We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Camperdown

Booking.comUSD 111*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 132*
USD 111*
Great Deal
USD 132*
USD 112*
USD 132*
USD 112*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Camperdown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Camperdown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 515: English reviews
Dubbo, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Usually stay for o close as wellur sydney visits.Good transport close by.Staff friendly. Recent provision of Wifi. Basic and dated. Comfortable. Food places are also close. Reasonable prices.Join the Rydges club

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay, found our team friendly and our location convenient for the purpose of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future. Kind regards, Clair Warner Guest Relations

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 November 2015

I think the rest of the reviews here really sum it up nicely. It's tired and in desperate need of some attention. The A/C was really old and noisy, one of the lights in my room didn't work, there were stains on the curtains, chairs and carpet, the bathroom had a bit of mould around the edges... It's all just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmaline1234
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read your stay wasn't as good as what it should have been. I do apologise for the air conditioner. Our maintenance is in the process of repairing some noisy air conditioning units. If you have a noisy air conditioner we can always try and change your room. Our rates...

Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

last minute booking to help my sister move into usyd campus, good location being down the road from her campus but prices are way too steep for 3 star accom! paid 300$, lifts are slow & rickety, initial room smelt really bad like cat piss, changed to another room which was better in terms of smell but for some reason...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wenopuff
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for your review. I do apologise about the smell in your room. I have advised our housekeeping supervisor of this issue to ensure it does not happen in the future. Regarding the rate of your room, our rates do vary during the year and can increase when major events are in Sydney. However our rates are...

Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Staff: Evening staff are happy to assist with issues and resolve them in as satisfactory a manner as they could the moment the issues were raised with them. Price: initially had a family room. Requested for a swap due to condition of room and smell. Was put in a Queen Queen with city view- tariff was supposed to be 260/night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cassa01
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Thank you for bringing to our attention the rate change for your stay. I'm pleased that matter was resolved quickly for you. I do apologise for the condition of your room. I have taken your comments to our executive housekeeper to rectify immediately. I hope you choose...

Greater Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Room needs a good painting and carpet clean. 1 light not working but wasn't a big enough preoblem to request fixing since we stayed only 1 night. Very convenient location to Sydney Uni & RPA hospital.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 101oztraveller
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am pleased to see you found our location convenient for the purpose of your visit. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Clair Warner

Cowra, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We stayed on the 7th floor, the air conditioning didn't work so we had to chock open the door and open the window to get some cool air into the room, we informed reception but as it was the weekend it was not fixed. The bathroom also looked dirty but this may be old worn tiles, I am hoping. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 995holidayer
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologise for your air conditioning not working in your room. If we couldn't offer a room move due to occupancy, we can always offer a fan to your room. I have made sure housekeeping are aware of the tiles in the bathroom, they will rectify this immediately....

Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Reviewed 16 October 2015

We are members of the Rydges Priority Reward Program , and have stayed here several times before , but how standards have slipped ... The staff are still friendly and helpful , but it is the little things which let it down - the net curtains are diary and falling apart , the bathroom was dirty and full of mould...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Good Evening David. Thank you for the review. I have spoken with our maintenance manager about the pool area and the stairs leading to the pool. We will be putting smoking bins out in these areas from now to prevent this problem happening in the future. We appreciate your positive feedback about the hotel staff. Thank you for choosing to...

Gunnedah, Australia
Reviewed 15 October 2015

The reception staff were amazing. I was having a bad day with my partner having cancer surgery so I was looking slightly frazzled but they were great. The hotel itself is disappointing. Mouldy showers, dirty carpet and the rooms stink of cigarette. Parking is a rip off for what you get. The underground carpark is some kind of LSD trip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bangers M
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the issues you had with your room regarding the housekeeping. I have taken your concerns to our executive housekeeper to rectify immediately. Thank you for your positive feedback about our front office staff. Kind Regards, Shaun Dregmans Guest Relations

Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

Dirty, old and not cleaned from previous occupant, used towels and toiletries in room on arrival, dirt spray marks on wall, parking is not secure and yet they charged $25, if your choice was this hotel or sleeping in your car...choose your car!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YvonneHi
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry your stay with us wasn't as enjoyable as it should have been. I have spoken with our executive housekeeper about the issues in your room to rectify immediately. If you choose to stay with us again, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. Kind Regards, Shaun Dregmans Guest...

Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Very old hotel that could use a facelift. I have stayed here 3 times over past few months. The only reason I chose this hotel was because it is an easy walk to the RPA Hospital. I would not choose to stay in this hotel for any other reason. The rooms are tired, the carpet is old & grotty, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jandjandsome
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your continued patronage at the hotel. We are currently undergoing small cosmetic changes in all guest rooms which will improve the overall appearance. I have passed your compliments on to our chefs in our restaurant, as well as our front office staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming...

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Adara Camperdown
#104 of 174 in Sydney
154 reviews
Camperdown Suites
#126 of 174 in Sydney
16 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#123 of 174 in Sydney
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
436 reviews
Song Hotel Redfern
#118 of 174 in Sydney
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown

Address: 9 Missenden Rd | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $137 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Camperdown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Camperdown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for city view on 6th floor.”
283nancyeb, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check your room first before you unpack - run the shower!”
kymmccauley, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“first hotel that we could'nt hear doors closing during the night, nice and quiet”
roston2, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“lower floors are a bit better”
178abigaylet, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“City view is probably a marginal advantage with early sun to wake you.”
GKSWanderlust, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 111* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 112
Expedia.comUSD 112
TripAdvisorUSD 111
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates