in some rooms it"s really cold they put automatic air conditioning). I stayed for a long term...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melilia G
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Railway Square YHA, responded to this review

Hi Melilia Thanks for staying with us. As you'll have noticed, the hostel is really popular, and was completely full over this last weekend as Adele was playing in Sydney. It was therefore impossible to move you to another room as there were none free. Air con is a very personal thing as different people like it set at different...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

A really clean and tidy hostel, couldn't fault the cleanliness. Bathrooms were big enough for everyone, as was the kitchen. A really good location, right next to the train station, 2 minute walk to China Town and George Street, and a 10/15 minute walk to the Harbour. I think you can stay in an actual railway carriage if you book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Izzy H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2017

This is one of the best hostels I have stayed in. I arrived early, but the staff still let me have a shower and store my things (in a paid locker) before I could check in, which was much appreciated. The hostel is big and even when busy has a lot of quiet places to sit and chat, eat or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fish_LON
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

What a great place to stay that is located right near Sydney Central station. It was clean and comfortable. Stayed there the night before I was to fly out of the country. Walked up the street to have dinner and even saw a musical. The staff were friendly and desk was open 24hrs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifer k
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Wasn't overly impressed. Seems some people really like the relaxed atmosphere, and will ignore the poor service; it seems male staff dislike serving you, and were quite rude and condescending, unless you're a young female. I had booked quite a while in advance and couldn't remember if I had breakfast included; first told I did, then another morning I didn't,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JReynolds208
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Railway Square YHA, responded to this review

Hi JReynolds We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us - but welcome your feedback. The hostel is extremely busy at the moment, which does mean that facilities like the kitchen are stretched. We have added extra shelving and a new fridge unit to help. Good service, though, should always happen - we'll be...

Pelham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 29 January 2017

While the location is great the rooms are cramped with too many people and when full have very little floor space to place luggage. Depending on room location the toilet and showers can be far away. Also had a party going on outside my window. Didn't get to sleep till past 1 AM. No attempt by staff to shutdown or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diver1948
los angeles
Reviewed 13 January 2017

I only stayed one night which was good since one of the roommates was really messy but the facility itself was great. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was cheap (paid out of pocket) and the facilities have everything you need. I really recommend for it's location though since every tour had a stop near here as it's right next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oneinfivebill

239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (147)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Eight Share Female (20)
Viewed
Eight Share Railway Carriage (18)
Viewed
Four Share (14)
Viewed
Shared Bathroom (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 174 in Sydney
4,704 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#63 of 174 in Sydney
1,231 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#10 of 137 in Sydney
681 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 137 in Sydney
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sydney's most laid back hostel, Railway Square YHA adjoins Central Station, in the heart of Sydney's backpacker district. Stay in one of the funky railway carriages on the former Platform Zero or one of the comfy rooms in the historic 1904 main building, now converted into contemporary accommodation. Hostel features a spa pool, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), 24-hour access, tour desk, indoor and outdoor communal areas, self-catering kitchen. Walking distance to the best pubs in Sydney, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Please note that our pool is currently under renovation and might be out of action. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Railway Square YHA

Address: Railway Square Yha 8 - 10 Lee St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $37 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Railway Square YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Railway Square YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railway Square Yha Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Railway Square YHA staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Railway Square YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Carriages are a little quieter, there are lots of backpackers here but they are wonderful people.”
ayling845, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the train carriages are super awesome and unique but slightly smaller than the rooms and you are by the train station so it can be nosier.”
O2097VUrebeccam, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The carriages may be fancy, but they are somewhat quite smaller than the classic dorms.”
57JamieJB, 26 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Approach from Railway Square bus interchange - walk 50 m, behind the Adina apartment block.”
janetabula, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“DO NOT stay in room 204 or anywhere near the communal kitchen- there are speakers blasting music until 10pm.”
LouisaA19, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5