We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Original Backpackers Hostel

Hotels.comUSD 66*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 66*
USD 66*
USD 66*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Original Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 159: English reviews
Start your review of The Original Backpackers Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A very good location, you can reach the most things by foot and enjoy the city. A nice clean room and friendly staff. I absolutely recommend this Hostel, especially for travelling groups/friends :) a lot of young people who want to party!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olinka D
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a private room with a private bathroom. Small and simple room came with bedsheets and towels and TV and coffee making facilities. Very comfy bed. Wet room for shower and toilet was OK but never dried even with vented window open. Had a room safe for a refundable 20euro deposit. Had limited WiFi for free. Didn't use the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anon_welsh
Bruce-KE, Manager at The Original Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the good review.As you say we shut the courtyard down at 10pm.Laughter and talking are a good part of staying at a hostel.Yelling and anti social behaviour are not tolerated-that is why we have a night manager on duty all night.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for only one night due to the state of the hostel, it is directly across from a night club so was very loud. The rooms do not have enough room for your bags and the beds are very uncomfortable. There is no aircon and you get 500mg of free wifi upon check in. When we got to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachelv93
Bruce-KE, Manager at The Original Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but I would note that there are always spare pillows at reception.The "nightclub" across the road and is actually a very popular restaraunt (Ms Gs). The hostel actually has more than 15 bathrooms and they are cleaned 4 times a day.They do get wet from guests feet.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This backpackers was a nice place, very close to everything like walking distance from shops and clubs. The service was great and the parking prices where excellent, I would definitely stay here again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank zhe_zhe12
Bruce-KE, Manager at The Original Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review.Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

The biggest problem of this hostel is that the staff is living here. There are a bunch of 19 some kids jumping around that work here (working holiday) and in the neighboring hostel. Since there is only one common area they are constantly occupied by them. During our stay (5 nights) we saw less guests than staff. And they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
Bruce-KE, Manager at The Original Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We have around 250 guests in our 2 hostels and 12 live in staff.We have very friendly staff who mix with our guests,because they were guests when we hired them.You obviously couldn't tell the difference between staff and guests which is a pity as you would have found them very friendly.The bins in all the rooms are emptied every day-...

Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

The hostel is noisy with common areas as expected used til around midnight but then a number of non wagons picking up from neighbouring businesses if you get a private room facing onto the back. Free WiFi is a limit per day then you have to buy further data. Location is ok, just a short walk from Kings Cross station....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IanD9
Bruce-KE, Manager at The Original Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We clear our courtyard at 10 pm and have a night manager on duty all night.Most guests agree the hostel is quiet at night.

Thann, France
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Good place for one or two nights but quite noisy by night It is written everywhere "Please keep silent from 9:45 PM to 7:00 AM. But it seems that people have some difficulties to read....and sometimes until 2:00 AM !!! Otherwise kitchen and places to eat are cool

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francoisrieth
Bruce-KE, Manager at The Original Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We work hard to keep the Original quiet at night and keep reception open 24 hours a day.If guests are noisy at night we throw them out!

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Came here at night by myself, the man in the reception didn't even try to be nice or to show me around. My room was a mess! how do you let people behave like that? messy and dirty, someone took my pillow.. in the morning the manager tried to convince me to stay and change rooms, when he understoon I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tal E
Bruce-KE, Owner at The Original Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

The guest arrived very late in the evening.The night manager was busy tidying up and possibly she did not receive the personal attention we normally give people. We are sorry that she was not happy with her room.Our rooms are vacuumed and tidied everyday. When she complained in the morning we immediately offered to move her to another room and...

Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

This hostel is good value for money! Large sized and clean rooms with a comfortable bed and a fridge. Staff are helpful and friendly, and there is also a free daily wifi allowance. The only downside being that there was no aircon in our room, which was extremely warm throughout my stay, and the kitchen is quite small. Most backpackers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
Bruce-KE, Manager at The Original Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review.

Bay City, Michigan
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Room floors were sticky. I don't think they are ever mopped, even after the 'weekly deep clean'. Cockroaches running around hallways. Showers/toilets not that clean. Kitchen had very few pot/pans to use. I did like the lounge area, it was pretty large, comfy couches. The people in my room were cool, pre drinks, cards against humanity. Overall the quality is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle B
Bruce-KE, Manager at The Original Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Our floors are always mopped-perhaps your friendly room mates had spilt a drink.

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Eva's Backpackers
#17 of 139 in Sydney
235 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 139 in Sydney
269 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#36 of 139 in Sydney
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 139 in Sydney
1,310 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 139 in Sydney
401 reviews
Zing Backpackers
#35 of 139 in Sydney
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Original Backpackers Hostel

Address: 160-162 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $27 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Original Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Original Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Original Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Original Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“double ensuite”
thaisiwamoto, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room with a balcony is nice (12 and 13 I believe)”
sweetaylorb, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“backpackers hostel with private bathroom”
dorisat, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Apparently some single rooms have no window”
eheffernan4, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“double rooms are well worth the buy”
libbypederson, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 66* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 66
Expedia.comUSD 66
Booking.comUSD 66
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates