We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel 59

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel 59
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel 59
See the most recent reviews
Showing 277: English reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2010

We learned about Hotel 59 from TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed with our stay there. We walked everyday from the hotel each of our 3 days in Sydney and the location is perfect for such outings. George was very helpful and friendly and our room at the front of the building was great. Woke up to chirping birds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thebunz1
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We read good things about this hotel from Tripadvisor reviews as well as in a couple of the Frommers guide books. What the heck? I'm assuming that all the good reviews were from people who did NOT stay in one of the family rooms. The family room was so incredibly old fashioned and in need of repair that I couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CYork
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this review

Dear Cyork Thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable commments, i am dissapointed hotel 59 did not meet your high expectations. We have taken your concerns onboard and have notified our maintenance department they are looking at it and will scedule the work in the near future. I will disagree with your comment that all the possitive...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Quiet residential area for ensuring a good sleep, as well as joggings in the morning. Yet it is not very far from the metro. The cleaness and facilities in the room are good enough. Plus there is free WIFI in the hotel. The most important is that the Owner George and his sister are so helpful, they worried and tried...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wangnielsen
Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 26 November 2010

There is a new owner as of about 10 years ago. He called the shuttle to the airport with insufficient time to get there and I missed an international flight. He thereafter ignored my letter of complaint. No dusting or vacuuming of the room. No staff on site, and no voicemail system in phone, so no messages after 3pm. No...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank headingaway
Bays, Owner at Hotel 59, responded to this review

Dear Visitorlosangeles Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am although saddened and confused to read them i thought you had left as a friend. Calling the shuttle is a free service we do for guests, we ask what time you wish to be picked and call for you. We only tell you they pick up...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Quiet location and accessible to Kings Cross and public transportation, high quality and clean bedrooms plus overall hotel premises, sumptuous and delicious breakfast (my complements to the chef!), great hospitality and efficiently friendly assistance from George himself. Will definitely stay at the hotel should we visit Sydney again. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juita_H
Wellington
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed 3 nights with George and Co at Hotel 59 and enjoyed it immensely. It's no luxury apartment - it's a cute little place. Our itinerary meant we didn't get to spend too much time at the hotel, but the room was lovely and clean, we slept well, and the breakfast was everything I hoped for after reading everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EastCapeNZ
Albuquerque
Reviewed 20 November 2010

This hotel is an excellent value. It is an oldie but close to transportation, inexpensive, pleasant, and with breakfast, The clientele at breakfast seemed to be (besides the hotel guests) residents of the neighborhood which is very nice. Excellent shower and George is a helpful host. Wifi signal is strong in a room that was at the front of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hahnecho
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Excellent location, very close to the city and to public transport , definitly great for the price. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are amazing, specially the french toast with maple syrup. The hosts are really helpful and welcoming. I would certainly stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cortomaltese85
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I found Hotel 59 to be a great value. It's very close to public transport, but you can also walk to some attractions. My first day there I walked to the Royal Botanic Gardens then on to the harbour. It is in King's Cross which some people with children may not like, but I was ok with it. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saldate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at Hotel 59 for three nights. It was a nice place to stay at. George was very helpful and if there people who needed travel advice, he would be more than happy to help them out. A free breakfast was included in the accomodation price which was one of the main reasons I chose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abigailCarr

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 179 in Sydney
1,307 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
5,061 reviews
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Challis
#6 of 64 in Sydney
505 reviews
The Maisonette
#7 of 64 in Sydney
426 reviews
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#10 of 64 in Sydney
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a boutique family owned hotel located in a great convenient spot to explore different parts of our beautiful city, public transport is very close so no need for a car. We are less than 2 kilometers from city centre and harbour. We have a great variety of local restaurants close by, supermarkets, laundries are all also close to us. The accommodation is a great inexpensive option for Sydney, if you wish to dine in our café a great value breakfast and lunch is offered if you wish, Free internet is offered. We look forward to meeting you all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel 59

Address: 59 Bayswater Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: $88 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 59 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel 59 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 59 Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel 59 staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel 59 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Steps to the property from the street”
 of 5 bubbles KevinM267, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we were on the first floor and found room fine.”
 of 5 bubbles flynnybucks, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not budget and perfectly adequate, good bed,room was nice and clean”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Accessible to everything u need.”
 of 5 bubbles _anne_banez, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“single room has a double bed very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles TasmaniaLovesydney, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5