We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sydney Central YHA

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sydney Central YHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

640 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 487: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location was great. En-suite Room was adequate and clean. Towels were okay, just thin and grey. Beds were reasonable. YHA's and the whole concept is great. Unfortunately the way the door locks are designed makes closing them extremely noisy. Bang, bang, bang all night long! When you finally get to sleep, more banging, so a night of broken sleep -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bega1508
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Central YHA, responded to this review

Hi Bega Thanks for taking the time to review and we're sorry you had a disturbed night. With the doors, it's actually the door stopper mechanism that is the issue. Sometimes they need adjustment so they glide shut - but with literally hundreds of doors in this building we don't know which ones need maintenance until guests tell us. So,...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location is good, short walk to Central Station, with connections to International and domestic airport terminals. But the hostel is noisy at night. We had an en-suite room and the room itself was fine. We stayed at the hostel as we got in late evening from a domestic flight.The room was on the 8th floor and above is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph618
Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Directly opposite Central station after you get off from airport train station or greyhound bus. Electronic Lockers $4 per 4 hours were a great way to lock Lugguage knowing for sure it is safe before you check in at 10am.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovefoodtravelalot
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights. This is in a great location, right opposite central station so easy access to trains and buses. Lots of great places to eat and drink nearby. Circular quay is about a half hour walk away or approx $17 cab ride away. Rooms are clean and the reception desk were very helpful. The cafe was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlene M
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a great hostel we stayed in. We stayed in a 4 bed which was spacious and airy. The hostel has great facilities and is in a great location. The staff are super friendly and helpful too. The only feedback I'd give is about the windows. It does get stuffy in the rooms and not being able to open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne O
Paris, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying there in 2008, I always mentioned the YHA Central Sydney as one of the best hostel in Australia: well located, comfortable, clean, with all the facilities and even a swimming pool at the top, what else?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luka M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked for 5 nights in a four bed dorm. checked in with melanie who confirmed my booking.. i was shown to my room. First impression.. The room is large, with good sized individual lockers and a couple of power points. Win. From that point on the experience was worth forgetting. At least 3 times a day my key card...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin K
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Central YHA, responded to this review

Hi Justin We're sorry you didn't have a great experience at our hostel, and we would have loved the chance to help resolve this with you earlier - please always ask to see the hostel manager with any concerns. As your stay was a couple of months ago, we're really happy to tell you that the whole hostel now has...

Ipoh, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my friend stayed here for 4 nights (3/11/16-7/11/16). This hostel is located right next to the Central Station, which is a great hub to travel to other part of the city. The room where I stayed has a balcony with a great view of the street. In addition, the Rooftop Pool Party on the 3/11/16 was a plus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChongSeng
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The one staff member was horrible. We had food go missing several times in the day. Instead of offering us a locker bag to store it her response "Let me guess more food has gone missing" Like give some kind of customer service. I work in the hotel industry and I understand this is a hostel but wow!. The beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Central YHA, responded to this review

Hi Melanie YHA works to have high levels of customer service, so we're sorry that you had a less than great experience - if you do have issues with a staff member again, don't hesitate to have a chat with the manager. Feedback is important to us. Unfortunately hostel kitchens do rely on trust between guests, and not all do...

Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Stayed here to see where budget accommodation was at. Membership was easy online and cards arrived promptly. Booked a double room @$117/night and it was a disappointment! It was a double bed in a small room, some cheap DIY cloths module in steel, a table and couple of chairs. Two towels were provided. One wall socket for power! No attached...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teshil
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Central YHA, responded to this review

Hi teshil We're sorry you weren't happy with your stay at the hostel and thanks for the feedback. We do have two types of private rooms - basic ones without an ensuite bathroom, and ones with ensuite. It is clearly marked on our site which is which when people are booking so we think you must have booked the shared...

241 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (144)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Five Bed Family Room (11)
Viewed
Four Person Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (7)
Viewed
Shared Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Six Person Room (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)
Viewed
Twin Double Room with Ensuite (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#72 of 179 in Sydney
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Y Hotel Hyde Park
Y Hotel Hyde Park
#102 of 179 in Sydney
1,506 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 133 in Sydney
968 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#5 of 133 in Sydney
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sydney Central YHA hostel is Sydney's hostel with everything and the best value choice in the centre of the city. It is housed in a heritage-listed building opposite Central Station. It has panoramic views of Sydney from the rooftop and outdoor area, heated pool, sauna. Sydney Central facilities include kitchens, laundries, games/TV rooms, locker hire, limited parking, group accommodation/meeting rooms, disabled access, 24 hour security access, YHA Travel desk, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), bistro, convenience store. There is even an in-house cinema with two free movies a day! Regular activities include pub crawls, sporting events, market tours and BBQs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sydney Central YHA

Address: 11 Rawson Pl | Cnr Pitt St & Rawson Pl, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $43 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sydney Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Central Yha Hotel Sydney
Central Sydney Yha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sydney Central YHA staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Sydney Central YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get the food storage lock. Such a large hostel that it is needed!”
 of 5 bubbles V6543UTmelanieb, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are older, use the bath rooms for the the handicapped to minimize any slips and trips.”
 of 5 bubbles teshil, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you have the $ a double bed room with ensuite is good”
 of 5 bubbles GrantT92, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Please allow fellow room mates to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles briansG7940DD, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room if required”
 of 5 bubbles Jensescapade, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay