Base Backpackers
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Base Backpackers

477 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
Traveller (113)
Kitchen
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
AU$106
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#8 of 85 hostels in Sydney
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Base is an amazing place to stay, run by like minded people in an environment where you'll feel right at home. Base Sydney is Sydney's most centrally located budget accommodation venue, so said the Lonely Planet guide book. All rooms have security access by a mobile app called Tipi, make sure to download because it will make your stay so much easier! Reception is manned 24/7 so you can always come to us with any questions. Our famous bar and nightclub The Scary Canary serves great lunch and dinner as well as drinks to quench your thirst. There's nightly activities going on to meet your new future friends! In the hostel there's also plenty of stuff going on. We have free pancakes every morning, free pasta AND a travel party on Wednesday. Inform at our desk for what else is going on! Apart from that we have a team of travel experts that will make your trip the best one ever! They know everything about travelling through Australia and New Zealand and are happy to help!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Nightclub / DJ
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
1.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Estonian and 2 more

Location

477 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Sydney Airport
Town Hall
3 minSydney Trains
Museum
8 minSydney Trains
1,034Review12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 305
  • 264
  • 206
  • 117
  • 142
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Malte wrote a review Feb 2020
Aarhus, Denmark5 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We staid here for a week. The people at our room was very noisy but the staff was very kind and moved us to a mush better room with nice people. The place is filled with party happy people but fun if you are not sharing room with them. The hostel offers a lot of free activities. We went to Bronte beach where Kieran cooked great burgers and brought drinks and a good party vibe!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maud E wrote a review Mar 2023
38 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for two weeks during Christmas and New Years. The hostel is very sociable and it’s easy to meet people. There’s a nice kitchen downstairs. While I did very much enjoy my stay, there were also some downsides. For the full two weeks I stayed there, my room didn’t get a proper clean once. They usually came in once a day, vacuumed a little bit and that was that. There was also still some stuff in the room that didn’t belong to any of us staying in the room at the time. So must belong to people that stayed there before we did. The bathrooms were kind of dirty as well most of the time. But I guess it was also the time of year and the hostel being very busy. Overall my stay was fine.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katie Wilcher, General Manager at Base Backpackers
Responded 6 Mar 2023
Hi Maud, Many thanks for your feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. We've recently added more cleaners to our team to improve the general cleanliness within the hostel. We hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future so you can experience an improved stay. Many Thanks, Nomads Sydney Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pratikshahi wrote a review Feb 2023
Dubai, United Arab Emirates67 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location will be the strongest advantage for this hostel. It was centrally located to all the attractions and easy access to townhall station. Staff were friendly and helpful. It did get noisy but its fine as its a backpackers hostel and you must expect young crowd having a good time. Washrooms did get messy but a staff was cleaning it regularly and you could always contact staff for a prompt action. Good value for money and great location.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter M wrote a review Apr 2021
Melbourne, Australia1,293 contribution348 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Corona benefited me as a six room dorm only had three beds available due to social distancing and the prices were cheaper than last time I went. Also I was the only one in the room the three nights I was there so like a private room for dormitory prices. The 1800 number was free and the ease of booking and the promptness of confirming it by email was excellent service. The staff were very friendly and all you had to remember was the code to get into the room. The showers and toilets were clean and eating area was clean with people always cleaning it. Other people in the place were friendly also. In fact that is why I go back all the time. It is also central to the city. You did not need t pay by visa on the phone wither and I paid when I got there just in case with all these sudden lock downs I could not go. The only down side was that I did not get a ride to the station and was drenched when I got there even though I had an umbrella. It was good time to go though as big floods the next week.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Better if I was not so high up as lifts broken down so better to be in lower floors. Better to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haiden wrote a review Feb 2023
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When we checked in they offered me and my girlfriend a private room for the night which was a lovely gesture, the other 8 nights we was in a 10 person dorm, was cleaned everyday and the beds themselves were very comfy, where you have your own shelf with a light and plug socket, the showers and toilets were always clean and plenty of them! They had free ping pong in the common area as well as a cinema room. The kitchen was very big and loads of stoves for cooking however no oven! They had a club next door called scary canary, which we had free access to as they are connected to the hostel, they had different events going on there every night so always plenty to do! Discounted prices for drinks when you show your room key. The staff were amazing and always so friendly and helpful, lovely hostel and amazing location right in the centre of everything!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ella S wrote a review Feb 2020
Melbourne, Australia10 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The thing we loved the most about this hostel was definitely the kitchen and the bathrooms. The kitchen was so big and never to busy, the bathrooms as well. Our room on the other side was awful. We lived with 4 people who had no respect for other people, they partied all night, scream, had loud music, ran out and in through the door and the staff didn’t care.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katie W, Reception at Base Backpackers
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Hi Ella, First i want to thank you for your review. It means we can read on what we're doing good and what we still need to improve on. Im glad that you enjoyed at least some parts of the hostel experience. On the other hand i apologize that your roommates weren't very respectful of you. If you feel like your roommates arent respectful you can always go to reception and ask for a possible room change or if we could come up and talk to them. I hope to see you next time. Kind regards, Base Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan H wrote a review Feb 2020
Cheshire, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Couldn't have been happier with the hostel. I've stayed in a few hostels but was super impressed with this one. Huge kitchen, bathrooms were very clean and the beds were really comfy. Easy to meet people thanks to the bar next door. Would recommend to anyone staying in Sydney
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kane G wrote a review Nov 2020
Gosford, Australia7 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was only looking for somewhere to crash after a night out in the city this was perfect.
Great location, Clean, Surprisingly quite, Friendly staff, Very easy check in and check out and the app “key” work flawlessly.
Couple of minor negatives (just to put some here so it does not look
Like a fake review) the place was a bit of a maze and has some stairs it could be a pain with a big bag and a minor repairs needed - the bathroom handle was coming off but I was able to screw it back on enough to work
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sophie B wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a great time and want to give Anya a special mention for running the best bar crawl lots of laugh and entertainment involved. Amy and Anya made my stay very enjoyable.

I would definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katie W, Reception at Base Backpackers
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to having you in the future. Have a great day, Base team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam B wrote a review July 2018
Walsall, United Kingdom17 contributions20 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Room 407 - Drugs, Dirt, Drunken talking and music playing ALL NIGHT & urinating on carpet/up the front door at 4am in the morning - all by a disgusting couple in room 407 who claim to have been living in the hostel for over 7months [and only one pays to be there] —I told the receptionist at the time about all of this and he just replied with “oh, their my mates sorry about that” - pathetic staff, won’t be recommending or staying with Base again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katie W, Manager at Base Backpackers
Responded 24 Mar 2019
Hi Sam B, Thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback. First of all we would like to apologize for this situation because this is not the experience we want you to have at all. We have a zero tolerance policy regarding illegal substances and are very strict on this. We know it has been a while since you wrote this, that's why we want to tell you the situation has changed since then. We have different staff than we had back in July and do not put guests into staff dorms anymore. We hope you'll give us a second change in the future. Cheers, The Base Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
June K asked a question Dec 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Does the hostel help you get a job quick?
Answer from Kelsey van Dillen
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands176 contributions24 helpful votes
Absolutely! Just stop by Job search and they’ll help you find a joh asap
Answer from wheelchairandeye
Mumbai, India1,048 contribution241 helpful votes
You have to book at the reception and also book the transport for the airport 48 hours or at least 24 hours in advance but we just tried our luck and we got it even one hour before our time to go.... there is a storage room that they allow you to store your luggage free of charge but I am not sure about how long you can keep it for free
Answer from bard h
7 contributions
Some of the room Locatod 2nd floor of the bar/club, but u may request others room.chill
FirstlyNadila asked a question June 2018
Jakarta, Indonesia130 contributions47 helpful votes
Is the reception open 24/7? Since I will be arriving around 10 pm, I'm worry I can't do the check in
Answer from Katie W
1 contribution
Hi, yes reception is open 24/7! so no worries:)
Answer from Katie W
1 contribution
Hi Victoria, sorry for the late response. But yes there is!
Peter M wrote a tip Apr 2023
Melbourne, Australia1,293 contribution348 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be wary that things in the fridge get taken"
Read full review
Peter M wrote a tip Apr 2021
Melbourne, Australia1,293 contribution348 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Better if I was not so high up as lifts broken down so better to be in lower floors. Better to have 6 dorms than 8 or 10 as too crowded"
Read full review
Alan M wrote a tip July 2020
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you must stay here then stay in a dorm. Private rooms NOT worth the money."
Read full review
Chloe wrote a tip Mar 2020
6 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"dont sleep near the frosted window"
Read full review
Jack T wrote a tip Oct 2019
10 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 207 is very cold from an A/C duct running though it but is very spacious. Also utilise the hostels private bathrooms/showers"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sydney area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$93 - AU$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
base backpackers hotel sydney
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Wanderers on Kent
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyChinatown / Central Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BASE BACKPACKERS (AU$93): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Sydney) - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Base Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Base Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include Local Sauce Tours (0.4 km), Mission Escape Pitt St (0.4 km), and Big Night Out Pub Crawl (0.02 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Base Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, airport transportation, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Base Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Base Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Primi Italian, Caffe Amici, and The Baxter Inn.
Does Base Backpackers have airport transportation?
Yes, Base Backpackers offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Base Backpackers located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Sydney.
Are any cleaning services offered at Base Backpackers?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Base Backpackers?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese, and Estonian.
Are there any historical sites close to Base Backpackers?
Many travellers enjoy visiting State Theatre (0.3 km), Anzac Memorial (0.6 km), and St. Mary's Cathedral (0.8 km).
All Sydney HotelsSydney Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SydneyHotels near Base Backpackers
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars