We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rydges Camperdown Sydney

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Camperdown Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Camperdown Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 491: English reviews
Cootamundra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Rydges Camperdown for 'reasonable priced' accommodation for my husband's recent hospital visit. The original quote for 7 nights was acceptable, but when I booked for a further 3 nights the price rose considerably - 50% higher than for the same nights the previous week! All costs attracted fees when paid by credit card. The location is great,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosemary W
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Rosemary W, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. Our rates is determined by the demand and the market and I do apologise that we were unable to assist you with a better rate for the extension of the additional 3 nights. In regards to the raido clock and the lighting... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Many of the adverse comments on this hotel are based on fact. Yes, it is a tired hotel that I think I remember as an original Travelodge. It was four stars in its heyday and the basic infrastructure reflects a degree of quality. It's been reasonably maintained and everything still works. Rydges have added their signature beds, which are excellent... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GKSWanderlust
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Dear GKSWanderkust, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown, I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and you will be glad to hear that we are in the process of planning for a complete upgrade of the hotel which I believe it will set a new benchmark in... More 

Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The staff make Rydges Camperdown a great place to stay. The building is a little old and tired but the beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean and homely. The staff are just plan nice, not robots going through the motions, any little problem is fixed promptly and with a smile. The restaurant serves good meals from breakfast through... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JimboGil
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Dear JimboGil, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown, I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and our staff was able to assist you. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Camperdown in the near future. Warm Regards Jason Chen Business Development Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We expect more from a Rydges hotel. We were shocked. The hotel is in DESPERATE need of refurbishing and should not be made available until it is! Chair upholstery that was terribly stained - UNACCEPTABLE; the bathroom smelled like a urinal; the shower dripped; the mattress needs replacing; old awful furniture - honestly it was like being in a dodgy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Stephen M, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I appreciate your feedback and I sincerely apologies for the poor experience you had during your stay. You will be glad to hear that we are in the process of planning a complete upgrade of the hotel and at this moment we... More 

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Only stayed for one night for a local event and thought the room was large and very clean though dated with old brown furniture and veneer peeling off the bathroom door. The carpet was worn and stained in places. The staff were pleasant. The property is overpriced at $259 for a basic room plus $25 for parking and also a... More 

Helpful?
Thank sydneytraveljunkie
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Dear sydneytraveljunkie, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I appreciate your feedback as we strive to improve on our products and services. We are in the process of planning a complete upgrade of the hotel and at this moment we do have a number of preventative maintenance program in place to... More 

1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Was ment to stay here for to nights not only is the price horrible the rooms were terrible mold in bathroom dust and dirt every where broken circuits broken windows broken air conditioning dirty fridge hair in bathroom was moved to another which was just as bad if your seeing someone with cancer avoid this place as much as possible... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chibiluffysan4455
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Chibiluffysan4455, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I appreciate your feedback and I sincerely apologies for the poor experience you had during your stay. You will be glad to hear that we are in the process of planning a complete upgrade of the hotel which is very exiciting for us.... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We stayed because we thought the price was ok, but i was not work a quarter of the price Rooms very dirty, and the breakfast make Mc Donald's look like 5 star Quite a windy night and the window rattled all night, and some doors of other guest rooms banged so loudly while closing got not sleep ay all.

Helpful?
Thank Dianne N
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Dianne N, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I appreciate your feedback and I sincerely apologies for the poor experience you had during your stay. If you do decide to stay with us again please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 02 9516 1522 or via email at... More 

Victoria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Only had one night here but found it great value with full city views. Although dated, the room was large and clean. Comfy bed and nice and quiet. The breakfast buffet was extensive and fresh. The breakfast/parking package was great, especially for loyalty members.

Helpful?
Thank MarcusBVictoria
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Dear MarcusBVictoria, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown, I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and you found our Rise Breakfast concept is extensive and fresh. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Camperdown in the near future. Warm Regards Jason Chen Business Development... More 

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The bath was caked with dirt, we called down to ask for something to be done about it and, though promised, nothing changed. Tiles etc broken in the bathroom with sharp edges exposed. Shower hot water stopped working intermittently. The entrance to the hotel was filled with plastic bags and other garbage (the wind was blamed) The lobby and even... More 

Helpful?
Thank j0hn138
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Dear j0hn138, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown. I appreciate your feedback and I am very disappointed on the condition of the room which you were allocated. If you could kindly contact me directly either via email (jason_chen@evt.com) or telephone (02 9516 1522 and let me know which room you were... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Clean but needs an update, bathroom quite old. Staff were friendly enough but room not ready as requested. Not sure where the city view was supposed to be (as shown in the promotion photos!!) Close proximity to RPA and university.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jo K
Rydges C, Business Development Manager at Rydges Camperdown Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Jo L, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Rydges Camperdown, I am pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and you find the location convenient to RPA and Sydney University. In regards to the City View Room we actually have different room categories to choose from upon making your reservation and... More 

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Adara Camperdown
#106 of 179 in Sydney
137 reviews
Camperdown Suites
#134 of 179 in Sydney
12 reviews
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#132 of 179 in Sydney
36 reviews
Glebe Space
#154 of 179 in Sydney
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown Sydney

Address: 9 Missenden Rd | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $137 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Rydges Camperdown Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Camperdown Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“lower floors are a bit better”
 of 5 bubbles 178abigaylet, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“City view is probably a marginal advantage with early sun to wake you.”
 of 5 bubbles GKSWanderlust, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for one, the staff will help”
 of 5 bubbles JimboGil, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go below the 3rd floor (apparently) Rooms are even worse - we checked!”
 of 5 bubbles C2614EQstephenm, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors and city views”
 of 5 bubbles MarcusBVictoria, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay