We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Zing Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Zing Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Zing Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

I've stayed in this hostel back and forth for about 5 months and it's my second home. From the first moment I walked in and being confused and a little disappointed to start to absolutely love it. the hostel atmosphere and people are amazing, really friendly, active and fun long termers that immediately got you into the group and involved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iris-vivan
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Good location and close to Sydney CBD and transport. Staff we're great and helpful for local recommendations. The place was kept clean and the breakfast was good as well. Met some really cool people at this place which made my experience even better!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
Sydney
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

Staff very friendly and helpful, even offered to help with my luggage both checking in and out which is really appreciated and I have not seen this before in Sydney hostels and I have stayed in almost them all. Rooms clean but the decor could use some updating, fresh paint, carpets etc. Comfy beds, clean common and good kitchen. Location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2016

I stayed here for a few weeks in 2011. I was in a private room and then a dorm. I liked how the private room had a wardrobe and a kitchenette. That was cool. I also liked the condition of the place in general. The showers from what I remember were good. The dorm wasn't as good. It was small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie S
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 January 2016

i'm in Sydney since 1 week, i have already try some backpackers hotel before but this one is really great i have take a single room inside their was a lot of space with a washbasin, air conditioning, a fridge and tv. the wifi is free for 100mb connection. the breakfast is including. i really recommend this hotel to all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthozoi
Ekeren, Antwerpen, Belgium
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 10 days during the christmasholidays and had a good time. Great location, near the city center and botanical gardens. Very friendly staff and the people who stayed there were easy going and social. It's an older building but everything is clean, nice outdoor area. Very cosy atmosphere. I would definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aline L
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Zing is a nice little hostel with a decent free breakfast, wi-fi and bathrooms for each room. Good location too. Staff were friendly, when I checked in the guy seemed quite stressed but apologised for the wait and upgraded me to a 4 bed room instead of a 6, without charging me extra. He also gave me more wi-fi as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eloise2312
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

First of all this has potential to be a very good hostel. The free breakfast is great, the rooms are nice, the fridge and the sink are a nice touch and the facilities are all fine. What's not so good... When entering our room all we could smell was damp/mould, the carpet was wet all around the fridge area. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenniferlouisea
Sicily, Italy
Reviewed 17 August 2015

One of the worst Hostel I've ever stayed. No one clean the rooms, no safety inside. People come and go, and the rooms stay the same, they just give you the sheets. No lockers, I stayed few days and run away.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Giandiving
Bruce K, Manager at Zing Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately when you stayed with us we did not have lockers. We agree with your complaint about this and now all of our dorms have lockers present. Our hostel is cleaned thoroughly twice a day also bathrooms and communal...

Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

I really love this hostel ! It's quite and nice. Nice staff members ,clean rooms, clean bathrooms! Everybody who likes a quite and small hostel, I would definitely recommend it! Free wifi, TV room, nice kitchen , nice people, big bathrooms, and reception is open until midnight.!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bibejj

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Zing Backpackers

Address: 156 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Travellers Rest)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $28 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Zing Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zing Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Rest Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Zing Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The top floors are more quiet since they are further from the courtyard.”
AyLevy, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance”
sharoni297, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“its a hostel expect some noise young people are alive and well!”
GOONERGONNAGETYA, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cheap and in Kings Cross”
Camypoo, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose room #25 or #26 for the street-view balcony”
sarahwC2726IH, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5