We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Abey Hotel

208 Riley Street, Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (14)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (91)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#139 of 192 hotels in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The newly refurbished Abey Hotel in Sydney’s Surry Hills is proof that luxury needn’t come with a hefty price tag.Belying its modest costs, each room’s modern, comfortable decor is enhanced with a range of features including high speed internet access, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, iPod docking station, in room safes and flat screen TV.In addition to the room features, the hotel itself boasts 24 hour reception and room service, a heated indoor pool and spa, automated self check-in and undercover, secure parking.With 56 rooms available in either Twin Double or Twin Single Bedding configurations, The Abey Hotel is the smart choice for those who recognise that quality needn’t cost an arm and a leg.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Indoor pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Parking
Paid wifi
Heated pool
Breakfast in the room
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, Italian

Location

208 Riley Street, Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010 Australia
Abey Hotel
115Reviews2Q+A29Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 48
  • 35
  • 10
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sightseer25581041614 wrote a review Nov 2018
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel is ideally situated in Sydney for all attractions. The hotel staff very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless, large and catered for everything that a traveller needed. Highly recommended. Sue and Matt.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MH1_7 wrote a review June 2018
Liverpool, United Kingdom87 contributions48 helpful votes
Stayed at the Abey hotel while traveling round Australia.The abey is located in a great location just of Oxford Street close to all the main attractions and transport links. You can walk into the city in 10 minutes and bus links are located only 2 minutes away. The rooms are a decent size and very clean and have all the amenities to make your stay a great one. The staff are the biggest asset to this hotel and nothing is to much trouble for them.Andrew who checked us in was so friendly and took time out to find out about our trip so far. Anne I think was the lovely lady from Northern Irelands name on checkout couldn’t do enough for us thanks for the chocolate, enjoy your trip home for the wedding. All the staff at the Abey are genuinely interested in there guests and are a credit to your company. This was our 4th stay over the last few years normally staying at the Cambridge Hotel which is located in the same building and it gets better each time. This hotel will always be out 1st choice when visiting from the UK Thank you for a great stay and hopefully see you again on our next visit Mark and Paul
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
purple-circle-girls wrote a review Mar 2018
Byron Bay, Australia142 contributions73 helpful votes
This hotel would have to present the worst value for money I've ever experienced. It's a 3 star hotel (at best) with a 5 star price tag (I paid $320 for one night single accommodation - extra for breakfast). The staff are pleasant and helpful and the location is great - quiet and convenient. That's it for the positives. The hotel is in dire need of maintenance and some TLC. The hot water tap in the bathroom fell off in my hand and had obviously been that way for some time. I could have easily scolded myself. Tiles in bathroom were mouldy ( as is the swimming pool!); there are chips on most of the tacky laminated furniture and on the vanity in bathroom; bedside lights were not working and made of tinny fake copper; carpet is threadbare and dirty; kettle doesn't reach any of the power points. Basically there are things here which would be reasonably easy to fix but clearly the hotel has not taken the care to do so. In addition, the breakfast (for $20) was so poor I couldn't eat most of it. Gluten free bread was provided but it had been defrosted from frozen and was damp! No other gluten free options available. The only fruit provided was a very small quantity of water melon. Thank goodness for the sliced tomato and cheese or I'd have gone hungry. If you want a 3 star hotel, the Song nearby is less than half the price and much much better.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel
Responded 15 Apr 2018
Hi purple-circle-girls, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Your comments are incredibly concerning and we have tried to contact you several times to discuss in more detail as this is certainly not the experience we wish our guests to have. It’s disappointing to know you felt our accommodation was not good value for money. Our rates fluctuate based on supply and demand and the night you stayed was an incredibly busy night in Sydney. Our rates are always comparable with similar properties. Your comments regarding the maintenance and cleanliness issues you experienced have been investigated by the Building Manager & Executive Housekeeper. These have been rectified immediately as this certainly is not the standards we strive to provide and I truly apologise for this. Our Food & Beverage Manager has been in discussion with the Restaurant Manager about the gluten free options we have available and are working on extending this menu. Again I apologise for the experience you had. As mentioned earlier, your comments are deeply concerning and we have tried to contact you to discuss further. Please do contact the hotel directly so we can discuss your feedback in more detail. Please email steve@cambridgehotel.com.au. Purple-circle-girls, I do apologise for the experience you had and hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul B wrote a review Mar 2018
91 contributions56 helpful votes
Myself and a group of friends stayed here for Mardi Gras celebrations purely for the location and it was a wise choice. Whilst it’s far from being any type of luxury hotel, it was clean and had everything we needed for a weekend of partying. All of the bars and clubs we went to were all within just a few minutes walk of the hotel. If someone from the hotel does read this, may just need to have a quick look at the hot water in the shower in room 316 because it takes about 10 minutes for the hot water to come through. Staff are great and very accepting of the numerous GLBTIQ guests who were staying during this time
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel
Responded 15 Mar 2018
Hi Paul B, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your recent stay over Mardi Gras! Firstly please know your comments regarding the hot water have been passed onto the Maintenance Team to investigate and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our location is ideal for exploring Sydney but is especially suitable for Mardi Gras being just a 2minute walk from Oxford Street and I’m pleased this suited you perfectly! Our team consistently provide excellent service to all our guests and it’s great you appreciated this during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next Mardi Gras, if not sooner! Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tina S wrote a review Jan 2018
39 contributions9 helpful votes
A short walk/ hike (very steep street) away from Central station. Very nice and modern hotel tucked away on a side street, really easy to get to the centre. The harbour is within walk in distance. The rooms are decent size and big enough for families too. Very clean and quite. We will definitely stay there again. Highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel
Responded 18 Jan 2018
Dear Tina S, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Abey Hotel, and taking your time to share your feedback with us. It’s always a pleasure to hear when a guest has thoroughly enjoyed their stay. Our location is great as we are within walking distance to all that Sydney has to offer and hotel is also located on the city-fringe in the vibrant and diverse suburb of Surry Hills, which offers our guests a great range of shops, cafés, restaurants and casual eateries all within walking distance and we are delighted that you enjoyed it. We do hope that we will be seeing you again when you are next visiting Sydney. Warm Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
samanthameyer2018 wrote a review Jan 2018
Hobart, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
This was a value for money, budget hotel. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was clean and comfortable, and it was a great location in Surry Hills near plenty of amenities and St Vincents Hospital which we needed to be close to. the only sour note was an unexpected internet charge, despite being given a password for free internet access. In the end the charge was waived, but only after a bit of discussion about 'free internet'!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel
Responded 18 Jan 2018
Dear samanthameyer2018, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Abey Hotel, and taking your time to share your feedback with us. It’s always a pleasure to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay. I do apologise for the confusion with the wifi, we do provide free wifi for all of our guests however, we do have a Premium Package as well for $10 per day, I believe this is what caused the confusion. I am pleased the charge was rectified and the issue resolved. Our location is great as we are within walking distance to all that Sydney has to offer. We are also lucky enough to be located on the city-fringe in the vibrant and diverse suburb of Surry Hills and we are delighted that you enjoyed it. It’s always pleasing to hear that our staff and service exceeds our guest’s expectations. It is guests like you that keep us striving to give our guest a stay that we hope will leave them with fond memories of their time spent in Sydney. We do hope that we will be seeing you again when you are next visiting Sydney. Warm Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lewis125 wrote a review Dec 2017
Charlotte, North Carolina66 contributions43 helpful votes
Choose this hotel after a long search with many sites on internet. Travelocity pop up on my screen with a better deal I didn’t expect, Good deal About the hotel Great breakfast served every morning. A bit expensive but really good, what I didn’t like.? The manager of the “breakfast department” like to be checking the people there, or send messages with the girls working there. Don’t have the guts to talk The people working in the front desk Great people, really helped us with information about the city, even though my room was not ready at the time I arrive ( 10am ) so have to wait till 2pm, but we went to do something and returned before and was ready, grea5 job from these guys Really clean, a/c works good cold, quiet hood but most importantly, it’s really close (in a walking distance) to almost everything Opera house and the harbor about 20 minutes Chinatown (about 15 minutes) Chinese garden of friendship (20 minutes) Downtown about (15 minutes ) The tower about 15 minutes Museum tren station (about 10 minutes) Stop bus just around the corner With that being said. Great location, great people, but the hotel don’t deserve to be called a 3 star ⭐️ hotel, its a normal o en like any hotel on US But for the price.. great everything.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you re looking for location. Service, cleanliness. Great people, this one is a plus, but don’t...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel
Responded 21 Dec 2017
Dear Lewis125, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Abey Hotel, and taking your time to share your feedback with us. It’s always a pleasure to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay. Our location is great as we are within walking distance to all that Sydney has to offer like the Sydney Opera House. We are also lucky enough to be located on the city-fringe in the vibrant and diverse suburb of Surry Hills and we are delighted that you enjoyed it. It’s always pleasing to hear that our staff and service exceeds our guest’s expectations and I have passed on your kind comments to our friendly team. We do hope that we will be seeing you again when you are next visiting Sydney. Warm Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Qldtravellers91 wrote a review Nov 2017
Buderim, Australia22 contributions17 helpful votes
We arrived early and our room was prepared as we had a lunch at "Alive" cafe up the road. Happy friendly staff especially front counter. Room service order for dinner arrived with incorrect drinks and only one set of cutlery and serviette( for 2 people) When asked for more the answer was "most people eat this with their fingers" - a wet Nachos. Cutlery arrived without serviette or apology. Re - drinks "That was what was on the order" Well it wasnt what we ordered. Pool was closed for renos. Shuttle arranged to airport efficiently and nil issues. Bags well attended
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Handy location to Oxford street and short walk to rail & public transport. Close to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel
Responded 28 Nov 2017
Dear Qldtravellers91, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Abey Hotel, and taking your time to share your feedback with us. It’s always a pleasure to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay. I have passed on to our Food and Beverage Manager your comments in regards to your room service and we apologise for this experience, as this certainly is not the standard of service we strive to provide. Unfortunately, during your stay we had to close our pool for some renovations. Please know we have since reopened the pool and I apologise for any inconvenience this caused you during your stay. Hopefully you will get to use the pool next time you stay. We are pleased this didn’t dampen your experience too much and you were able to appreciate the level of service you received from our staff. I have passed on your kind comments to our friendly team. We do hope that we will be seeing you again when you are next visiting Sydney. Warm Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wai P wrote a review Nov 2017
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We booked the double double room, it was right by the pool which was just what our toddler wanted however... during our stay the pool was closed due to renovation (although no sign of any actual reno, and pool was still filled). Room was basic but comfortable. Slight musty smell yet cleaned well. Great A/C unit in our room. Shower worked, toilet flushed and beds were warm with firm mattress. Amazing customer service for check in and check out is why I gave this place an extra star!! Good option for families not wanting to splash all their holiday cash on a place you only need for sleeping purposes. *we ordered room service from the restaurant - no complaints from the mr (steak meal, tasted good, decent portion) The toddler also enjoyed his treat of chesse pizza, cheese chips + garlic bread.*
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel
Responded 22 Nov 2017
Dear Wai P, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Abey Hotel, and taking your time to share your feedback with us. It’s always a pleasure to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay. Unfortunately, during your stay we had to close our pool for some renovations. Please know we have since reopened the pool and I apologise for any inconvenience this caused you during your stay. Hopefully you and your toddler will get to use the pool next time you stay. It’s always pleasing to hear that our staff and service exceeds our guest’s expectations and I have passed on your kind comments to our amazing team. We do hope that we will be seeing you again when you are next visiting Sydney. Warm Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sue B wrote a review Oct 2017
Terrigal, Australia63 contributions44 helpful votes
The room was on the same floor as the pool. The smell of the chlorine is overpowering, there was no phone reception in the room at all. The shower pressure was a dribble. Then we tried to turn the airconditioner on at 1am to find it did not work. The walls are only gyprock so we heard the people in the room beside us partying all night. We have stayed here before and not had any trouble so maybe make sure you are on a higher floor. Good Luck!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel
Responded 23 Nov 2017
Hi Sue D, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and for choosing to return to the Abey Hotel. It is disappointing to know you did not have a pleasant stay as you had previously. Please know your comments have been passed onto Higher Management to investigate as this certainly is not the experience we intend our guests to have. We continuously perform security checks throughout the night to ensure all guests are keeping noise levels to a minimum and I apologise the noise from your neighbours was not picked up. I do hope we can welcome you back soon and give you the same experience you have previously experienced with us. Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sydney area.
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneySurry Hills
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ABEY HOTEL (AU$231): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Sydney) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Abey Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Abey Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Rover (0.4 km), Porterhouse Irish Pub (0.06 km), and Royal Albert Hotel (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Abey Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a spa, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Abey Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
Is parking available at Abey Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Abey Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Joe Black, Claires kitchen at le Salon, and Basket Brothers.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Abey Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Abey Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Abey Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Abey Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Abey Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Abey Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting State Theatre (1.2 km), Anzac Memorial (0.6 km), and St. Mary's Cathedral (1.0 km).