We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Parrot Backpackers

305 reviews
Save
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good19%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tv room”(23 reviews)
“kings cross”(35 reviews)
“potts point”(21 reviews)
Non-Smoking Rooms
Airport Transportation
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (305)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Blue Parrot Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
200
50
16
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
200
50
16
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstv roomkings crosspotts pointcommon roombigger hostelslong termersended up staying weeksmeet other travellershome away from homelovely sistersfree wifilong term residentssocial hostelworking holidayhighly recommend this hostelsecond homecleaned every day
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2017

small hostel, big waste of money for the price they charge you, you get an hostel which is not very clean, inexistant wifi, smelly and noisy rooms unpleasant staff with bad-tempered owners who cares only about reviews +good location you can for sure find much...More

Thank mun0102
Response from BParrot, Owner at Blue Parrot BackpackersResponded 27 April 2017

Dear mun0102, We are sorry you had such a poor experience at out hostel. Unfortunately we’ve searched our records, and we have no evidence of your stay. If you’re willing, will you please contact us so we can discuss this with you and see how...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017

This is a small "comfy" hostel thats close to everything and comfortable the staff are very nice and helpful with things to do in the area and plan my trips my room was clean and I would stay again if I was in the area....More

Thank Alex H
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Compared with other hostels in Australia this one wasn't very clean nor outstanding in any other category. But compared to other Hostels in Sydney it's, in fact, one of the best. Location is okay, takes some time to get to CBD though. They don't organize...More

Thank arlo_carlo
Response from BParrot, Owner at Blue Parrot BackpackersResponded 27 April 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback arlo_carlo. We are happy you found our hostel to be one of Sydney's best and you’d recommend us! As you can see from our previous reviews we are highly rated for Cleanliness on all websites (eg...More

Reviewed 9 April 2017

This is a good place e for all ages especially if you want to be able to go out for partying but still be able to sleep well at night. Only 50 beds so easy to make friends. I always come back to the blue...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hannahn531
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

I've stayed at quite a few hostels in Sydney and in my opinion Blue Parrot is my absolute favourite. As a solo traveller I find it hard to socialise in some of the bigger hostels but in BP Effie & Sasha make you feel like...More

Thank Mark T
View more reviews
PreviousNext
1789101156
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Hotel Amenities
Airport Transportation
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
USD 29 - USD 71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 29 - USD 71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
thefourfullers
6 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Blue P | Property representative |
Dear Vicky, Thanks for contacting the Blue Parrot Sydney! No hostel in Sydney has it's own private parking but what we can do is when you arrive to the hostel we can provide you with a map which navigates you to a nearby... More
0
Votes
HappyTraveller007_12
22 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Rebecca C |
Hi HappyTraveller, Thanks for your interest in staying at the Blue Parrot Sydney! February is still our peak season so we do not offer any discounted rates for longer stays. You'll find most good hostels in Sydney will... More
0
Votes
Marilyn O
17 August 2014|
Answer
Response from Sasha S |
Hi Marilyn, You can get to the hostel/airport by shuttle bus, the 'Sydney Shuttle' bus company starts their pick ups at 4.45 AM and end approximately at 7.00 PM. The cost is approximately AUD$13.00 per person, which you can... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"I liked a quieter 4-person room..."
Read review
"The only suggestion I can give is about giving specific information about the what soap or shampoo in..."
Read review
"Stayed in a four bed dorm. Spacious, clean with lockers"
Read review
"The rooms facing the garden are more quiet."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing