We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wake Up! Sydney

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wake Up! Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wake Up! Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,091: English reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

One of the better hostels I've stayed at! Clean well maintained rooms, very reasonable toilet and showering facilities! I particularly enjoyed the free Coogee beach to Bondi beach walking tour which with Conor and Liza they have once a week, and lots of night time activities (all you can drink wine on wine and cheese night in the side bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Kevin W, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and thanks for your perfect rating. I am so glad you had such an awesome experience with us. I will certainly be letting Conor and Liza (we call her smiles) know how much fun you had on their beach walk. Sounds like you had a great time...

Dresden, Germany
Reviewed 15 January 2016

pro: clean rooms and facilities, located right at sydney central station con: no free wifi, anoying speaker announcments for parties, it is all about making more money with the bar, no relax area or quite place, unfriendly and stupid security staff,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob H
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Rob H, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I will certainly be letting the housekeeping team know how much you appreciated their efforts. Thanks for your feedback in regards to the announcements, being such a large hostel we find this to be the most effective way of letting all the guests know what activities we...

Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

Wake Up Hostel is a great place to stay in Sydney! Central location; across the street from the main train station and Circular Quay is a short bus ride away or you can walk, too. Modern, clean rooms. There's stuff going on in the evening every night too, which makes it easy to meet people. Ryan, who works reception, is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kara K
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Kara K, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and thanks for your perfect rating. It certainly sounds like you made the most of your stay here at Wake Up! We are very lucky with our central location it makes seeing all the sites Sydney has to offer very easy. I will be letting Ryan know...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 15 January 2016

Awesome hostel that does everything well. Very well cleaned, well managed. Lots of fun activities and very nice staff. Bar downstairs and you can drink anywhere in the hostel as long as it is not downstairs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mhartley380
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Mharley380, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am so glad you had such a great stay with us. We put on activities every day of the week both in the hostel and down in Side Bar, to ensure guests get the most out of their Sydney stay and it also creates a social atmosphere...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2016

First impression Imposing old building, great character architecture, very central, I arrived in Sydney after traveling for the previous month and a half down the east coast. I was so pleasantly surprised when I arrived, The front desk service is professional and expedient which had been lacking in some of the previous hostels. Booking tours through this hostel despite there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thebagishalffull
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Thebagishalful, Thanks for your great feedback and for your perfect rating. I am so happy you had such and awesome experience with us. I will certainly be sharing your review with all the departments here as they all work very hard to ensure everyone has the best possible experience not just in Wake Up! but also in Sydney! I...

Reviewed 14 January 2016

Stayed in an all female 4-bed dorm. The space was adequate for the number of guests. Some of the lockers were broken. Toilet and bath were well maintained. Place is secured. Tried to purchase credits for wifi use but failed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Maria R, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am so glad you had such a nice stay with us. I will certainly be following up the locker issues and ensure everything is up to our high Wake Up! Standards. Wi-Fi is purchased at our reception however we do offer free internet at the computers...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2016

09-01-2016 till 13-01-2016 my sister (21 years old) and I (24 years old) stayed in the Wake Up! hostel in Sydney. It's an amazing place to stay: next to central station and right at the center so you can easily walk along all the beautiful highlights. The hostel is very big, clean and all necessarily facilities are available. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yvette F
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Yvette F, Thanks for your feedback and for your perfect rating. It certainly sounds like you had an awesome experience with us and made the most of your Sydney stay. I am glad you got a chance to get down to Side Bar it’s a great chance to meet people from all over the world. We certainly look forward...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Customer service is OUTSTANDING!! I had recently lost my hearing and the kindness shown by all the staff gave me the confidence to enjoy myself and not worry about not being able to hear.. The staff make your experience truly memorable :) It has everything!! A must stay for all who love to meet people and have fun :) Meet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Sharon J, Thanks so much for your review and for your perfect rating. I am so glad we got the chance to meet and that all of our staff looked after you. You are such a lovely person and all the staff here who met you we very touched by your nice comments. We wish you every success in...

Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

My whole adventure started there! Met my ultimate Oz group and some other great people! Quite expensive for budget back packers but it's more like a hotel. My standards were high when I left here and had a big shock when I saw some very cheap hostels haha. Very clean , cleaned every day without fail. Good bathrooms and showers,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Natalie S, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback and thanks for your perfect rating. I am so glad you had such a great experience with us. Ultimate Oz is a great partner of ours and they sure know how to show guests a great time in Australia. I will certainly be letting them know and...

Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Nice hostel. Clean and well located. The bar is a little noisy from time to time but yeah... its sydney. Kitchen is big, rooms are big enough, bathrooms are clean and if this is what you care about than the price is ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Matt H, Thanks for taking a moment to give us your feedback. It sounds like you had a nice stay with us. We all work very hard here to ensure our high Wake Up! Standards are met and all of our guests are having a great Sydney experience. Hopefully we see you again soon. Wake Up! Management

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Bounce Sydney
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 133 in Sydney
705 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 133 in Sydney
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 133 in Sydney
251 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#9 of 133 in Sydney
664 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#7 of 133 in Sydney
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winner '3rd Best Extra Large Hostel Worldwide' and 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney' at the 2017 Hostelworld 'HOSCARS' awards. Wake Up! Sydney Central represents all that Sydney has to offer. It's modern, it's clean and it's the hub of backpacker activity, right in the heart of Sydney. With a fresh layout, friendly staff and funky activities, Wake Up aims to offer an experience, not just a bed Join us and experience Wake Up! Sydney today. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wake Up! Sydney

Address: 509 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $39 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wake Up! Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wake Up! Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wake Up! Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wake Up! Sydney staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Watsonville
7 months ago
5 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Wake Up! Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd recommend to ask for a room that is not on the street side as you may hear the music coming from side bar at this night.”
 of 5 bubbles jeannecharlottew, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“First floor is relatively close to the street and you can sometimes hear the music and noise from the bar downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles tarrynhassell, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Any of the 06 or 10 bed dorms are the best- very spacious and sociable”
 of 5 bubbles Amy2062017, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“it's quite noisy on weekend nights”
 of 5 bubbles _missanhtran_, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“6th floor good, no street noise”
 of 5 bubbles Daylee-BH, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5