We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BreakFree on Clarence

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BreakFree on Clarence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

425 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BreakFree on Clarence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 411: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Returned from day out to find entry card accessed hotel but not room , this couldn't be rectified by night staff ? all staff should no how to issue new cards.. My big concern was booked airport shuttle failed to turn up. this caused panic after pick up time came and went, phoned shuttle company to find out our booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iansN977TA
Mareeba, Australia
Reviewed 5 October 2016

You have a top location, friendly front desk staff who were lovely. We had three rooms booked in our group, and each one found a different level of service from the cleaner!! One room looked like the cleaner got distracted half way through, a chair was tipped over in the middle of the room, the bed had no top sheet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear Jayne, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with Breakfree on Clarence. We appreciate your review with regards to our location and friendly hospitality. But we are disappointed to learn shortfall from housekeeping team. We will share your feedback with housekeeping supervisor for improvement of service. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward...

Cootamundra, Australia
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The Location of the motel was very good, we could walk everywhere. Only downside is the shower water was only warm both day and nights. The carpet in our particular room was wet, so there was a bad odour all the time. Otherwise the staff were friendly and helpful and price was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendybD9293LS
Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear Wendy, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Breakfree on Clarence. We appreciate your review with regards to our Team and location. Your compliments have been passed on to our Guest Service Agents. Our apology for carpet and unexpected odour in the room. We have started upgrading our rooms, and soon we will have room...

Durango, Spain
Reviewed 4 October 2016

The location is perfect and the installations also. However, they do not clean very well. The carpet was not clean and the day we leave the towels to change, they did not leave towels for two people. They did not wake us up although we ask for this service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inremen
Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear Inremen, We are glad that you appreciated our locations and fittings. However, it is unfortunate to hear that our cleanliness was not up to par during your stay. It is our aim to provide clean and comfortable rooms for our guests. During the coming months we will be undergoing some renovations to improve our property standards. Our Guest Service...

Brisbane
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Room was dirty, handle missing off bedside table, dusty, and noise coming through window from street below. Bed heads scratched up, burned was comfortable. No issues with check in or check out. I would not stay here again if I was paying unless standards and cleaning improve

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurenmrsc
Hotel_Manager287, Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear laurenmrsc, Thank you for your feedback regarding your Breakfree on Clarence experience. Your comments regarding cleanliness and maintenance have been noted for review. We apologise for any inconvenience during your time with us. We would like to inform you that, in the coming months, our property will be receiving some renovations. Hopefully, as a result, you may reconsider staying...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 2 October 2016

All the CBD sights and services are accessible from this relatively low cost accommodation. Not pretentious and not trying to be 4 star and thus more expensive. The furnishings are good quality and solid while the bathrooon is functional with quality fixtures. This hotel would make a great base to explore Sydney leaving money to spend on getting out and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 783cephasg
Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear 783cephasg, Thank you for your such solid feedback from your recent stay with us. . We are very delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us and happy with many aspects ranging from our central location, value for money and 24/7 reception desk !! We look forward to your return. Regards -The BreakFree on Clarence Team

Woodend, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Enjoyed our stay and loved the fact accommodation was pretty central and everything we wanted to see was at a walkable distance. And we got a good deal on the price. Staff were helpful in booking a coach for our trip back to the airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 107judyf
Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear Judy, Thank you for taking the time in providing us some feedback. It is great to hear that you found our location convenient and our staff helpful. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you Regards -The BreakFree on Clarence Team

Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Bathroom flooded when I had a shower, water and yucky bits coming up through the drainage hole in the bathroom! Very smelly probably because of the water issues! Location was great, walking distance to darling harbour and the city!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A7034YYrachelp
Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, Thank you for your feedback regarding your Breakfree on Clarence experience. We apologise for any inconvenience experienced during your time with us. After your departure we have inspected the room and unfortunately we were unable to identify any issues. We have also organised plumber to check that room, to make sure that room is in working condition. I...

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Great central location and really quiet. The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel is within easy walk to Pitt Street Mall, QVB and King St Wharf, although not many of the restaurants near the wharf are open for breakfast. We would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kath800
Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear Richard, Thank you for your review of BreakFree on Clarence. We are delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay. Our friendly Guest Services department aims to provide a pleasant experience and your compliments have been taken on board for review. We hope that you consider staying with us when you return to Sydney. Kind Regards, The BreakFree on...

Canberra
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Was quoted $608 for our stay in booking.com but charged $615. Not a lot of difference but watch it! Location was fabulous, room small but enough for what was needed. Staff lovely and accomodating. Would recommend location and staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sayerahd
Hotel_Manager287, Guest Relations Manager at BreakFree on Clarence, responded to this review

Dear Sayerahd, Thank you for taking time to write a review from your stay. We are sorry to hear that you felt that you were overcharged. We have double checked the account and your accounts shows that you paid 1.25% credit card surcharge on total cost of the room. We do impose surcharge on every credit transaction, depending on type...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4,656 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#80 of 179 in Sydney
175 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#12 of 179 in Sydney
1,690 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#77 of 179 in Sydney
3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Positioned in the heart of the Sydney CBD, BreakFree on Clarence provides travellers with a choice of room types which are great for singles, families and couples, including the Single Standard room, Queen Room, Twin Room, Family Suite Family, and Premium Room. Rooms are air-conditioned providing comfort during the warmer and cooler months, and Wi-Fi (fee applies) offers travellers the opportunity to catch up on business or connect with loved ones while on holiday. Planning a lot of activities while in Sydney? The city is bursting with lots of excursions; you'll find the locality of this city hotel offers all that you need, with public transport including trains and buses at the hotel entrance, along with a horde of shops, cafes and restaurants. From this well-appointed accommodation you can walk to many of Sydney's best attractions including Westfield Shopping Centre, the Art Gallery of NSW, Darling Harbour, Sydney Botanic Gardens, Sydney Opera house and Circular Quay where the ferries depart to Taronga Zoo, DFO shopping outlet and Manly. Location Features: • Sydney Airport 8.4Km drive • Town Hall Train Station 500m walk • Capitol Theatre 1.3Km walk • Chinatown 1.5Km walk • Paddy's Markets 1.3Km walk • Sydney Entertainment Centre 1.2Km walk • Darling Harbour 1.1Km walk • Circular Quay 1.3Km walk • The Sydney Opera House 2km • Sydney Botanic Gardens 1.6Km • The Rocks 1.3Km • Sydney Aquarium 350m walk ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree on Clarence

Address: Shorter House 193-195 Clarence St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly City Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Price Range: $150 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BreakFree on Clarence 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BreakFree on Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BreakFree on Clarence staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BreakFree on Clarence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Select rooms on the top floors”
 of 5 bubbles subarnag2013, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles MaryC4505, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Dont go to top floors if you require WIFI.”
 of 5 bubbles DaraghC479, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“find another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles SnSOz, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Can be noisy in the rooms on the Clarence Street side.”
 of 5 bubbles rolandg998, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay