We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Veriu Central

75 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (218)
360
Panoramas (1)
Dining (26)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#89 of 192 hotels in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Veriu Central, where old world style meets modern beginnings. Embracing our unrivalled location, we’ve uncovered the eccentric character of Wentworth House to create much more than just a hotel. Surrounded by eclectic cafes, emerging designers and newfound art houses, our hotel places you right in the cultural heart of the city. A place you can explore Sydney as it steps proudly into a new and diverse era. Immerse yourself in the arts, deep dive into our very own foodie destination at Central Dining, and discover hidden gems only found this side of town. So perfectly located, you can feel truly connected to the fabric of this thriving city.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Indonesian and 2 more

Location

75 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
Veriu Central
907Reviews29Q+A47Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 380
  • 297
  • 130
  • 53
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
SJW2830 wrote a review Jan 2024
Dubbo, Australia61 contributions46 helpful votes
The location of the hotel is good but for a Veriu the rooms are old and dark, and few unclean. Our room leaked in the rain. Staff showed very little care factor or quality customer service at any stage. It is however a cheaply prices hotel but you get what you pay for. This has redefined our view of what Veriu offer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception DM Computer, General Manager at Veriu Central
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience staying with us at Veriu Central. It is with regret to find that we have not met every expectation during your stay with us. We pride ourselves on delivering a positive experience and sharing true hospitality. When it comes to cleanliness, there is no excuse for anything less than excellence in standards. Our housekeeping team at Veriu Central takes personal pride in delivering a high standard. However, I accept that we do not always get it right and your feedback helps us to continually improve. Therefore, we sincerely apologize, and rest assured that your feedback will be used towards bettering our overall service and we hope to see you back at Veriu Central Warm regards Team veriu
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JC1447 wrote a review Jan 2024
London, United Kingdom197 contributions151 helpful votes
Stayed for 2 nights in December in a standard king room. The bathroom is very small but the shower is great and the room had everything I needed. The lift broke during my stay and when working it was very slow - it really needs to be replaced - but other than that it was a good stay. The staff were all very friendly and the location is very convenient. Would recommend for a short stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception DM Computer, General Manager at Veriu Central
Responded 3 Jan 2024
Hi It's helpful to have your feedback about the maintenance issues, as this enables us to liaise with the maintenance team. Our preference is always to exceed our guest expectations. We sincerely apologise for this. Please rest assured that your feedback will be used to help better our overall service. We also appreciate that you like our hotel rooms and felt comfortable in our Veriu Central Hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon at Veriu Central. Kind Regards, Team veriu
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Richard or Dick D wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
Pros: Location convenient to Museum and Central transit stations Lots of tasty and reasonably priced restaurants nearby $5 beer and wine at happy hour Friendly staff Nice lobby with plenty of seating Nespresso coffee in rooms Free WiFi (sometimes slow & intermittent) Cheaper than nearby properties Cons: Our corner room was tiny! Couldn’t have both suitcases open at once; one person had to crawl over the other to exit the double bed; shower poorly designed so water leaked all over bathroom floor. No microwave in room. Housekeeping staff did not understand towel policy of “hang up to reuse, leave on floor for replacement” - the ones we hung up were replaced with new towels, the ones we left on the floor were removed without replacement at all, requiring us to acquire new towels at reception. Only one lift, extremely slow during peak hours. Upon exiting lift, still had a half flight of stairs to get to our room, awkward for our rolling bags. Very early check-out time of 10AM
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception DM Computer, General Manager at Veriu Central
Responded 25 Nov 2023
Hi Richard We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience staying with us at Veriu Central . We are glad you found it our hotel a great location to stay at . We pride ourselves on delivering a positive experience and sharing true hospitality. It is with regret to find that we have not met every expectation during your stay with us. When it comes to cleanliness and Housekeeping service , there is no excuse for anything less than excellence in standards. Our housekeeping team at Veriu Central takes personal pride in delivering a high standard. However, I accept that we do not always get it right and your feedback helps us to continually improve. We look forward to welcoming you back to Veriu Central in the future. Warm regards Leyda veriu central
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Suzie E wrote a review Nov 2023
Fremantle, Australia102 contributions25 helpful votes
Great location but that’s as far as it goes unfortunately. Upon checkin we were advised that the elevator was out of order. We were told that it should hopefully be fixed soon however after talking with a few other guests it’s been out of order for atleast a month. Their website should say this. Stair case is old, steep and noisy. Not conducive for anyone older. So consequently NO DISABILITY ACCESS. If you are in a wheelchair you have no choice but to find somewhere else. That said even if you could get the lift up, if you are in a wheelchair then there is no way to navigate the rooms either. They are so small, the bed is pushed against the wall on one side with a large step up into the bathroom. Little to no place to hang your clothes and the shower recess is small. Room is clean with a small fridge containing long life milk pod, coffee machine available and kettle. Unfortunately would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception DM Computer, General Manager at Veriu Central
Responded 10 Nov 2023
Hi Suzie, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We sincerely apologise for the issues with the lift. We can assure you that the lift has only been out of order for a few days due to an emergency service. We have been informed that the parts needed will arrive early next week and will be fixed as soon as possible. We are doing our best to communicate this with all of our guests prior to arrival with the information we have been provided. We apologise for not having communicated this with you sooner. One of the benefits of our hotel is that we can offer a range of room types, including larger accessible rooms with accessible bathrooms which are available on request. Perhaps our room categories with a larger space would be more suitable to your requirements on your next stay. We hope you will be willing to give us a chance to do better in future. Warm regards Veriu Central Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
_a_duenki wrote a review Oct 2023
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland9 contributions2 helpful votes
A very cosy hotel with a characteristic rustic style. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to the museum street station and very central. Around the corner there is a little shop and also around the corner there is the coulbourn street with a shopping mall. In the hotel there is a asian restaurant. At the reception they sell pastries, coffe and other hot drinks. There is also a cosy lounge next to the reception with a water tap. (Sparkling and still water for free) At the lounge you can also work and load your devices. But: Don‘t forget your ear plugs. The rooms has sliding windows, the noise of the street might affect your sleep. The rooms has hairdryers, shampoo, hand and bodylotion in their shower cubicles.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Do not forget your ear plugs. The hotel has sliding windows the noise of the street might affect...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception DM Computer, General Manager at Veriu Central
Responded 28 Oct 2023
Hi Monika, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience staying with us at Veriu Central . We are glad you found it a comfortable place to stay while you were in Sydney . We pride ourselves on delivering a positive experience and sharing true hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back to Veriu Central in the future. Warm Regards Leyda Veriu Central
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Susan H wrote a review Sept 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
I had a great time staying in this place. The location is awesome- walking distance to Thai town, Chinatown, Hyde park and CBD! The room is clean and the shower is nice. The ladies at the front desk were helpful. I only caught the name of Amy. There was a Russian lady that’s super nice as well. They made us feel home. The sparkling water is free- always a treat for me. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Sydney!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception DM Computer, General Manager at Veriu Central
Responded 8 Sept 2023
Hi Susan , We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience staying with us at Veriu Central. We are glad you found it a comfortable place that you feel like been at home . We pride ourselves on delivering a positive experience and sharing true hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back to Veriu Central in the future. Warm Regards Leyda
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrew D wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Poor arrival experience - Receptionist wouldn't allow an early check-in without paying an additional $50. No access until 2pm at the earliest were her words. Disappointing as I called the afternoon before and asked if an early check in was possible for which I was advised that it would be noted and subject to availability. Its just a shame that there is a focus on increasing ADR, rooms revenue and revpar rather than pleasing a very tired guest after travelling since 4am earlier in the day and exceeding a guest's expectations. In addition, the TV didn't work when I initially turned it on, maintenance had to come to my room after the receptionist also couldn't fix the issue. The tissue box was empty which was weird that it wasn't replaced. The shower was dirty with hair on the tikes and the space where the shower door sits above when the door is closed was filled with yellow water and a dead fly. On the morning of check out I requested a late check out of 11am which was greatly appreciated but at 10.10am housekeeping knocked on the door to see if the room had been checked out... He was surprised when I answered the door and apologized and that he had made a mistake... Lastly on check the same lady that checked me asked how everything was. I advised her of all the issues which she then replied with oh can you send me an email so I can look into it. Really send her an email.... Shouldn't she be making notes of my complaints and logging it in a DM log to share with the FOM or GM? I think it's really important for staff to ensure they treat every guest like a VIP as you never know who they or what their expectations are. The welcome and departure experience was so underwhelming and should be a focus on team development and training. Exceeding expectations by connecting with your guests is vitally important. As you know if one guest has a negative experience and they in turn tell 10 others and so on and so on it can have a negative impact on your brand and business moving forward.. I would welcome a call from the GM to discuss my feedback should they be willing to take the time to call. If asked would I return.... I am unsure to be honest. Depends on the conversation I had with the GM. Thank you for taking the time to review my feedback. Andrew
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception DM Computer, General Manager at Veriu Central
Responded 7 Sept 2023
Hi Andrew, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us at Veriu Central. It is with regret to find that we have not met every expectation during your stay with us. We want to assure you that we are concerned about your experience and are committed to making improvements to ensure our guests have a positive stay with us at all our Veriu Hotels & Suites. We understand the importance of a smooth Check-In and check-out. We are sorry to hear that the service during Check-In and departure was not up to our usual high standard and we sincerely apologize for the confusion around early check in and how this was handled. As we are a busy hotel, early check in is subject to availability on the day. If you arrive early and the room is available, we would be more than happy to check you in. However, if the room is not yet available, we do charge a $50 fee in order to ensure that the room is cleaned as quickly as possible, and we would be more than happy to ask housekeeping to do your room first. If you would like a guaranteed early check in, we recommend that you book the night before and let us know that you will be arriving early the next morning. This way we are able to guarantee that the room is clean and ready for you to check in at any time in the morning. When it comes to cleanliness, there is no excuse for anything less than excellence in standards. Our housekeeping team at Veriu Central takes personal pride in delivering a high standard. However, I accept that we do not always get it right. We are so sorry to hear about the cleanliness of the shower, the tissue box and for the miscommunication around your late check out. We sincerely apologize for this. Please rest assured that we have passed your feedback onto our housekeeping manager who is investigating the situation to ensure that this does not happen in the future. Again, we sincerely apologize for the issues during your stay, and we thank you for bringing them to our attention. Please be assured that we will be in touch with you shortly to discuss your feedback further. Kind regards, Bailey Veriu Central
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Safari35259505325 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
It’s the perfect place for a solo traveller seeking comfort. The rooms are cosy and the reception is available 24 hours for all your needs. The location is conveniently placed to all the attractions and is near a train station that is a 5 min walk away! Loads of food options as well!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Veriu Central, General Manager at Veriu Central
Responded 29 Aug 2023
Hi Safari, We appreciate you providing feedback on your recent stay at Veriu Central we are Glad that it was a positive experience, and you enjoyed the accommodation and that it was a convenience location . We look forward to welcoming you back to Veriu Warm regards Leyda Veriu Central
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Miranda G wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Super comfy and tidy space, great atmosphere and incredibly helpful and attentive staff. Very cool bar and restaurant downstairs in which the staff alerts you for happy hour. Will definitely be back!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Veriu Central, General Manager at Veriu Central
Responded 29 Aug 2023
Hi Miranda, It's great to hear you had such a comfortable stay at Veriu Central, enjoying both our accommodation and service. We look forward to welcoming you again to the hotel. In the meantime, we thank you for sharing your experience in this review. Warm Regards Leyda Veriu Central
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ingunn S wrote a review June 2023
Kristiansand, Norway2 contributions
+1
Visibly dirty cups and cutlery after cleaning (have pictures and observed them only being dried over by same cloth as the rest of the room), only shallow/surface tidying and lack of cleaning toilet, sink and showers (dangerously poor with high probability of getting sick from use). Usually out of or a lack of refilling toilet paper, soap and clean sheets. Moldy air with no opportunity for fresh air (air conditioning was set really cold to camouflage smell). There is no soundproofing of the walls. No greetings when you come and go, the staff looks into the computer or walks away. Facilities promised in booking did not exist, and poor information and help from desk, pre paid and tipped orders did not come before several calls after two hours (they hang up when you call reception and ask after an hour). Things disappear from room. Received welcome mail with offers to plan my stay in Sydney the day before my departure (had been there four weeks)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Veriu Central, General Manager at Veriu Central
Responded 2 July 2023
Hi Ingunn, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience staying with us at Veriu Central. It is with regret to find that we have not met every expectation during your stay with us. We sincerely apologise for the experience that you had during your stay. When it comes to cleanliness, there is no excuse for anything less than excellence in standards. We are sorry to hear that the cleaning was not up to the standard that it should be. Our housekeeping team at Veriu Central takes personal pride in delivering a high standard. However, I accept that we do not always get it right and your feedback helps us to continually improve. We are incredibly sorry to hear that the staff were not friendly towards you. If you are willing, please could you email us directly at veriucentral@veriu.com.au, we would like the opportunity to be able to speak with you directly to rectify these issues and ensure that they do not happen again. We would appreciate you sending through the photos you have so that we are able to follow up with our team. Again we sincerely apologise for these issues during your stay and thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback. Kind regards Bailey Veriu Central
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sydney area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$182 - AU$360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sydney central on wentworth hotel sydney
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Central Station Hotel
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
112
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VERIU CENTRAL (AU$182): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Sydney) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Veriu Central
Which popular attractions are close to Veriu Central?
Nearby attractions include Mission Escape George St (0.3 km), Mission Escape Pitt St (0.4 km), and Capitol Theatre (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Veriu Central?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Veriu Central?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Veriu Central?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Veriu Central?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Veriu Central?
Conveniently located restaurants include Joe Black, Claires kitchen at le Salon, and Basket Brothers.
Are pets allowed at Veriu Central?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Veriu Central?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Chinese, Portuguese, Indonesian, and Sinhala.
Are there any historical sites close to Veriu Central?
Many travellers enjoy visiting State Theatre (0.9 km), Anzac Memorial (0.4 km), and St. Mary's Cathedral (1.0 km).
Is Veriu Central accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.