We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Hacienda

179 Cleveland Street Redfern, Sydney, New South Wales 2008 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

AU$153
AU$128
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#142 of 192 hotels in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Hola and welcome to Hotel Hacienda, the 64-room hotel in the heart of Sydney where big dreams await every adventurer. It’s a place that welcomes anyone and treats everyone like family.

Whether you’re weekday nomads, big game fans, weekend adventurers, day trippers and late night skippers, Hotel Hacienda is the place to drop in for a warm welcome.

It’s the place where delicious eats are right downstairs, new amigos are everywhere, and guests can be immersed in an atmosphere of Mexican cultural and artistic wonder.

A touch of Tulum at a price for everyone...it's the place to Escape the Ordinary

Hotel Hacienda is located on the corner of Cleveland and Woodburn Streets - just a short stroll from Prince Alfred Park.

With Central Station just 15 to 20 minutes' walk away, we're close to both Sydney University and UTS. Redfern Station is approximately 500 metres walk from the hotel, connecting visitors with all that Sydney has to offer. Chinatown and Darling Harbour both within easy walking distance from the hotel. Sydney Airport is approximately 7 kms, accessible by either the Airport Link Rail service or a short taxi / Uber trip.

All rooms feature double glazed windows.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, French, Hindi, Indonesian and 1 more

Location

179 Cleveland Street Redfern, Sydney, New South Wales 2008 Australia
Hotel Hacienda
519Reviews4Q+A40Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 74
  • 186
  • 144
  • 51
  • 64
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Mohamed wrote a review May 2023
Melbourne, Australia136 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here for 4 nights in April 2023 and enjoyed it. This is a no frills hotel with all your basic needs. Comfortable clean room, great bed, hot strong shower, and air conditioning / heating. There is a bit of noise from the train tracks but it didn’t affect my sleep and I already knew about it from the location. Staff were great too. Recommend it for the value and location as well as the room quality.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Maxwell W wrote a review Mar 2023
Phnom Penh, Cambodia8 contributions1 helpful vote
Attractive and well-maintained hotel situated on a very busy intersection. Very clean and modern room, but it was extremely small and there was literally no space to open 2 large bags at the same time. We were staying for one night only so this was not an issue but for an extended stay the small space might be difficult for 2 persons. We never ate in the restaurant (tacos muchachos) but it was popular in the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alexandra F wrote a review July 2022
2 contributions
A friend and I stayed here for three nights and were extremely happy with the entire experience. We arrived early in the morning, with a few hours until our room was available for check in, however the staff were friendly and accommodating and allowed us to store our bags in their back room until our room was available. The room itself was simple and clean, with a small balcony access. We were seeking a stay on a tight budget, and as such we weren’t looking for a luxury hotel, so the room perfectly met our expectations. We had a twin room, with very comfortable beds and enough space for two people. If you are looking for a full hotel stay with all the bells and whistles, this isn’t the place for you, but if you are just after a comfortable, well located place to sleep, then Hacienda ticks all the boxes. It is located between a busy street and a rail line, but the rooms are well sound proofed and noise is not really an issue. On our last day, our departing flight wasn’t until late in the evening, but the staff were once again extremely accommodating and allowed us to again store our bags after checking out so that we didn’t have to lug them around for the day. Would 100% stay here again next time I’m in town, and would recommend to anyone who is in the market for a budget-friendly stay with lovely staff
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lifestyle Juggler, Other at Hotel Hacienda
Responded 12 Aug 2022
Hola Amigo! Gracias for your 5-star review! At Hotel Hacienda we strive to ensure each guest experience is tailored to exceed expectations...so feedback such as yours is greatly appreciated as it helps us to ensure we remain focused on making your stay more like visitando a tu Familia (staying with family!) We can't wait to welcome you back to the Hacienda again soon! Until then, we bid you Adiós
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Augie March wrote a review May 2021
Sydney, Australia239 contributions130 helpful votes
I have lost count of the number of times I have stayed at this hotel. It is my go to place when I am in Sydney and I am busy and all I need to a place to dump my gear and lay my head. I have searched for and occasionally used other cheap hotels in Sydney but the Song is ideal for me. If you want a more centrally located (but with shared bathing facilities) try Song in Wentworth Ave. I am always somewhat bemused when I read one star reviews. I guess the reviewer has not completed "The Economics of Hotel Management 101." The price you pay for a room in a hotel in Sydney depends on location, room size, facilities and staff numbers. Minimise all of these and you can charge a figure closer to $100 than $300. So, do your homework before booking any accommodation. The Song is wedged between very busy Cleveland Street and the busiest section of rail in Australia. The double glazed windows reduce the sound considerably. I always get a good night sleep, more often because of my abject tiredness &/or my alcoholic intake. Don't bring a cat to the Song because when in your room you won't be able to swing it!! There is usually one staff member who signs you in and then you are left alone. Previously I always enjoyed breakfast in the cafe. Because of COVID it was not operating, nevertheless, they gave me a paper bag with cereal, milk, apple and muesli bar. Oh yes the kettle was not working. I did report this misdemeanour to management. So, the Song is not the Ritz but it offers exactly what I want when I visit Sydney, close to Central Railway station, Chinatown and the multitude of restaurants in Surry Hills.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lifestyle Juggler, Other at Hotel Hacienda
Responded 4 Feb 2022
Hola! Muchas gracias for your fantastic feedback. As one of Sydney's newly revamped accommodation offerings, we're so pleased to learn about how much you enjoyed staying with us at Hotel Hacienda. With so many new elements on offer, we can't wait to welcome you back to stay with us again soon. Te veo después (see you soon!)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Meredith T wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions
Stayed in room 77. Beds very comfortable and clean, bathroom was clean lovely hot shower, small balcony with double glass doors to keep traffic noise out. They work well. Situated a short walk to Redfern Station, abit longer to central. Will stay again, front desk very obliging.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Lifestyle Juggler, Other at Hotel Hacienda
Responded 4 Feb 2022
Hola! Muchas gracias for your fantastic feedback...muy bien increíble! As one of Sydney's newly revamped accommodation offerings, we're so pleased to learn about how much you enjoyed staying with us at Hotel Hacienda. With so many new elements on offer, we can't wait to welcome you back to stay with us again soon. Te veo después (see you soon!)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael M wrote a review Mar 2020
Pitt Meadows, Canada18 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
Beware of the ads for this place! The photos are not accurate, and the it is not very close to the Sydney Harbour area. It definitely is not walking distance. When we entered the room the hallway was barely large enough to walk through with our bags, the bathroom was directly to the right , and then you entered a room that was about the same size as the average prison cell. The bedd was pushed up against the wall, so there was no room to walk around it, and there was a small desk and grungy looking bar fridge. The two of us barely had room to move around in it without bumping into each other. It was also very dirty looking with the throw pillow on the bed looking like it hadn't been washed or changed in years... I threw it up in the closet right away! Also the rolling blind on the window wouldn't pull down, so the streetlight across from our room shined in the window each of our three nights. We didn't bother complaining, because the desk staff weren't overly friendly. It wasn't completely horrible though, the breakfast was decent, if a little sparse, and the wifi was decent. Wouldn't stay here again, and if you are looking for a place for overnight, maybe this would do, but that's as far as I would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Pay a little more for a better place!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SongHotels, Manager at Hotel Hacienda
Responded 21 Apr 2020
Dear Michael M We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and rating and sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. We have since notified our housekeeping and maintenance department and are in the process of addressing the complaints you have made. Guest experiences, positive or negative, are critical in bringing issues to our attention and helps us improve our services. Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards Song Hotel Manager, Redfern
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Irem C wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Very central location, only 10-15mins walk to the central station. Rooms are small but compact, reception staff is very helpful. Breakfast is average. Room is clean. If you are sensitive about the noise, better to choose a room not overlooking the train station. Overall,Good inner city stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SongHotels, Manager at Hotel Hacienda
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your time and feedback and thanks for choosing Song Hotel Redfern for your stay. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again. Best Regards On behalf of Song Hotel Redfern Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jakob S wrote a review Feb 2020
Stockholm, Sweden1 contribution
Nice staff and the breakfast was OK considering the price point. The rooms however fell short of expectations. Beds where to short (my wife and I are 176 cm/188 cm), the bathroom lacked a door and there were ants in the basin. The close proximity to the rail station and road with poor sound proofing in the windows made sleeping a challenge without ear buds. As mentioned earlier the staff were nice and tried to help but since they where fully booked there was little they could do. We plan to change hotel as soon as possible, find it hard to recommend to anyone, if you’re not on a very strict budget.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SongHotels, Manager at Hotel Hacienda
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for your time & feedback. We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. Best Regards On behalf of Song Hotel Redfern Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Martin B wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
A excellent value for money hotel centrally located near well priced and high quality restaurants. Easy walking distance to city centre and rail and bus. Exactly the type of place needed after a long 600km drive from Inverell Northern NSW to visit our children at uni.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SongHotels, Manager at Hotel Hacienda
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your time and feedback and thanks for choosing Song Hotel Redfern for your stay. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again. Best Regards On behalf of Song Hotel Redfern Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kurt e wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
We arrived in Sydney after a 22 hour cramped flight and were looking forward to quiet and comfort. The room was clean but dated and unbelievably tiny and spartan, 2 small single beds tightly situated in a small room. The staff were quite friendly and helpful but the room was disappointing with train tracks and trains operating below our window; it reminded me of a dorm. Sydney’s r the room prices for New Year’s Eve are hysterically elevated and we paid 4 star price for this accommodation. The hotel did move us for our second night to a sister hotel after we complained and we were grateful to get some sleep. If I was young or backpacking and got this room at a budget price I would have no complaints but not at a 4 star plus price point.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SongHotels, Manager at Hotel Hacienda
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your time and feedback and thanks for choosing Song Hotel Redfern for your stay. We're glad we were able to resolve your issue and you enjoyed your stay with us. Please note, we have provided all the information regarding room & hotel facility including room size on our website and all our authorised travel agents website. Yes, we agree with you that NYE pricing are high in Sydney due to high demand. We look forward to welcome you again. Best Regards On behalf of Song Hotel Redfern Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sydney area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$111 - AU$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
y hotel sydney
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Song Hotel Redfern
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydney
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL HACIENDA (AU$111): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Sydney) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Hacienda
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Hacienda?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, facilities for disabled guests, and breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Hacienda?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Hacienda?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Hacienda?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Hacienda?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Hindi, Indonesian, and Nepali.
Does Hotel Hacienda have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Hotel Hacienda accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.