We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Base Backpackers

Booking.comUSD 49*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 197*
USD 49*
Great Deal
USD 102*
USD 102*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Base Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 566: English reviews
Start your review of Base Backpackers
 Click to rate
Thames, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My partner and I stayed twice here with a one day break in between. The first room on the 2nd floor was REALLY noisey.....we were changed to the other end which was a bigger room and much quieter. We opted for a room with bathroom. Seems like all the rooms are quite different. They do give you earplugs and can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZVICKI
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Base is a great Backpackers. Perfect location in the middle of Sydney. Great facilities - fantastic room, good common space. Friendly crew. I like that it has character - from being built into a couple of old buildings. Busy and friendly bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geddesneil
Alex H, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, legend! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again soon! Much love, Base Crew

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend was staying here and after reading reviews, I was a little worried to join her. But it was a lot better than I thought. There is a club next door. So if you want sleep, don't stay here. That being said, we couldn't hear it from our floor, even the nights we stayed in. You're 5 minutes from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meggys_d_
Alex H, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey mate, thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review with us. First of all we apologise for the inconvenience caused. Our cleaners have been with us for a long time and they would not take any belongings of guests. It may have been put into our lost property because they assumed it belonged to guests...

Port Moresby
Reviewed 1 week ago

I honestly thought the facilities were excellent. The rooms were really clean. I stayed in a four-in-one room and it had it's own bathroom which was squeaky clean. The location is also convenient. You can take a five minute walk across the road and you're already at darling harbour. You can also go to Chinatown from there and enjoy a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tobyj496
Alex H, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review with us, Toby! So stoked to hear that! We try to keep everything as clean as possible and we're happy you felt comfortable during your stay. We wish you safe travels further on and we hope to welcome you again soon! Much love, Base Crew

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very noisy at night because the have late parties everyday! You can hear the music from your bedroom and the walls even shake! In addition, the receptionist made a mistake and put me in a 6 bed mixed room instead of an only female room. Which cause a great discomfort and surprise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zeila2016
Alex H, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Zeila! It's sad to hear you experienced this during your stay and we apologise about the inconvenience caused. This will hopefully not happen again and we are sorry it made you feel uncomfortable. Much love, Base Crew

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was a bit nervous about staying at this hostel, I only chose it as a friend was staying there. I am glad to say I was pleasantly surprised, there were some minor issues but I would book to stay here again if I am back in Sydney. You get the impression walking in that it is a party hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissAJ1987
Alex H, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review with us! We're happy to hear about your positive experiences here at Base. If you don't feel comfortable in your room we are always happy to move you. At first it takes a while to check-in via the TIPI app but once you're registered you can check-in at all the Base and Nomads hostels...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

They have to control the behaviour of the guest after 10 pm.having people chatting on corridors at 1-2 o'clock am. & slamming doors around, maybe few sings will help or a bit of patrolling around the floors would help to encourage people's respect for others.Amenites & rooms where very clean & location perfect for public transport & sightseeing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valparaiso277
Alex H, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey legend! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us and thank you for letting us know! We will definitely think of something to let our guests know and we apologise for the inconvenience caused! We hope you still enjoyed your stay with us and also hope to welcome you again soon! Much love, Base Crew

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well, when you think of backpackers you think of meeting great people from across the globe and a very energetic vibe. Being just 2 min away from the Darling harbor and will the scary cannery attached to this place, you are surely up for the best parties in Sydney but the energy in the hostel is very low, in your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WhatAltitude
Alex H, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review with us mate! It's sad to hear you experienced that during your stay. If you don't feel comfortable in your room we are always happy to move you into another one. We have a lot of longterm guests staying with us who work at night so you might have stayed in a quieter room....

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

rm was not bad lockers broken,window was locked so no air, the fan extractor in shower did not wk,the cleaner came in and spent 2 min cleaning, did not touch shower rm,kitchen cockroach infested and v dirty no free tea coffee and no wifi bins over flowing with rubbish, the reception staff rolled off the amenietys and ya music noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamiekenny64
Alex H, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review with us. We offer free wifi in our MAD travel shop next door during the week which you can use in the lobby as well. There seemed to be a lot of issues when you were here and we apologise for all that and are very sorry you couldn't enjoy your stay. Much love, Base...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Atmosphere spring break, so if you are looking for a quiet, clean place, with respectful people, how leaky !!! Do not hesitate to make complaints to the team, because they know the reality of their establishment !!! He will change rooms every time! Ambiance spring break, donc si vous cherchez un endroit calme, propre, avec des gens respectueux, comment dire...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MomoSoso56
Alex H, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review with us! We are very sorry you couldn't enjoy your stay. We would like to know more about your stay and what went wrong so please do not hesitate to contact us. Much love, Base Crew

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#66 of 175 in Sydney
1,233 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 139 in Sydney
1,312 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 139 in Sydney
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 139 in Sydney
269 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#18 of 139 in Sydney
235 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 139 in Sydney
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Base Backpackers

Address: 477 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Wanderers on Kent)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Price Range: $32 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Base Backpackers 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Base Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Base Backpackers staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Base Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back and on higher floors would be quieter”
geddesneil, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Too noisy at night all around the corridors”
valparaiso277, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Take a 6 bed dorm as 10 is too much crowd for the room size.”
WhatAltitude, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“good vibes all around”
, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“The double rooms are great”
bobbiem262, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 49* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 102
Expedia.comUSD 102
AMOMAUSD 197
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates