We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Elephant Backpacker

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Elephant Backpacker
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 293: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Somewhere between terrible and poor. Some of the reasons you would expect, locks on bathroom doors busted, toilets blocked, dated. I didn't expect two toilets in a line of five permanently out of order and two additional ones recently deemed out of order due to blockages leaving one functioning toilet for an entire floor. The small annoyance that got me... More 

Helpful?
Thank Casey C
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It wasn't the right place for me, is too old, and not clean..a lot of long stay people.. i didn't like and the people are really Too messy.....the staff was good and helpful..cheap but is a improvised hostel.i think they need to do some renovation...the location was good..

Helpful?
Thank Zio900

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It´s a nice hostel, for ervery one who needs a cheap hostel, especially when you work in Sydney. I wouldnt say that the hostel is really clean, but for the price, its alright. The wifi was okay, they have a big kitchen with everything you need and a beer with cheap beer and nice snacks.

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin R
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We booked 10 nights at the hostel in a 2 person room. When we arrived we were told by a girl in the desk that if we wanted ekstra blankets we could just come back down for them. When we came up to our floor, it smelled like construction everywhere, and everything was dirty with sawdust. In our room we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iben L
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Iben, Upon reviewing our bookings there is no one who was booked into our property for 10 nights in a private room for two people and also no reports of any doors not locking. All our private 2 person rooms are fully booked and all have functioning locks on the doors. It is unclear what you are referring to... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed in an 8 bed for a week but it wasn't great. Some of the top bunk beds didn't have side rails and the floors needed a vacuum. We then moved to a private room for a week which was much better. The hostel is undergoing constant repairs but the bathrooms and kitchen area are always clean. Free WiFi... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katie W
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Katie, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I know the repairs can be frustrating at times and we do try to do these with the least disturbance to our guests and the end goal is to enhance the hostel for our guests. Yes we are basic, but clean and we aim to target guests our... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights from the 12th to the 15th of Oct 2016. I stayed at a 6 bed female only dorm , roommates were decent and nice. To be honest I was skeptical about making this booking due to some negative reviews, but I took the risk and it was worth it!!!!!!!!!! I will recommend this place if... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nikky1010
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Nike, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and can see that the negative reviews are not a true reflection of the property. We hope to see you again some day! More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Rude staff, place falling apart rooms were stinky and extremely dirty... toilets even worse. Would rather sleep on the street then in this place.. wouldnt recommend this place to anyone ever.. pics dont come close to doing justice, felt like my feet could fall through the floor at any given moment.. im sure this place does not meet safety requirements.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus G
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Marcus. The building is perfectly safe, due to a new handrail being installed the carpet is lifted while the works are being carried out. It seems like you have only written this review due to being asked to leave the hostel, especially since you have never written a review on a property before. More 

Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2016

When we first arrived we weren't sure we would last a week but ended up staying for 6 months through the winter whilst working and saving through winter. The location is amazing! It's just a short walk from the train station and the city making it very easy and convienent to get anywhere! There is a no drinking policy at... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank katecolbs94
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Kate. Thank you for taking the time for writing a fair and balanced review. I am glad you enjoy our no alcohol policy as our guests peace and comfort at night is really important to us. We agree that the hostel is not perfect but out on going improvements make it an enjoyable place to be for the very... More 

New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I stayed at Elephant for 4 nights when I first arrived in Sydney. My friend had recommended the hostel and I was not disappointed. I stayed in a female dorm and it was spacious and clean. The bathrooms were right next to my room and I never had to wait to use a shower or toilet despite the hostel being... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank saurabhk258
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our stay with us. I understand your feedback regarding our TV room and this is an area we intend to upgrade in the near future. If you are every in Sydney again we would be happy for you to stay with us again. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I've stayed at elephant a couple of times now. I sometimes work late in the city and its easier to get a bed for the night. It's cheap, it's basic but it's exactly what you need. Rooms are pretty big, has lockers (you do need your own lock though) and clean linen. I've stayed when it's pretty cold and you... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ks872016
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your review. Its great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you keep coming back to us! We always aim to improve the hostel and will continue to do so. Your feedback is appreciated. More 

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 133 in Sydney
242 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#7 of 133 in Sydney
372 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#29 of 133 in Sydney
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney Central Backpackers
#68 of 133 in Sydney
83 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#13 of 133 in Sydney
217 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#41 of 133 in Sydney
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Elephant Backpacker Sydney is located between the night life of Kings Cross and the City Centre. All major tourist attractions are within 10-15 minutes walk. Our hostel has a beautiful new cafe & bar that offers restaurant quality food and backpacker prices. We pride ourselves on being cheap and cheerful.. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elephant Backpacker

Address: 50 Sir John Young Cres | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $28 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Backpacker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elephant Backpacker staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Recommend getting a private room on weekly rate. as its only $200 each (2 people)”
 of 5 bubbles katiewC2913BN, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the top floor are the quietest”
 of 5 bubbles parburytravelgirl, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“108 and 208 are huge, best rooms at the hostel!”
 of 5 bubbles kellyorich, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Pay for a 4 bed dorm - cleaner and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles VirginiaTrop, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor rooms quietest in building”
 of 5 bubbles penelopew429, 25 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay