We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Camperdown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Camperdown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Camperdown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 515: English reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Dont stay here. Everything is very rundown and the room smelled. Grout in bathroom was mouldy. Also over priced. Only good things are staff are nice, rooms quite big and well located for Syd uni and RPA but look elsewhere. We definitely wont go back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nance F
Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Very disappointed Indeed !. Beds were comfy BUT That's it.Room was dirty especially fridge with another guests rotting food left in it,shower curtain soiled, carpets stained, linen worn.When I enquired at service desk if bathroom could be tended to the reply was No,not until tomorrow morning.I had been contacted by Rydges direct via email before arrival asking what our priorities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wattie05
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights while a relative was very sick in the RPA hospital.The beds were comfortable but that was about it.we organised a late check out of 1pm so we could visit hospital in the morning.We packed our bags in the car and informed the front desk we would be back later for our lunch and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wickedwoman2014
Goulburn, Australia
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Smooth checkin procedure. Very pleasant front desk staff. Option to check out at 1 p.m. the next day a bonus. Room clean, neat and tidy - a few small chips in the bath. View from Room 511 is great. Breakfast was good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon M
Rydges C, Guest Service Agent at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Dear Leigh, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review for our hotel! We are very glad to see you enjoyed your stay in our City View room and hope that we can accommodate you again next time you choose to stay in Camperdown. Regards, Andrew Guest Service Agent

Taree, Australia
Reviewed 29 February 2016

The location of this hotel is very convenient with regard to both Sydney University and RPA hospital. Very easy walk up Missenden Road to both venues and to the restaurants and shops of Newtown. You 'pay' for your parking but we were able to 'leave' the car at the hotel until the end of the 'day' that we spent at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnaclare2013
Rydges C, Guest Service Agent at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at out hotel. I’m glad to see you found our rooms clean and quiet and that our location was convenient for your stay, I have passed the issue you addressed about the powerpoint in your room to our maintenance manager to resolve. Thank you for addressing this so...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 February 2016

We stayed in a room booked through booking.com. Our paperwork said that we were to be in a 'superior queen room' that was supposed to have a mini bar and pay-per-view movies. We had what looked like quite a small queen bed (more likely a double) with a single bed and no mini bar or movies. The Rydges brand is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Stayed at this hotel with my son, just for a night, before his admission in one of the hostels at University of Sydney. This hotel has a very comfortable air conditioning. it is also very close to the University, so it was a good walk to the campus. The breakfast : very expensive. I would recommend to go out and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dayadesh
RNCAMP, Director of Sales at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Regards, Richard Hoe Director Of Sales

Reviewed 23 February 2016

OK, after I stayed here two years ago I swore I'd never go back, but the options at that end of the UoS and the Alfred are so scare. The first time I gave it one star because I couldn't give it zero... This time the wifi was (thankfully) free and was pretty fast, and the hot and cold water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sgrayg
RNCAMP, Director of Sales at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback on your most recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it should have been. However, if you choose to stay with us again, we will make sure it will be a memorable experience stay. Regards, Richard Hoe Director of Sales

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 February 2016

large size dated room. felt as there are bedbugs and ants crawling over. Made a complaint to the reception but they couldn't help more than providing two extra sheets to cover the bed. all this for a rate of $180 a night . never again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Piyushmail
RNCAMP, Director of Sales at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback on your most recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it should have been. However, if you choose to stay with us again, we will make sure it will be a memorable experience stay. Regards, Richard Hoe Director of Sales

Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Check in and check out was terribly slow, asking for a $1 security deposit and then taking the room charge at check in to then have to settle incidentals like the $22 breakfast is extremely inefficient and very annoying. The rooms have not changed since I first stayed in this hotel in 1999 and they were old then. On the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
RNCAMP, Director of Sales at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback on your most recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it should have been. However, if you choose to stay with us again, we will make sure it will be a memorable experience stay. Regards, Richard Hoe Director of Sales

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Adara Camperdown
#104 of 174 in Sydney
154 reviews
Camperdown Suites
#125 of 174 in Sydney
16 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#124 of 174 in Sydney
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
436 reviews
Song Hotel Redfern
#117 of 174 in Sydney
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown

Address: 9 Missenden Rd | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $135 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Camperdown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Camperdown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for city view on 6th floor.”
283nancyeb, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check your room first before you unpack - run the shower!”
kymmccauley, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“first hotel that we could'nt hear doors closing during the night, nice and quiet”
roston2, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“lower floors are a bit better”
178abigaylet, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“City view is probably a marginal advantage with early sun to wake you.”
GKSWanderlust, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5