We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

ADGE Hotel & Residences

222 Riley St Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (193)
Room & Suite (411)
Dining (21)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#11 of 192 hotels in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Urban adventure and daredevil design meet in ADGE, the ultimate lifestyle hotel for the 21st Century. The ADGE Hotel & Residences is located on Riley Street, Surry Hills; just steps away from the cultural amalgamation of Crown Street, Hyde Park and Sydney’s CBD. Only in Surry Hills will you find artistic, free-thinkers blending seamlessly with the modern sophistication of Sydney’s inner city.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Hindi, Italian and 1 more

Location

222 Riley St Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010 Australia
ADGE Hotel & Residences
1215Reviews24Q+A91Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,009
  • 159
  • 26
  • 8
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Elise G wrote a review 10 Feb
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions
See-through bathroom walls, so you can see your travel partner shower and on the toilet is not ok. Conditioner pump bottle didn’t work, can’t have the fan on and window open at the same time for fresh air ventilation, and no instructions to indicate the was the way it had been set up. Staff seem disinterested in being there, and we had to go back to the front desk after checking in to find out how the included breakfast worked, to find they had forgotten to issue us the necessary vouchers. We won’t stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Elise, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the hotel as it is through feedback that the hotel continually improves. I am sorry that the new design did not meet your requirements on this occasion. The hotel in April 2024 has another 149 rooms coming back that have a different bathroom design that will meet your requirements and we do hope that you come back to try them out. My apologies that the rooms are Eco-friendly and designed in that when the windows are open the AC will not work. I am sorry that the breakfast voucher that was included in this stay was not offered and explained on arrival. We do hope that you come back and check out the new rooms in April 2024
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Megan A wrote a review Jan 2024
Perth, Australia1 contribution
Very disappointing experience. Incorrect bedding configuration which the GM was unable or unwilling to correct - no compensation offered for giving us the wrong room. The room was also dirty and very old and run down - wires hanging from the ceiling in the bathroom, doors that didn’t close properly. Very disappointing breakfast and not what we thought we had booked. Disappointing customer service as well - defensive and rude when trying to resolve the situation. Would consider other options if you can.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Hi Megan, Thank you for your feedback. The booking was a hotel error in that the Apartment that we had assigned was one that had a Queen and Double and not the Penthouse (Loft) apartment that has the king and Queen bed as we only have two apartments that have a king size bed. The hotel offered an apology for this and then offered two alternatives on top of a full refund to leave. 1. To move to the Penthouse for the last three nights of the stay as this was the only days that this apartment was available otherwise would have moved straight away. 2. Then we also offered to move to a king room and Queen hotel room that you advised was not acceptable. Then after the third night you decided to leave, and the hotel did a full refund except for two of the three nights. The issue with the cleaning was rectified the next day and was over seen by the Executive Housekeeper. The mention of wires in the bathroom is a join between the led strip and is totally safe and was tucked up in strip along the bathroom ceiling space. The breakfast offering that was provided was exactly was was advertised in that we do not do buffet breakfast only a la carte breakfast. I am sorry that we could not meet your bedding configuration on this stay, and I do hope that you come back and stay with us again and experience the hotel Loft two bedroom apartment.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Foodietraveller2013 wrote a review Dec 2023
Adelaide, Australia84 contributions59 helpful votes
I always try to be fair, positive, and reasonable with my reviews of accommodation. Mixed bag review of ‘City Penthouse’. We really do love the apartment. It has suited our needs over the years- with family Christmas accommodation. On a positive note, the place was immaculately cleaned, beds comfortable, great televisions throughout, and absolutely brilliant quiet location. (Walking distance to so many great cafe / restaurants). Great city-scape sunset views, with large balcony. We also loved the new Korean deli downstairs- food vibrant, and excellent. Staff everywhere, upbeat and friendly. Unfortunately, huge issues with the air conditioning. Three of the air-conditioners (out of 4) continually stopped, after about 2 - 3 hours of use. Therefore, making the remote control redundant. After discussion with staff (clearly, it’s happened before) we had to be reboot them by switching the flick switch in the kitchen box: manually. The bedroom suite got extremely hot over night (and I am a light sleeper). It dropped out and stopped completely, every two hours… all night long. My partner had to go downstairs and flick the switch in kitchen box, every two hours - all night long, to restart the air conditioning. The lounge room air-conditioner, and bedroom air-conditioner also quite noisy when turned up at a considerable level. A very good brand wall mounted air conditioning unit, shouldn’t be doing this. To be fair, we were offered a new room, but unfortunately didn’t suit our needs- due to our elder mother staying downstairs with us. We all wanted to be in the same connected open penthouse configuration. Staff tried to fix the issue, but unfortunately it wasn’t resolved. Ultimately, the manager offered us a credit, which was a lovely gesture. However, It didn’t solve the uncomfortable sleepless three night stay, with constant wake ups. It was a real shame! And… certainly not expected in a penthouse type accommodation, or at the price point. We really hope this issue is fixed for the next guests who stay! Although this was really really disappointing, it didn’t dampen our Christmas holiday Spirit! We would stay again, and are hopeful the Air conditioning issues, will be resolved. We look forward to potentially staying again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded 3 Jan 2024
Thank you for your continued support of the ADGE hotel + Residences The AC mentioned are all working and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and as advised to give me a call to personally look after your next reservation with the hotel All the very best to you and your family for 2024
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Excursion18410097210 wrote a review Dec 2023
Figtree, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
Fantastic apartment stay. We couldn’t fault our visit. Staff were very helpful and friendly and accommodating. Check in and out was super easy and fast. We loved the vibe with the funky deco. The foyer area was large and spacious. Great location , easy walking distance to many attractions , food and local parks. The apartment had everything - coffee machine, dishwasher, washing machine , individual room aircon and tv and kitchen. We found the apartment was very clean and had plenty of space. Very impressed and will be returning again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded 14 Dec 2023
Thank you for this amazing review of the hotel’s two bedroom and two bathroom apartments. We are so pleased you had an amazing stay and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BossHoggg wrote a review Nov 2023
Viti Levu, Fiji2 contributions3 helpful votes
I've stayed in literally hundreds of hotels around the world, the vast majority in the course of my work. The Adge is the closest I've come to being the complete package. Perfect location, discreet ambience, quirky without being OTT, comfortable rooms that provide exactly what a work trip or traveller needs without any gimmicks that are not needed but often charged for - and by far the best priced of any comparable hotel in the inner Sydney area. However the best part of the hotel - and the most important part to me - is the staff. Friendly, efficient, helpful, but also giving a guest "space". I cannot recommend the Adge highly enough, and I intend to continue to be a regular guest.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded 22 Nov 2023
Hi Thank you so much for the amazing feedback and great support of the hotel. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rick B wrote a review Nov 2023
West Linn, Oregon9 contributions3 helpful votes
On the ambience side, the decor and modern-ish art was uplifting and fun. The room was very clean. But, we were surprised to find the room so small. In order for 2 people to get into the bed, one had to crawl over the other. The very small window sill became the nightstand. There was no room for luggage, and no luggage racks - we were told they didn’t have enough. That meant one suitcase on the floor and one on the very small plastic table. The retro-refrigerator was cool, but my traveling companion kept threatening to move it out into the hall to create some space in the room the whole time we were there. And then, the very small bathroom, the shower door doubled as the door to the bathroom. Have you ever looked into a microwave? The shower and the bathroom walls had the same dot matrix pattern as a microwave door. My companion was surprised to see while showering she could see me relaxing on the bed, and when she screamed “can you see me?” I replied “yes”. My companion now has bathroom-PTSD. Not only was the shower see through, there was a full-room-view sitting on the throne, trying to do your business. Then the realization somebody may be watching. PTSD! Our solution was to use the downstairs public bathroom for major activities. Did I mention IBS???
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Know your traveling partner well!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded 12 Nov 2023
Thank you for your review I am sorry the design of the room did not meet your requirements on this occasion. The hotel also has two bedrooms apartments and coming next year we will also have another 149 rooms to choose from. We hope to see you come back and try our other type of rooms soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alex W wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Really stunning hotel, rooms were immaculate and well kept, footprint for hotel room wasn’t huge but space was used so efficiently that it felt like a spacious room even for two Great vibe and interesting design around the place. Great location for visiting Sydney, 5 min walk from Hyde park and therefore very easy to walk into central Sydney. (A solo traveller)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Try the breakfast/lunch bar downstairs, incredible breakfast and coffee available. SOUL DELI
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded 10 Nov 2023
Hi Alex Thank you for your amazing review of our new hotel. We hope to see you again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gary B wrote a review Nov 2023
6 contributions
A spacious residence with two bedrooms, lounge and well kitted kitchen. One bathroom was en-suite and the other close to the other bedroom. It’s close to the the centre of Sydney. A small niggle was the noise from the street starting with workmen using an angle grinder at 7am. The price was very reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded 5 Nov 2023
Hi Garry Thank you for the amazing review of our two bedroom two bathroom apartments. We also have now brand new hotel rooms also that opened 1st August to come try on your next stay. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to ADGE hotel + Residences again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
76mariadelmard wrote a review Oct 2023
London, United Kingdom20 contributions5 helpful votes
We were unlucky with the room . It was too small for a couple . We could not even have our cases opened on the floor as we will trip over. Small bed too and small bathroom. Impossible for two people in at same time . No shower gel in the shower for 2 days we were there. We mentioned when we left but did not complained assuming rooms were small… Location is good. Very friendly staff in reception and lovely breakfast in the caffe in the building.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded 5 Nov 2023
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. The new hotel rooms are mixture of King and Queen size beds. We also have two bedroom and two bathroom apartments available. Please come back again soon and try one of our other types of rooms we have on offer
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maria Z wrote a review Oct 2023
Melbourne, Australia59 contributions62 helpful votes
A last minute find when my original accommodation plans were cancelled, I wasn’t expecting much based on the price, but I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the property and room. The room was modern, clean and spacious with a bar fridge and a pod coffee machine. The bathroom was a little on the small side, but the shower was spacious, and the clever door design made the bathroom feel bigger than it was. The wall murals upon arrival are striking and I liked that they were replicated in the lifts and on each floor. A great property, in a great location.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Cundy, General Manager at ADGE Hotel & Residences
Responded 25 Oct 2023
Hi Maria Thank you for the amazing review of our new little hotel based in Surry hills a short walk into the city. We are so pleased you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sydney area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$177 - AU$367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneySurry Hills
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ADGE HOTEL & RESIDENCES (AU$177): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Sydney) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about ADGE Hotel & Residences
Which popular attractions are close to ADGE Hotel & Residences?
Nearby attractions include The Rover (0.4 km), Porterhouse Irish Pub (0.03 km), and Royal Albert Hotel (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at ADGE Hotel & Residences?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, dry cleaning, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at ADGE Hotel & Residences?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at ADGE Hotel & Residences?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to ADGE Hotel & Residences?
Conveniently located restaurants include Joe Black, Claires kitchen at le Salon, and Basket Brothers.
Are any cleaning services offered at ADGE Hotel & Residences?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ADGE Hotel & Residences?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, Chinese, Hindi, and Nepali.
Are there any historical sites close to ADGE Hotel & Residences?
Many travellers enjoy visiting State Theatre (1.2 km), Anzac Memorial (0.6 km), and St. Mary's Cathedral (1.0 km).