We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wake Up! Sydney

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Wake Up! Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,073: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Really nice and clean hostel, friendly staff and rooms were fine. Main gripe was my food got stolen from the fridge after a day - the staff were sympathetic and I know it's a risk with any hostel but I spoke to a lot of other people who had had the same thing happen so maybe it's time to introduce...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice H
Dendermonde, Belgium
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was my last hostel on my 13 day tour on the East Coast. This hostel, for me, had only one bad thing... The elevators! They were sooooooo slooooooooow and always packed with people. My room was clean and had everyting I needed. Good bed, tv, clean bathroom and towels... There's a very friendly staff. Wifi is free in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MYRiameke
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed at the wake up Hostel for 4 nights and it was a really nice stay. I booked a single room and everything was nice and clean. The only downside was that there was no outlet to charge my devices close to the bed. The staff was always welcoming and helped you with advices and tour booking. Bathrooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Roses are red A dairy alternative is soy One of the best things about wakeup Is a man named Roy. Bald and glassed, His service oh so fast Disappointing food and coffee, A thing of the past. Having stayed at wakeup, on and off for the past 3 months I have a decent idea of the high points and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy2062017
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Extremely good rooms and friendly helpful service at front desk. Great kitchen on first floor. Free WiFi @ reception. Great location near Central railway Station and Haymarket and China town. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
Tokyo
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I was only unlucky, but it seemed they were having huge auditioning or job hunting in Sydney, teenage models or girls were covering the room and corridors weeping their fortunes/failure, which caused untidy room with full of pizza smells and made me hard to sleep. So I suppose, I should have asked for any private room, though beside above, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eIIie
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi EIIie, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am sorry you had a negative experience with your room mates, this is something that can happen from time to time in all hostels and I would always recommend coming to see our 24/7 reception who would move heaven and earth to ensure you were having a...

Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I stayed at Wake Up! Sydney for 2 nights, and we booked a Private Twin Room with Shared Bathrooms for a good price considering the high season in January. For whatever reason we got upgraded to a Private Double Ensuite for the whole stay, which, although you can't generally expect that to happen, was still a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anja K
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Seriously a sweet hostel to stay at. I visited the side bar during my stay, it has a really great atmosphere and I definitely could have stayed longer. The reception staff were very hospitable and helped me with any queries I had. Oh and ladies!! (...And gents) bonus to find hair dryers from the 21st century in the bathroom. Winning!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amelia J
Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

I really like the hostel. It is clean and the stuff is super friendly. The only thing I did not like was the breakfast. It was not enough and it would be great if there is not every day the same. But overall I would always come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baerle2017
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Baerle2017, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will certainly pass on your kind words to our Housekeeping staff who work extremely hard to maintain our high Wake Up! standards. Roys cafe has a huge range of breakfast and lunch options to choose from aswell...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room is good enough, the communal area is very clean. But the thing I love most about Wake up Sydney is its location- very near to public transports and local restaurants. Everything is very convenient. Staffs are very helpful and nice. I felt so glad when choosing this place. Definitely will come back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _missanhtran_
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi _missanhtran_ Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review and for your great rating. We are certainly very lucky with our central location, across the road from train, bus and tram terminals, it does make getting out and exploring all this lovely city has to offer very easy. I will give a big shout out to the...

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 178 in Sydney
1,217 reviews
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Bounce Sydney
Bounce Sydney
#4 of 133 in Sydney
693 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 133 in Sydney
994 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#9 of 133 in Sydney
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winner '5th Best Extra Large Hostel Worldwide' and 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney' at the 2016 Hostelworld 'HOSCARS' awards. Wake Up! Sydney Central represents all that Sydney has to offer. It's modern, it's clean and it's the hub of backpacker activity, right in the heart of Sydney. With a fresh layout, friendly staff and funky activities, Wake Up aims to offer an experience, not just a bed Join us and experience Wake Up! Sydney today. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wake Up! Sydney

Address: 509 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $72 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wake Up! Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Wake Up! Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wake Up! Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wake Up! Sydney staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Watsonville
5 months ago
3 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Wake Up! Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any of the 06 or 10 bed dorms are the best- very spacious and sociable”
 of 5 bubbles Amy2062017, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“it's quite noisy on weekend nights”
 of 5 bubbles _missanhtran_, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“6th floor good, no street noise”
 of 5 bubbles Daylee-BH, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Shuttle airport bus”
 of 5 bubbles 55manuelep, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors are generally noisier”
 of 5 bubbles 101bethh, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay