We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Westend Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Westend Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

419 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 372: English reviews
Start your review of Westend Backpackers
 Click to rate
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you don´t want to risk getting any health issues, you should look for another hostel! I stayed in a room where you could not open the windows. When I arrived, it was really damp because no one had turned on the air-conditioning. There is mold everywhere as you can see on the pictures. I had to stay for ten...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evamarie98
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great place if you want to party with the guests and staff. People are kind, easy going and very helpful. The Manager is a good man. Excellent location and very clean room with adjoined bathrooms. Close to city, bus, trams, shops and parks etc. Definitely recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica D
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I've stayed in quite a few hostels on my travels and this one was by far the worst. Most of the staff are rude and ignore you, it's really not hard to greet or atleast acknowledge a customer. The was mainly the female staff, they guys were really friendly. The escalator was not working with was a disaster carrying out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha A
Tom C, Front Office Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

G'Day Natasha, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us and I am particularly concerned to hear that you found certain members of our staff rude and unapproachable. We pride ourselves on having a great staff team who are happy to help with any issues any I expect nothing short of this. If you would be able...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After reading other reviews i was very worried about staying here but when we arrived our room was clean stayed in a family ensuite room.my only critisism is extra pillows are needed 1 flat one is just not enough.And def need a lift from the street to the entrance other then that i had no complints

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonie O
Tom C, Front Office Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

G'Day Leonie, I'm stoked to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us here at Westend Backpackers! We are currently in the process of renovating our property and this does include replacing our lifts and installing new facilities on the ground floor and I do apologize for the temporary inconvenience! Our 24 hour reception are also happy to provide extra...

Reviewed 1 week ago

An overall ok experience. This is a budget hostel, and I wouldn't have expected too much more. Old and run down but it served its purpose. Rooms are complete with a shared bathroom. Showers dribbled water but it was lovely and hot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa W
Tom C, Front Office Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

G'Day Vanessa, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Westend Backpackers! I'm sorry to hear about the shower leaking during your stay. I've sent our Maintenance Manager to fix this issue in the room you stayed in! Cheers, Tom

Reviewed 1 week ago

For a backpackers, the rooms were considerably clean with extremely basic toiletries. The entrance smelled weird and I couldn't get over the smell for the whole stay. The staff included just a couple of people max at the reception, but they were friendly enough. Quite a lot of late night parties at the common area, but that area and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sayali k
Tom C, Front Office Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

G'Day Sayali, I'm glad to hear you found your room clean and the reception staff friendly during you stay with us here at Westend Backpackers. In regards to the cleanliness of the communal facilities we do periodic cleaning daily to ensure they are kept to a high standard. I will be passing your feedback onto our Housekeeping Manager so we...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel was really extreme, i can handle many things but having everything broken or under construction is a no no. On top of that it was so smelly that i was scared my lungs will get an infection. All facilities were dirty. The door outside couldnt be opened with the keycard, so need to call the reception first and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samet B
Tom C, Front Office Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

G'Day Samet, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us here at Westend Backpackers. As you mentioned we are currently doing some renovations to our property and as a result some minor disruptions to our communal facilities can be experienced and I would like to apologize for this. I would like to reassure you though that...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel had good staff that was willing to help you although do make money because of the travel agency at the hostel. They do a good job about trying to arrange social events to meet others in the hostel. The beds are uncomfortable, rooms were small, Have to pay for lockers, very small kitchen for the amount of people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dehizzy
Tom C, Front Office Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

G'Day, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback regarding your stay with us here at Westend Backpackers. Firstly I glad to hear you found our staff warm and accommodating during your stay! As you mentioned we do run events daily around the property to help solo travelers meet each other as well as show off some pretty...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My pillow case wasn't even change when I checked-in to stay. Dirty and falling apart, I would NOT stay there again. It was cheap and lived up to its cheapness. The staff were a mixture of being helpful and then being completely rude.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lydia J
Tom C, Front Office Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

G'Day Lydia, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback regarding your stay with us here at Westend Backpackers. Maintaining a high standard of cleanliness and customer service is paramount to us and is this case it sounds as if we did not meet your nor our expectations. I am particularly concerned to hear that you found some...

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Is Disgusting, I will never stay or recomend anybody to stay here, there where roaches in the rooms..and the smell ot the mold was horrible,,the health deparment shoud take action and do something in regard to this property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asantiago336
Tom C, Front Office Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review

G'Day, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us here at Westend Backpackers. Firstly I would like to reassure you that we have regular inspections both internal and external and are compliant with all health regulations. I would however like to apologize that the room you were placed in did not meet your expectations. I must ask...

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Maze Backpackers
#27 of 137 in Sydney
667 reviews
790 on George
#45 of 137 in Sydney
198 reviews
Central Business District
Base Backpackers
Base Backpackers
#22 of 137 in Sydney
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney Central Inn
#57 of 137 in Sydney
70 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#8 of 137 in Sydney
397 reviews
Railway Square YHA
#12 of 137 in Sydney
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Westend Backpackers is located right in the center of the CBD, just a stone throw from Central Station and right in the hub of Sydney's' best restaurants, shops and Bars . We're also only a 15min walk from the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge! Our aim at Westend Backpackers is for you to have a brilliant time and to leave with a smile on your face and a bounce in your step. We have dorms of all sizes ranging from private rooms to our infamous 32 bed dorm "The Church", as well as excellent facilities and legendary staff whose job it is to ensure you have a wonderful time. We focus on providing you with more than just a bed with daily and nightly activities organised for you. There's never a dull moment during your time here , whether it's partying VIP style with us at multiple bars or enjoying a chilled movie night whilst stuffing your face with free popcorn in our tv lounge, there's only one thing you won't want to do while staying at Westend, and that's leave. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Westend Backpackers

Address: 412 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Footprints Westend)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Price Range: $27 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westend Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westend Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westend Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Westend Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a window that can be opened!”
  • More mold and another window that cannot be opened!
  • The window could not be opened! During my stay at the hostel,they painted over the mold to hide
  • Rusty pole
  • During my stay (10 nights) they never changed the shower curtain!
evamarie98, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
monicadQ3159XI, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“en-suites are invaluable!”
h0llyb90, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You got what you pay, think twice before you book”
Shirley91188, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No tip to give”
nominetal, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5